8/13 Stella AMPS/232 +4/132 +5/89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good Morning ~O) ~O) ~O)

After yesterday's incident it is nice to see Stella's numbers starting the day as expected after dropping her dose .5 as a precaution of what I felt was a hypo.

I am very happy NOT to see a huge swing and a very regulated drop. I feel Stella must have recovered some of the ability of her pancreas after last years DX and it makes me feel watching over my feline family member has all been worth the effort. Not that I ever would have let her go...but the positives in all of this are always something to be celebrated. :-D

We can only wait and see what the next 6 cycles bring. Stella will get to the vet and a pro will weigh in. Most of the reading I did last night indicates that if it was a seizure you really can't pinpoint it until there are a series of three. Yikes! Stella seems normal so I am hoping it was a hypo. I may have missed a +3/39 and Stella may have been staggering without my noticing until she hit 71. I may never know...all I can do is the best that I can for my lovely Stella.
 
Re: 8/13 Stella AMPS/232 +4/132

Hi guys .. it is very nice to see stella coming down after yesterdays incident .. It's always nice to see changes in our cat's SS, when their little pancreases are working like they should .. I hope the vet visit goes well for you, and you get some answers .. have a great day guys!
 
I've experienced a hypo with Blackie before when we first began the testing 2 years ago, and she dropped down to 21, which is a # below 40. At that time, when she walked, she staggered like a drunken person. Never had to experience it before that time, knew what to do bring her back up using HC food, and Karo. She experienced bouncing because of the syrup and food, but that was ok.

Here's the information from the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky with regards to Hypoglycemia:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887

If Stella is still exhibiting that wobbly leg thing that you described, I hope that you can get her in to see the vet about it soon. I hope that she feels better very soon. Hang in there!
 
Thanks Angela & Blackie & 8 others for your reply. That sticky you posted is protocal I followed yesterday. It is so true...you must be prepared in advance for a hypo!

A lot of people on the board seem to feel hypos only happen under 50. Much of the reading I have done in the past 24 hours has indicated otherwise. It is telling me that it can occur @ 70 and symptoms may not be noticable until they drop far too low - under 50. My gathering of this info has lead me to believe that if your cat is hyper like Stella it is very possible to notice the symptoms @ 70 as I did because for my hyper cat that is VERY low to her 'normal'. Again, I am not trying to argue...I am just gathering the info as we all do and trying to give my Stella the best for her. Again, most of my reading has indicated to shoot for @ 80 as her 'normal' because lower than that may be fatal for my particular feline (every cat is different).

Here is one link on Hypoglycemia

I so appreciate everyone's feedback these past 24 hours. Stella will visit the vet...although my reading also indicates that it could be anything! Wow...how do we do it??? Take care all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top