Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
Poor Pumbaa. I really blew it for him when I gave that BCS on Saturday morning, and then didn't give him anything last night because he was dropping again and at 52 at his PMPS. *sigh*
So, I'm still not quite sure if today's high numbers are due to a bounce + the BCS on Saturday morning, or due to a bounce + the skipped shot last night. If anyone wants to look at his SS and chime in on the instant replays, please do! I'd like to at least learn from this experience as that may cause me to be braver in the future.
I gave the BCS of 1.50U (normal dose would have been 2.50U) on Saturday morning because I hadn't slept the night before, he had already dropped down to 55 the night before, and I have been on a very intense print project with tight deadlines, without getting much sleep. In hindsight (gotta love that 20/20 hindsight, eh?), I wish I would have given him at least 2.0U instead of 1.50U, if I was going to give a BCS anyway.
I didn't shoot last night because, if you look at his SS, he had already dropped down to 43 at AM +9, and hovered right around 50 after that, even though I let him have some gravy at +9, and he was eating through all of this like he had just come off of a 3-day fast. Then, at his PMPS, he had dropped, again, to 52. His nadirs are all screwed up, and I know that that 52 could have been the infamous Lantus double-dip, but again, hindsight is 20/20, and you don't know any of this in advance. He was so tired of being poked by the PMPS last night, I couldn't bear to sit there and poke him every 15 minutes waiting for the numbers to rise. Another consideration for the skipped shot was my ability to stay up yet another night and test him over and over to make sure he didn't drop too low, since he has no predictable nadir. So I opted to skip the shot. *sigh*
Poor little guy! He's been totally lethargic all day, as he always is when he bounces. I know this takes a lot out of his body. Or maybe it's just like us crashing from a major sugar high? Pumbaa is a royal pain-on-the-ass when his numbers are lower, but I just love seeing him zooming around the house and getting into mischief because he feels great! Even if that's harder on me...trying to catch him to test him and trying to outsmart him at shooting time. *LOL*
Time will tell, but I'm already thinking that I may have to take him back up to the 2.50U dose for a bit...even though he earned a reduction. Why? Because he had 17 hours straight in the good greens at that dose! And that was simply wonderful! And if that is what it takes to get his pancreas to heal, then that is what we might need to do. Right? Any input on this?
I would simply adore for Pumbaa to find a dose where he quits this bouncing and diving action, and where his nadirs get a chance to stabilize somewhere around +6. Right now his nadirs are all out of kilter because he's either bouncing, or coming down from a bounce. I want someone to wave their magic wand over Pumbaa and make that stop.
Back to work for moi.
SuZzzzzzzzze
So, I'm still not quite sure if today's high numbers are due to a bounce + the BCS on Saturday morning, or due to a bounce + the skipped shot last night. If anyone wants to look at his SS and chime in on the instant replays, please do! I'd like to at least learn from this experience as that may cause me to be braver in the future.
I gave the BCS of 1.50U (normal dose would have been 2.50U) on Saturday morning because I hadn't slept the night before, he had already dropped down to 55 the night before, and I have been on a very intense print project with tight deadlines, without getting much sleep. In hindsight (gotta love that 20/20 hindsight, eh?), I wish I would have given him at least 2.0U instead of 1.50U, if I was going to give a BCS anyway.
I didn't shoot last night because, if you look at his SS, he had already dropped down to 43 at AM +9, and hovered right around 50 after that, even though I let him have some gravy at +9, and he was eating through all of this like he had just come off of a 3-day fast. Then, at his PMPS, he had dropped, again, to 52. His nadirs are all screwed up, and I know that that 52 could have been the infamous Lantus double-dip, but again, hindsight is 20/20, and you don't know any of this in advance. He was so tired of being poked by the PMPS last night, I couldn't bear to sit there and poke him every 15 minutes waiting for the numbers to rise. Another consideration for the skipped shot was my ability to stay up yet another night and test him over and over to make sure he didn't drop too low, since he has no predictable nadir. So I opted to skip the shot. *sigh*
Poor little guy! He's been totally lethargic all day, as he always is when he bounces. I know this takes a lot out of his body. Or maybe it's just like us crashing from a major sugar high? Pumbaa is a royal pain-on-the-ass when his numbers are lower, but I just love seeing him zooming around the house and getting into mischief because he feels great! Even if that's harder on me...trying to catch him to test him and trying to outsmart him at shooting time. *LOL*
Time will tell, but I'm already thinking that I may have to take him back up to the 2.50U dose for a bit...even though he earned a reduction. Why? Because he had 17 hours straight in the good greens at that dose! And that was simply wonderful! And if that is what it takes to get his pancreas to heal, then that is what we might need to do. Right? Any input on this?
I would simply adore for Pumbaa to find a dose where he quits this bouncing and diving action, and where his nadirs get a chance to stabilize somewhere around +6. Right now his nadirs are all out of kilter because he's either bouncing, or coming down from a bounce. I want someone to wave their magic wand over Pumbaa and make that stop.
Back to work for moi.
SuZzzzzzzzze