8/13 Rufus AMPS 241, +5 290, +7 293, +11 322

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yay! After skipping AM dose yesterday (8/12) Rufus went pretty high (424), but going nearly 24 hrs without insulin will do that to a boy, you'd think. That "yay" was for the much preferable numbers I saw this morning at AMPS. At 241 Rufus was good to shoot, so hopefully we'll be able to keep him steady on the reduced dose of 1.5u.

Plan to test again at around +5 and +7. If not - +6 will do until PMPS if numbers are still good. Crossing fingers.

I'm still a bit confused about preshot results. I understand "some consideration" is given to them or I wouldn't have had a problem yesterday. But is there a "lowest" level you'd suggest for a newbie to shoot or skip - or are delays acceptable so long as you inch them back toward their regular time? I've read the protocol in its various forms (every day, it seems) and I think I might almost get it now. But I'm still unsure of which route to take when a low bg shows up at preshot. I keep thinking "will it rise enough by onset for him to tolerate that amount of insulin?" and I don't even know if that's the kind of reasoning that applies. I guess it's going to come down to experimentation and preference, isn't it? I hate it when there isn't a "right" and "wrong" answer, lol. I think I'm going to be living here with the question marker on every post until I figure it out. :lol:
 
Re: 8/13 Rufus AMPS 241

Hi Bee...the more questions you ask, the better you will "get" it, right? we luvs questions! :razz:

Here is your link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22203

We ask for everyone to fill in the SS with beautiful wonderful DATA so that we can see how the insulin works on each kitty.
There is a saying here "shoot low to stay low". You can learn a lot by visiting other condos and reading what is happening.

We will certainly help walk you through any low preshot numbers. Please post and ask if you get one. So much depends on what has been happening, ya know? People know their kitty well after seeing the data they have gotten and they can then see if the kitty is on the rise or not.
When you get a low preshot, do not feed but post the numbers, okay? Someone will help you. We will need to know if you have strips on hand and if you will be home to get a +1 and monitor so mention that in your post when a low happens... If you have to delay the shot to see if the number is rising, you will adjust your next shot time accordingly...12 hours from when you actually shoot.
We do not feed because food spikes the number and we want to see if the kitty is going up or if the numbers are dropping. Don't want to shoot a dropping number right?
You are asking good questions...doing a good job! :thumbup But do post if you have any doubt about any preshot number, ok?
 
Re: 8/13 Rufus AMPS 241

Thank you for popping in so quickly! I know everyone here can relate, but it just means the world to me to have him back to his beautiful, silly, social self. I want to see it 365 days of the year - not the "sometimes" we've been getting without regulation. He'll get there eventually, for now I'll just try to keep my stress levels down and take all the advice I can get. :-D
 
Re: 8/13 Rufus AMPS 241

Good morning Bee and Rufus!

Looking nice in yellow!
My suggestion, if you can, aim for an early cycle test too, like around +3 this morning.
This is typically when "onset" begins.

From the New to The Group stickie/curve chart:
onset: the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose

Leading up to PMPS, you may want to check him at around +11 - that will give you an idea of where PMPS is heading - and give a heads up to others here.

Pat is on the ball :thumbup keep us posted when you need help with lower numbers.

As you collect more and more data, shooting lower will get easier.
You guys are doing very well, just keep us updated when you get nailbite_smile and need help.
 
Re: 8/13 Rufus AMPS 241

I hope you see the old behaviors coming back real soon...it's so great when that happens!
Did you get your test strips okay?
As far as posting each day, we link or previous condo the the first post....you did great with the AMPS! We can then quickly see what transpired the previous days with just one click! Like the SS, it is a handy tool we have so if you can link in your first post, it would be great! With all the excitement yesterday I guess no one mentioned the housekeeping things to you...apologies!

