8/13 Mr. Howell PMBG 39, no shoot, +15 56

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Mr. Howell

Member Since 2011
Good morning, LL
Yesterday

I got up at 6 this morning (PMPS +10) and his BG was 58. I decided to conduct an experiment -- I put out 1/4can food, even though I knew it was late in his cycle. He ate most of it and this morning his AMPS is 48, even lower.
Is he fighting the insulin? I have 30cc u100 syringes, and can measure .5u, but I don't know about measuring a .25u unless I just did a drop.
I'm stalling feeding/shooting since he is so low. Advice please?
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS +8 58, AMPS 48 -- Dosing advice?

I just realized -- did feeding him that late in his cycle just cause his shed to drain?
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS +8 58, AMPS 48 -- Dosing advice?

I'm bumping this for the more professional eyes on this board. Unfortunately, I'm not a great dose advice giver, nor am I experienced enough. I hope that someone comes along very soon to assist you with Mr. Howell. All I know is that feeding should provide a bit of a rise in #s if it's a carb food. Do you have LC food on hand in case you need it? As far as the syringes, I have the ones that have the 1/2 unit markings on them, which helps to dose that 0.25u more correctly.

Wishing for a nice, and safe surf for you both today. Otherwise, very nice #s! :)
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS +8 58, AMPS 48 -- Dosing advice?

Thank you Angela. I have both LC and HC food on hand, and a hypo kit at the ready, but he hasn't seemed to want to drop that incredibly far yet. I fed him 1/4can Chicken FF PMPS+8, which is what he had for dinner (he ate a little more then). I was expecting a food spike, too.
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS +8 58, AMPS 48 -- Dosing advice?

i don't think feeding him would cause his shed to drain. it would continue giving out a little bit of insulin until it's gone from the deposit. if his pancreas is working then eating would cause it to put out a little bit of insulin which might bring his numbers down. what i've heard is that a non-diabetic cat's BG is 50-120ish - and i would think 48 is close enough to 50 to be that.

i'll just bump you up for more experienced eyes as well. not sure what to suggest. the protocol general guidelines do say to try to get down to .25u for as long as they need it to give the pancreas as much support as possible. mr howell seems to want to yoyo on and off of insulin.
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS +8 58, AMPS 48 -- Dosing advice?

Thank you Julie. I have no idea what is going on in his little kitty brain! The dosage I gave last night was a s.75, and probably really closer to .5u anyway. He has been throwing a fit the last 1/2 hour though, sooo hungry!
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS +8 58, +12 48 -- Dosing advice?

+12.5 50. Well that wasn't a big effort to raise your #, Mr. H!
I had to let him nibble on some of the leftover 1/4can from +10 in order to get his test. We're still stalling for breakfast, though, and he's kind of desperate!
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS +8 58, +12 48, +12.5 50 -- Dosing ?

I would wait a little bit before shooting. You can review the Dealing With Low Preshots post for more help.

Feeding won't cause the shed to drain, but stalling will. That's ok, sometimes it's not a bad thing to let the shed empty out a bit. Mr. Howell has had several dose reductions in a few days and his shed might be overfull from some of the previous higher doses.
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS +8 58, +12 48, +12.5 50 -- Dosing ?

Thank you Libby, but how much should I shoot? I am very uncomfortable continuing to give him .75u when his preshot #'s have been so low.
Should I call it a fur shot and see what happens the rest of the day, or is that too much stress on him?
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS +8 58, +12 48, +13 71

+13 71. The spike could be because he ate probably 1/8can FF @ +12.5 because he wouldn't hold still while I tried to test him, and his ears were especially cold. :-|
I put out 3/4can Chicken FF and gave him a skinny skinny drop of .25u. Now he's running around under the coffee table, fighting with the feathers and hair ties and shoe laces. Oh, to be a cat.
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMPS 39 - Dosing advice!!

PMBG 39. I have no idea what Mr. Howell has planned -- I watched him eat 1/2can FF between +8 and +10, just to see if his # would rise.
I'm ready to call this a fur shot! I really don't want to shoot when he is this consistently low at PS...
What should I do?
My emotions are going like this right now:
nailbite_smile :-| :roll: :smile: :-D :lol: :smile: :-| nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMBG 39 - Dosing advice!?

You can't shoot a 39. You need to feed this number.

Are you able to stall and still manage your schedule? If not, it's OK to call it a fur shot. Mr. Howell may need to have his shed drained.
 
Re: 8/13 Mr. Howell PMBG 39 - Dosing advice!?

I put food out. I didn't intend to shoot him that low.
I got that number at 9:20, and I shot him at 9:00 this morning. That was already a 1 hour stall -- he is on an 8am/8pm schedule. His # last night at +12 was 48, and that was after he had eaten at +8 last night!
I'm calling it a fur shot.. thank you so much Sienne.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top