8/13 LT 's AMPS=375. 6+ = 204, PMPS 330; Question

Suzanne Burton

Member Since 2019
Starting on day 4 with a 375. It was a rodeo sticking him this morning. It's not getting the blood so much as it is cat wrangling. I'm giving him bits of boiled chicken after sticking the ear, but this morning I had to wrap him up in a towel. I hope this gets easier.
 
It does. Are you rubbing his ears before you poke? Some like that. And singing or humming, it helps keep you relaxed and he won't pick up your nervousness.
I love to sing, so I'll try that when I test him next time. I'm using a warm rice sock on his ear. I also meant to start splitting his meals today, but I didn't sleep well last night and forgot until he had almost finished a complete meal. Tonight, I'm going to start splitting everything up. He's so anxious to get to his food that I think that's part of the testing problem.
 
I have to run out for a bit, but I wanted to post this question before leaving. Once I have done my curve, then will I adjust dosage, according to a chart, with each dose? I know this is a dumb question, but I'm throwing it out there anyway. My first curve will be on Friday - that will be a full 6 days on Lantus. I'm ready to do this!
 
Hey Suzanne, there are absolutely no dumb questions, we've all been there! I'm assuming since you're planning a curve that your are following the Go Slow method. I'm following TR with Leo but I copied this from the Sticky on Start Low Go Slow to give you an idea. There's a lot more good info on that Sticky so I also included the link at the bottom.
Good bedtime reading, lol. :joyful:

FROM START LOW GO SLOW STICKY

Hold the dose for at least a week:

  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).


Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!

This is the link to the whole Sticky:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Back
Top