8/13 Radar - amps is lowest ever at 95 - skipped shot but numbers are still dropping - confused

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan Radar (GA)

Member Since 2015
yesterday's post

Radar and I were up pretty late/early having a pj party with lots of pretty greens!:D:D:D

I found evidence of a little barfing at some point so I am not certain that he will eat this morning... and I just got the lowest amps ever at 123..... I have not fed yet. Shot time is now. What do I do??? I have never shot a number this low so I will need help
 
Since Radar is a long term diabetic even though this is a new low it us safe to shoot if you can monitor and have enough supplies. If he were my cat I would test tge eating situation with a little of his normal food and see if he eats. You could also stall without food for 20 minutes and test again.
 
Since Radar is a long term diabetic even though this is a new low it us safe to shoot if you can monitor and have enough supplies. If he were my cat I would test tge eating situation with a little of his normal food and see if he eats. You could also stall without food for 20 minutes and test again.
Great suggestion.... I'm making a little food now to see if he will eat... brb
 
He did eat about a tsp of his regular food. I tested again and now his number is 95..... So I know people shoot green numbers but I have not ever done so. I have supplies and can test as needed. But I'm nervous about shooting a dropping number....:nailbiting:
 
Do you get the impression he would eat more, or did you put out a bunch and he only ate that 1 teaspoon of the offering? Do you have HC and syrup or honey if needed?
 
Do you get the impression he would eat more, or did you put out a bunch and he only ate that 1 teaspoon of the offering? Do you have HC and syrup or honey if needed?
I only gave him 1 tsp of food. I think he might eat but it's unknown for sure. :nailbiting:
 
I would get the shot ready, get his food ready and if you think he will eat then give him the dose. Start with a +1 and +2 and +3 test.
 
The clear vomit could have been stomach acid. It happens with some cats when they go too long without food. He would likely have continued to drop a little without food I think. Next time I would feed the normal amount and see if he will eat it like usual. I hope he feels better.
 
I am skipping the shot this morning... I can't shoot a dropping number when Radar might eat and he might not.....
Dang it. Sorry about the skipped shot. I hope that it is just a blip and back on track soon. Have you tried appy stimulants with Radar? Sorry if I have asked before and you have answered.
 
Dang it. Sorry about the skipped shot. I hope that it is just a blip and back on track soon. Have you tried appy stimulants with Radar? Sorry if I have asked before and you have answered.
Appy stimulant worked well when we gave it to him three days ago. We just gave him a B12 shot and that usually helps him eat better. He may need another dose of the mirtazapine... watching for signs of nausea in case what he needs next is ondansetron.
 
I've continued testing out of curiosity today... and his numbers are still dropping even though he's eaten and he's had no insulin since last night..... what gives??? The depot is working for sure but I'm still confused...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top