? 8/13 Nelson amps 194, +5 142, +7 74, +8 63, pmps 103, +1 103

He usually has his shot at 3.30. Tonight it was closer to 4. Think I'm lost with time and just round up or down. Sorry if I've confused things.
 
Hey Bron, just got a 3.3 mmol. That is a +3, I changed the ss. He had his shot at around 3.50pm. I just let him have some more bikkies too. I think he'll be fine as long as I keep checking and leaving enough room for more food. How's that sound to you?
 
Hey Bron, just got a 3.3 mmol. That is a +3, I changed the ss. He had his shot at around 3.50pm. I just let him have some more bikkies too. I think he'll be fine as long as I keep checking and leaving enough room for more food. How's that sound to you?
It’s very early in the cycle. I think you should give him a drop of honey. I’d like him a bit higher at this point. The bikkies aren’t doing anything. What are they?
 
I really think he's fine. He was this low this arvo and came back up without food. I was told honey is for when they can't eat and are in a coma. He's still got room for food. I have tried to give him honey in the first week of his dx and he f* ing hated it. I risk traumatising him. They are purina ff tuna prawn makerel and crab bikkies. I can give him more. He's very food driven.
 
I really think he's fine. He was this low this arvo and came back up without food. I was told honey is for when they can't eat and are in a coma. He's still got room for food. I have tried to give him honey in the first week of his dx and he f* ing hated it. I risk traumatising him. They are purina ff tuna prawn makerel and crab bikkies. I can give him more. He's very food driven.
Taz, getting 56 at +3 is very different to getting to getting 63 at @8.
At +3 the insulin is just starting its action and at +8 the insulin is starting to wear off.
At +3 you need to have a bit of lee way for when the insulin is working at its hardest. At 3.3 or 59 you don’t have much of a leeway if things start to drop.
I don’t know who told you honey was only for when they are in a coma and when they won’t eat but they are not correct.
Honey can be given when you need to bring the BG up higher when the high carb food isn’t working.
Bikkies are not a good option for the hypo box. If you look at our hypo box it has canned high carb food in the hypo box.
I can only tell you what I would do if Nelson was my cat.
 
Well the 2nd ingredients are maize, wheat etc in the ff. There's also some senior consultant stage 2 from the vet and the 1st ingredient is wheat etc before any protein. I've mixed them together .
I do understand where your coming from. It does seem to early for such a low number. But I did agree to shoot low. I'll keep feeding and monitoring his bg during the night.
 
Well the 2nd ingredients are maize, wheat etc in the ff. There's also some senior consultant stage 2 from the vet and the 1st ingredient is wheat etc before any protein. I've mixed them together .
I do understand where your coming from. It does seem to early for such a low number. But I did agree to shoot low. I'll keep feeding and monitoring his bg during the night.
That’s good you shot low. But when you first do it it is always better to err on the side of caution until you have the data to support how he will react to shooting low.
 
This is so stressful. Vet told me honey was for coma. Nelson told me honey was for coma. This board told me to shoot and my vet probably would have too. Anyway he's still at 3.3 just now and just had some of the vet bikkies. I'll check cupboard for hc wet food. Sorry for slow replies, I have a high needs person in the house at moment.
 
This is so stressful. Vet told me honey was for coma. Nelson told me honey was for coma. This board told me to shoot and my vet probably would have too. Anyway he's still at 3.3 just now and just had some of the vet bikkies. I'll check cupboard for hc wet food. Sorry for slow replies, I have a high needs person in the house at moment.
That’s OK, please post your next BG. I’ll be watching :)
 
What if I put some honey in some wet food? I wonder if he'll go for that? Can only try I guess. Yes I'll post next bg. Thanks for the support.
See what the next BG is first before deciding about the honey. A drop of honey mixed with low carb food will make it high carb. Don’t leave it an hour though before testing again. We want to catch any drop before it drops too far.
 
I already gave some honey in wet food and I've left some wet food out. Things are getting tricky here so I'll do a 911 if things get bad. I don't expect you to stay up and I love my boy so I'll check thru the night. Thank you to everyone that helped today.
 
Thanks. Can you tell me what kind of reduced dose I can give at 3.30 in the morning? Can't go through this again. Do I just go down to 3.75? Or less?
 
Without knowing what he’s going to be at at AMPS I can’t really say. You can post and ask for advice. There should be plenty of people online at that time of day from the US.
He hasn’t really earned a reduction but it’s really up to you. If you feel you need to reduce the dose you could go down to 3.75 units, providing he is high enough to shoot, but be aware that the depot from the 4 units will still influence the BGs for a few cycles after you take a reduction.
He is just starting to give you some lovely green numbers on the 4 units.
 
Last edited:
Those were beautiful numbers on the last cycle. It’s scary shooting low the first few times but Bron helped you keep him safe. Thanks to Bron for stepping in.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top