8/13 Max AMPS 85 +3 127 +5 86 +7 70 PMPS 243

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Happy Caturday. Max woke me up last night @ +10, hungry kitty. Checked BG just to make sure he was okay. He was 72, what? :eek: Yes, 72 so I fed him a little 9% carb. Rechecked in an hour to make sure he didn’t need a reduction. He was at a nice 81. I stalled for 15 minutes this morning just to make sure there would not be a food influenced BG even though last food was 2 hours ago. He was 94, then after stalling he was 85. Gave him his 5.5 units. I have to say I am so surprised this morning after him feeling bad last night and having a vaccine. So thankful though. He will most likely bounce but we are good for now.:D:cat:
 
I called his vet this morning about the vaccine confusion. They said it was logged in on 8/3 and on 8/12 but I was only charged on 8/12 for the vaccine. She said in the notes it isn’t clear about whether he got a vaccine then or not, so they don’t know if he got 2 rabies vaccines. They said they would have to check with his regular vet when she’s back on Monday. Ugh! I hope it was just a clerical error, but it sounds to me like somebody needs to be more careful.
 
I called his vet this morning about the vaccine confusion. They said it was logged in on 8/3 and on 8/12 but I was only charged on 8/12 for the vaccine. She said in the notes it isn’t clear about whether he got a vaccine then or not, so they don’t know if he got 2 rabies vaccines. They said they would have to check with his regular vet when she’s back on Monday. Ugh! I hope it was just a clerical error, but it sounds to me like somebody needs to be more careful.
:mad:
 
Here’s yesterdays condo. I went back to read.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...164-3-320-6-330-pmps-418.267024/#post-2988656

A double dose of rabies vaccine would be alarming. I’m glad it’s not required where I live. My vet actually won’t give vaccines to a cat with medical issues and stops all by age 10.

What was the bp? Did you get your meter you ordered from Amazon yet?

Yes, I was already upset about him getting it but every vet here requires it because of the laws in NC. It makes no sense. Anyway then I find out he may have gotten a double dose has me really upset. His was 190 according to the vet tech and she said the vet said to continue the amlodipine as is and come back in a month. I never got to see the vet. I’m so mad at them right now. I did get the BP cuff from Amazon but I sent it back because it didn’t work correctly. The numbers were all over the place and sometimes it wouldn’t read. I need to find one that’s more accurate. I have a hard time trusting automatic BP cuffs anyway. I sure hope Max will be okay. I’ve spent a lot of time and money on him because I love him so much and then they do something so careless. It’s so upsetting.
 
I had also asked when I went last week to make sure a UPCR was included in his labs. They charged me for it but when they finally sent me the correct labs, it was not done. We have had such bad experiences with vets here. This is vet number 3 for Max. I am not a hard person to get along with at all. I just don’t want careless or negligent things happening with Max. I’m about to believe there aren’t any good ones out here. I just don’t know what I’m going to do. Sorry for venting, I’m just really mad about it.
 
Do t apologize. I completely understand. I learned to ask for all records every visit after mistakes were made with Tiffany and Max. I’m so sorry you have this to worry about too.

I am surprised but not surprised about the bp monitor as Kyle has taken hers to her vet’s office to compare more than once and they matched. It seemed hard to believe you could get an accurate one for so little when I paid several hundred for my Doppler and all needed to make my work. I’ve kept it in case ever needed again. I bought a refurbished Doppler on eBay and the rest from the company. I saved that way but by the time it all came together only was used once to see if it worked. It takes practice to get accurate readings.

If the bp was 190 that’s not bad with vet stress added in. I hate you can’t be there as they are supposed to take 5 readings and get an average.
 
Thanks @tiffmaxee I am going to calm down by Monday and then I’m going to talk to my vet. This is the first time I’ve had a problem with her. I’ve liked her because she’s been very on board with me getting my dose recommendations from FDMB and she’s agreed that we are doing a wonderful job with Max. I don’t know what happened this time but I just can’t have errors happening like that with Max. She already knew I was apprehensive about him getting the vaccine to start with, but I had no choice. I don’t like the idea of him being seen by a vet tech when he was scheduled to see the vet. I had questions that did not get answered yesterday as well. Anyway I will try to be calm by Monday and talk to her. I want to get a Doppler BP monitor so where should I look to buy that?
 
I’m not sure if @Wendy&Neko is available but I need to check with you all again about Max’s dose. It’s really weird that he’s done so well today after the vaccine episode. He is 43 weeks post SRT. We recently increased from 5 units to 5.5 units. I think I’m supposed to take reduction if he falls below 70. Well he’s at 70, so should I continue with 5.5 units or try to go back to 5 units again, or maybe even try 5.25? I know he will bounce but I really hate for him to stay up so high for so long if the 5 unit doesn’t work. We are still 5 hours until PMPS so what do you think? @FrostD @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Chris & China (GA) anyone have an opinion?
 
I would try a reduction to 5.0 again. I’ll pm you sone info on what I bought sone time this weekend. I will need to look for it all.
 
Really wish he could have stayed in green longer before he hit his reduction point. I feed the curve and do everything I know. I said the same thing last time we had to reduce to 5 units, but with him having SRT, I guess you never know. We will see how it goes this time, once we get through the bouncing. I am really emotionally drained so I’m hoping to sleep tonight anyway.:oops:
 
I am really emotionally drained so I’m hoping to sleep tonight anyway.
Of course you are as well you should be!
Make yourself a nice cup of tea, chamomile maybe, (with a splash of Scotch) and put on your favorite black and white movie. It helps calm the nerves;).
Only after the +3 test, just in case. :bighug:
 
I'm not sure that I'd have reduced, since he technically didn't go under. The night before was a bounce break with a later nadir. He's not seeing a whole lot of green at this dose, and it isn't reading like any SRT/IAA movement. No harm, just don't let the reduction sit too long if it doesn't seem to be working.

Sorry about the vaccine fiasco! What a nightmare
 
Back
Top