8/13 Pumbaa - I blew it. *sigh* AMPS/419 PMPS/248

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Poor Pumbaa. I really blew it for him when I gave that BCS on Saturday morning, and then didn't give him anything last night because he was dropping again and at 52 at his PMPS. *sigh*

So, I'm still not quite sure if today's high numbers are due to a bounce + the BCS on Saturday morning, or due to a bounce + the skipped shot last night. If anyone wants to look at his SS and chime in on the instant replays, please do! I'd like to at least learn from this experience as that may cause me to be braver in the future.

I gave the BCS of 1.50U (normal dose would have been 2.50U) on Saturday morning because I hadn't slept the night before, he had already dropped down to 55 the night before, and I have been on a very intense print project with tight deadlines, without getting much sleep. In hindsight (gotta love that 20/20 hindsight, eh?), I wish I would have given him at least 2.0U instead of 1.50U, if I was going to give a BCS anyway.

I didn't shoot last night because, if you look at his SS, he had already dropped down to 43 at AM +9, and hovered right around 50 after that, even though I let him have some gravy at +9, and he was eating through all of this like he had just come off of a 3-day fast. Then, at his PMPS, he had dropped, again, to 52. His nadirs are all screwed up, and I know that that 52 could have been the infamous Lantus double-dip, but again, hindsight is 20/20, and you don't know any of this in advance. He was so tired of being poked by the PMPS last night, I couldn't bear to sit there and poke him every 15 minutes waiting for the numbers to rise. Another consideration for the skipped shot was my ability to stay up yet another night and test him over and over to make sure he didn't drop too low, since he has no predictable nadir. So I opted to skip the shot. *sigh*

Poor little guy! He's been totally lethargic all day, as he always is when he bounces. I know this takes a lot out of his body. Or maybe it's just like us crashing from a major sugar high? Pumbaa is a royal pain-on-the-ass when his numbers are lower, but I just love seeing him zooming around the house and getting into mischief because he feels great! Even if that's harder on me...trying to catch him to test him and trying to outsmart him at shooting time. *LOL*

Time will tell, but I'm already thinking that I may have to take him back up to the 2.50U dose for a bit...even though he earned a reduction. Why? Because he had 17 hours straight in the good greens at that dose! And that was simply wonderful! And if that is what it takes to get his pancreas to heal, then that is what we might need to do. Right? Any input on this?

I would simply adore for Pumbaa to find a dose where he quits this bouncing and diving action, and where his nadirs get a chance to stabilize somewhere around +6. Right now his nadirs are all out of kilter because he's either bouncing, or coming down from a bounce. I want someone to wave their magic wand over Pumbaa and make that stop. :)

Back to work for moi.

SuZzzzzzzzze
 
Suze,
OK, this is the part where you stop beating yourself up... ;-)

Other than observing, I'm no authority on Lantus, but.... I don't think your BCS dose had much, if any, impact. Pumbaa still had the 2.5u shed to work with, and the next morning, even after the BCS, he earned a reduction. I think the effect of the BCS was little to nothing.
Last night you skipped, which I totally understand given the numbers you were looking at.
I think all you're seeing today is a bounce from yesterday's 43. I'm thinking sticking with the 2.25u is the right thing to do, and let this bounce clear. See what you get tomorrow AM and PM, and see if the bounce goes away. Let the shed catch up (or down) with the dose.
Big picture? There's an awful lot of pretty green to his SS the past 3 days. It'll come back soon, IMHO.

Carl
 
Carl, you sweetheart! Thank you for giving me some relief about beating myself black and blue over what I did to my little guy, when I did what I did for his safety. (((HUGS))

Several others have also stated my BCS on Saturday morning doesn't seem to be a part of Pumbaa's high numbers right now. But I need to know what you see that I don't, to discount the BCS from causing Pumbaa's high numbers today. That's the only way I'm going to learn to analyze Pumbaa's history and do better by him in the future.

I don't think today is just a bounce from yesterday's 43, but I respect your opinion. Pumbaa has been clearing bounces much more quickly lately, until I started messing with his dose and shed with BCS's and no shots.

And from your keyboard to God's ear about more pretty greens coming up for my little guy, even on the decreased 2.25U dose!

I so appreciate your positive input on my past decisions, Carl! Even if it was to just stop me from beating myself up. *LOL*

SuZzzzzzzzzze
 
Suze,
I try to be positive because I know how stressful this is for "you all". I'm not dealing with this dance on a daily basis. In PZI, one of the things I say regularly is "Bright side - and there always is one..." because there always is one.

