? 8/13 Rocky - amps 187, +6 185, +11 183, pmps 191, +6 78, +7 109 - Reduce dosage?

Jim (NJ)

Member Since 2019
Hello All,

We've been really busy the past few weeks but still kept up on his test. Rocky saw the internal medicine specialist at Red Bank Vet Hospital and the ultra sound went well. They did a pancreatic test to see if it was anything further and we are still waiting for the results back from that. She was very happy with my spreadsheet and stated she was ok with Rocky staying at 4u even if his numbers were a little high since he seemed to be doing so much better since we got him on the wet diet. Overall a very expensive visit but confirmed he had nothing serious atm with his stomach.

That was on 8/1 and now the past week we have been in almost all blues and actually got our 1st green yesterday and then a 78 tonight :) It now has me worried about going below 65, so should I be reducing his dosage now? It has been amazing to see his progress and he is acting better than ever. His fur feels super soft I think from all the wet fish/ omega 3's he is getting in his diet now. The zobaline b12 I think too has played a big part in his recovery. He stopped coming upstairs to our bedroom for past few months and he came up with us the past 3 nights! It made us so happy and thankful we found this great community, it has truly saved his life!
 
Hi Jim
Ricky is doing well.
He is close to a reduction but not quite.
Under 68 on the alphatrak is the number that you would reduce.
He’s been giving you green numbers the last two days and this last cycle you didn’t test until +6 so it is possible he went lower before +6. Try and get a few tests in at different times in the cycle if you can as it gives a better picture of what is going on.

Are you able to test tomorrow? Because he could drop lower tomorrow.
Make sure you have some higher carb food and some karo and or honey in case you need it.
If he drops under 68 give some high carb food and test again 20 minutes later to make sure he is on the way back up. If he’s not, then do the feed, test in 20 minutes again until he comes up over 68

I’m glad his neuropathy is improving and his fur is looking better.
 
I picked up the ReliOn Premium meter today as I cant keep up with the AT2 cost at the rate we were using them. I have been testing him every 2 hours today for a curve with the new meter. Todays results so far.. The amps was with AT2, but rest are on the ReliOn human meter. It seems like he is almost a straight line not a curve, but that is to be expected with Lantus correct? and a good sign I suppose as he continues to be under 200 BG

8/14 Rocky - amps 214, +2 170, +4 188, +6 187, +8 206, +10 210, pmps 219
 
Hey Jim! I don't think I ever posted in your condo before.

Could you add to your SS that you are using a human meter as of tomorrow? and add a line to the SS and say that you are using a human meter as of that date. and are you doing TR or SLGS? Also add the DX date to the signature.

The method or protocol that you are doing will effect how peeps respond to your dosing questions.

Yeah on the neuropathy improving. That is very hard to see on our kitties!
 
Hello Bron and Sheba + Bobbie and Bubba :)

I already started a new human spreadsheet and linking to the new/old from each other. I did not want to combine them into one to avoid confusion. I am doing TR and added his DX date to my sig. Thanks for your feedback, I will continue to get his reading every 2 hours til I get to bed tonight.
 
Jim you are doing a really good job looking after Rocky and you sound super organised.
In you signature you say you give freeze dried treats throughout the day.... how much is a snack?
I was just thinking he could probably do with a small feed between the 7am and the 1pm feeds. Maybe split the 1pm one into two snacks and feed at 10am (+3) and 12 or 1 pm (+5or +6) so that the food is being fed during the hours when the insulin is working the most. Does that make sense and would that work for you?
And maybe limiting the number of snacks in the second half of the cycle when the insulin is starting to wear off, unless he is running low. What do you think?
 
We leave out his 7am/pm and touch it up for him so he goes back around 10 to finish it up. Work schedule does not permit multiple feed times so I got a petsafe feeder. We have been off for summer vacation but will be using that for his 1pm/am meals.

The snacks are just 3-4 very small pieces of freeze dried as a reward for taking his shot or doing something good. There are so small I don't even consider them anything.

I have been testing him every 2 hours for the past 36 hours. Going to take a break tonight as both of us need a rest. From looking at his past data, his BC seems to go lower in the evening but pretty much all blues past 2 days. His nadir seems to be between +4 & +6 correct since that is the lowest point? Since we are on the human meter, he would need a sub 50 for a reduction in dose correct? Thanks!
 
Back
Top