Since our kitties are so much more than just their BG numbers, we say things like "All Ps in place" or "2 Ps present so far" in our WCR. Whole Cat Report:
P=purring
P=peeing
P=preening
P=pooping
P=playing
If Rufus has done all these things, then you would say that all Ps are in place...I usually am missing the Playing one...but we do keep an eye on them and their Litter Boxes each day... :lol: Crazy Beans that we are!!
You will understand what I mean when you visit other condos...which I encourage you to do. You can pick up lot of interesting tidbits while visiting others and just saying hello! We are like a big family here...and do manage to have lots of laughs while dealing with this serious issue. Ok? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/13 Rufus AMPS 241

Will absolutely do from now on. I love organizing, so anything that makes things neater is fine with me! (just don't look at my bedroom!)

My mother actually got some more strips on her way home from work again. I checked the tracking for my strips yesterday in the wee ours of the morning and saw that they were in our neighboring city at the time - silly me for assuming that they could make the 15-20 mile journey to my home in one day, lol. When they didn't come in the mail I think I probably could have cried if I tried hard enough. Well, 've learned my lesson for good: UPS!

Off to do some Lantus board browsing right now. It ought to be interesting on top of informative.
 
Re: 8/13 Rufus AMPS 241, +5 290

Today would have been a good day to monitor him closely, but he was a stinker and I wanted to get as many "good" ones out of him as I could. It's hard to fight for it by myself - usually requires Mom's hands to hold his head steady or keep his rear end from scooting out of my arms.

So, 290. I feel like I'm trying to read tea leaves - "What does this MEAN!?" He's higher at +5 than he was in the morning. Is this sort of thing normal after an "oopsie" like yesterday? I'll try to continue testing hourly for now - it all depends on if I can keep my hands on him. (He's usually pretty good when there's nobody else in the house to "appeal" to, I think.)

Well, I think we're on less of a roller coaster, and more of hilly slip 'n' side, anyway. I guess... keep on goin'.

All that being said, Rufus is, at this very moment, taking a bath in our "testing" chair. I think he's doing one of three things - trying to tell me he's accepted the testing, he's mocking the testing, or... he likes that chair and wants to sit there.
 
Re: 8/13 Rufus AMPS 241, +5 290

There is a slogan in Lantus Land, "Shoot low to stay low." However, you MUST be data ready to do so. You will probably find the becoming data ready sticky helpful.

If you test and find you have a number you're not comfortable with or don't know what to do, post. There is usually someone around who can offer either guidance or support or help you puzzle through your options. Of course, it helps if you can give some advance notice vs. needing an immediate reply (i.e., it's 5 minutes before shot time).

If you need help, remember to click on the edit button in your first post of the day. Then, change the subject line to reflect what you need (e.g., "dose help"). Then, add a new post to your condo/thread. The new post will bump your condo to the top of the queue.
 
Hi Bee

hows Rufus tonight? Besides a little pink PMPS, he had a nice yellow day :-D
Eating well and things like that?

Hope your doing well. :razz:
 
Thanks for checking in. :)

Rufus appears to have just reached onset and his numbers are coming down. I'd like to stay up tonight and get some more readings, but honestly - I'm pushing it. He was a little fussy at the PMPS (356) reading, but that's typical - his Grammudder (some refer to these people as "Grandmothers") was home with food! (which he ate... voraciously.)

As for the cat himself - Rufus is playing again! He's been teasing the dog (not part of his "Most Frequent Post Diagnosis Behavior Package") and swatting at flies and everything. Of course right now it's nap time, but when you call him his head pops up right away, looking alert and focused. (How many cats do you know who actually answer to their name with more than the flick of an ear?) :lol:

Watching him acting so cat-like has me in a wonderful mood. I hope that tonight's mood will be reflected in tomorrow's numbers... I'll be going to bed with my fingers crossed, lol. That sounds like a good thing to do now.
 
Good update.
You do very well WCR (whole cat reports) we like to see this stuff too, besides numbers.

And it's really nice to hear kitties acting like themselves. A sign of good things to come.
You both did very well today.

Have a good nite Bee!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top