I've been watching a whole lot of Lantus/Lev kitties the past couple of months, because four beans have switched from PZI to one of the L's. They all post in TR, and in watching theirs condos, I've been "learning" stuff I had no clue about. I've looked at dozens of SS's, and now I understand the "kitties bounce until they don't" line. They do. When I look at Pumbaa today, all I see is a bounce from yesterday. I've also pretty much eliminated "always" and "never" from my vocabulary when it comes to what cats do or don't do. Pumbaa has been clearing bounces quickly lately. Maybe today is a good example of "always" not fitting into the conversation? He won't always clear them fast. I've also learned to take a step back, and not focus on one cycle or one day. Sometimes what is, just is, and I let it go at that.
I would expect this bounce to clear tomorrow. For whatever reason, this bounce is taking longer to clear. But as to why? "Just cuz, that's why" is my take.

What I want to know is "did you meet your deadline on the weekend project"?

Carl
 
Carl:

I love your take on "always" and "never" and overall positive attitude, and keeping each cat in perspective, and the "just cuz" attitude! As well as you taking the blame for these high numbers away from me for my "fear to shoot"! Thank you so much for that! (((HUGS)))

Pumbaa just hit 190 at +3 PMPS, and I am SOOOOO damn happy to see a good number once again! Even if I will be sleep deprived the rest of the night since he doesn't have a regular nadir, and he's been dropping all day, an could drop down to a dangerous green in the next few hours.

As for the work project, no, I haven't met my self-imposed deadlines but the publisher is really thrilled with my attention to detail and ability to carry over formatting/continuity from report to report. I don't pad my quotes, and should, whenever I take over the work of someone else, due to the time it takes me to fix their problems. I've already lost $$$$ on this project, but if I gain a long-term client in the meantime, that will be priceless. :) The publisher has already been asking my opinion on things, and thanking me for educating her, so that she can pass info on to other contractors who are doing half-assed work for her.

Now I need to go eat dinner (at 10:35 pm), and watch/test Pumbaa the rest of the night since he has been in decline mode most of the day.


SuZzzzzze
 
I wouldn't call it "fear to shoot" on that number, Suze. It was a non-rising 52. A BCS wasn't even an option I would have considered. I read the other day how a BCS isn't really all that effective as far as the cycle coming up is concerned. You're still dealing with a shed that was filled to 2.5u, and even if you shoot 1u, you're still going to get the effect of the 2.5u shed impacting that cycle. I think skipping was your only real option. He'd just had a cycle that according to your notes had earned him a reduction.(The 190 on the SS threw me because the footnote says he dipped to 46 and then 54 a few minutes later). The 190 isn't right, right? He didn't climb up to the 400s just because you skipped a dose. That bounce was going to happen anyway after a fairly long string of greens that dipped to a 46.
IMHO, you did the only thing you could do that night.

I hope you see green tonight. It looks like the bounce is clearing. (Not "40" green, but just a nice surf in the upper 80s would be a welcome sight.) :smile:

Carl

edited because that 190 messed me up!
 
Carl & Bob said:
I wouldn't call it "fear to shoot" on that number, Suze. It was a non-rising 52 that had fallen from a 190 three hours earlier. A BCS wasn't even an option I would have considered. I read the other day how a BCS isn't really all that effective as far as the cycle coming up is concerned. You're still dealing with a shed that was filled to 2.5u, and even if you shoot 1u, you're still going to get the effect of the 2.5u shed impacting that cycle. I think skipping was your only real option. He'd just had a cycle that was one point away from earning a reduction. He didn't climb up to the 400s just because you skipped a dose. That bounce was going to happen anyway after a fairly long string of greens that dipped to a 50.
IMHO, you did the only thing you could do that night.
and if you hadn't have skipped that shot... you would NOT have collected such awesome data... data which will help you make future decisions comfortably.

no beating up on oneself allowed! given the circumstances, you did what you had to do to keep pumbaa safe. might you make a different decision in the future? maybe. maybe not. it all depends on the circumstances. trust yourself, suze. you're doing great! sometimes skipping shots and shooting a BCS dose is the smartest thing to do in a given situation. call it a learning experience because that's exactly what it is.

you have NOT blown anything... pumbaa will head right back to green!
 
Carl and Jill, thank you so much for your responses! (((HUGS)))

I so appreciate hearing that I didn't fail my little guy by my recent decisions, and that I made the right decisions based on what was going on in my life that you have no clue!

Now, I must go eat, and try and nap a tiny bit before chasing Pumbaa's ever-changing nadir.

Thank you both again, for bolstering my confidence! That means so much to me!

SuZzzzzzze
 
Carl & Bob said:
(The 190 on the SS threw me because the footnote says he dipped to 46 and then 54 a few minutes later). The 190 isn't right, right?
No, it wasn't right. I really messed that up, didn't I? Thankfully, the meter's memory worked so I could go back and put the correct numbers back in!
Thank you for spotting that, Carl.

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top