RuBee
Member Since 2010
Yay! After skipping AM dose yesterday (8/12) Rufus went pretty high (424), but going nearly 24 hrs without insulin will do that to a boy, you'd think. That "yay" was for the much preferable numbers I saw this morning at AMPS. At 241 Rufus was good to shoot, so hopefully we'll be able to keep him steady on the reduced dose of 1.5u.
Plan to test again at around +5 and +7. If not - +6 will do until PMPS if numbers are still good. Crossing fingers.
I'm still a bit confused about preshot results. I understand "some consideration" is given to them or I wouldn't have had a problem yesterday. But is there a "lowest" level you'd suggest for a newbie to shoot or skip - or are delays acceptable so long as you inch them back toward their regular time? I've read the protocol in its various forms (every day, it seems) and I think I might almost get it now. But I'm still unsure of which route to take when a low bg shows up at preshot. I keep thinking "will it rise enough by onset for him to tolerate that amount of insulin?" and I don't even know if that's the kind of reasoning that applies. I guess it's going to come down to experimentation and preference, isn't it? I hate it when there isn't a "right" and "wrong" answer, lol. I think I'm going to be living here with the question marker on every post until I figure it out. :lol:
Plan to test again at around +5 and +7. If not - +6 will do until PMPS if numbers are still good. Crossing fingers.
I'm still a bit confused about preshot results. I understand "some consideration" is given to them or I wouldn't have had a problem yesterday. But is there a "lowest" level you'd suggest for a newbie to shoot or skip - or are delays acceptable so long as you inch them back toward their regular time? I've read the protocol in its various forms (every day, it seems) and I think I might almost get it now. But I'm still unsure of which route to take when a low bg shows up at preshot. I keep thinking "will it rise enough by onset for him to tolerate that amount of insulin?" and I don't even know if that's the kind of reasoning that applies. I guess it's going to come down to experimentation and preference, isn't it? I hate it when there isn't a "right" and "wrong" answer, lol. I think I'm going to be living here with the question marker on every post until I figure it out. :lol: