8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +4 48, +9 355 PMPS 395

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
yesterdays condo
8/12 Condo

Morning LL!

Looks like 1.5 is doing the trick...Saw some GREEN last night, 63 wasn't too low, but starting at 282 from PMPS was quite a drop. Gave 3 tsp of HC over 2 hours and I'm glad it only resulted in a 294 this morning! I just get so scared that the HC isn't working so I probably give more than I need to. 2 tsp's probably would've been suffice. Hopefully I will remember for next time.

This morning there was absolutely no meowing or bothering to get me up! I was SHOCKED!! I actually got to sleep until 6:30 and wake up on my own. I'm sure it was just a fluke....but I could definitely use more of that!

Have to head to the office today but am going to try and come back around +4/+5 to get another test in. Will have the DBF give breakfast #3 around +3.

Hoping for a good day....although it is Friday the 13th!
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294

That was a pretty green last night...maybe Lightning will have more of those for you soon... Happy Friday to you! :razz:
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48..moving a little fast

Man, what is going on? 1.25 wasn't enough and now 1.5 is throwing him into hypo almost. I just came home from work and he's at +4 48! Gave 1 tsp HC and will test again in 30...have to leave in 1 hour so hopefully he starts to come back up!

Although I just switched to the 1.5, can I make it a skinny 1.5 (which i have no idea how to do) or a fat 1.25? It seems like somewhere in the middle has to be right...right?

Also, am I feeding TOO low carb? I have 3,4,5% that I switch between. Should I go for something that's in the 7,8 range or even higher? I don't even have any MC in the house either. I literally jump from 5% to 19% and that's probably not good. Now that I'm getting the hang of the feeding maybe I need to check out more options so I can start to play around with them and see what % helps keep him steady...thoughts???
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48..moving a little fast

Any updates after the 48?

Will you be home before PMPS? Maybe squeeze in a +11 or +11.5

And yes, better get some MC selections too.
I'm glad to see you are tracking the carbs on SS

I always suggest when you are experimenting with %, note them on your SS, it helps to get a better idea of patterns too with different carb %'s
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48..moving a little fast

Just tested again, +5 52....sllllowwwlllyyyy going up I suppose. Just gave his normal 1/4 can food (5%) and 1 tsp HC just to be safe. Have to go back to work now but will try to be back in a few hours. Not sure I can do a +11...going to be close getting home at 630 for his PMPS as it is (have an event after work I have to go to, but I will get a few more tests in between).

I will start putting the %'s for the food I feed on my SS as well, that will help me figure out what % to give when. Just printed out all the food charts and noted the MC's I want to take a look at. Off to work, then to the store before I come home.
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48..moving a little fast

ok good.

we'll see you later - and get you some eyes on tonight.
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48..moving a little fast

I guess Lightning told you what he thought of this dose!

One of the things I try to do is get a +2 routinely. If there is a good size drop between PS and +2, I know that Gabby may have some excitement in store and I try to get +3. If you're not already doing so, spreading food out over the early part of the cycle may help to buffer a fast drop.

Get out our reading glasses or a magnifying lens. I think trying to shoot a dose that's in the middle of 1.25 - 1.50 makes good sense. Congrats on the decrease.
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48..moving a little fast

Congrats on the dose crease and the good catch!! You are almost on your way!! Good job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48..moving a little fast

I've been doing a +2 or +3 pretty religiously since I started. Luckily I've been able to be home a lot and can catch an early test. He doesn't usually drop to the low greens until later in the cycle....but with the recent increase back to 1.5 he's dropping sooner. It might also be that I'm giving him really low carb food (3-5%) so maybe if I up it to 7-9% he will slow down a bit.

I have been spreading the food out into 4-5 meals over the whole 10 hours (not the 2 hours prior to the next PS). Should I maybe just focus on the first 4-8 hours? My sister bought me a 2 portion feeder and I'm going over to her house tomorrow to pick it up. Can't wait to try it out!!

OK, leaving work now and headed home. +7.5 number to come shortly.....
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48, +5 52, +7.5 114

Ok, we are moving in the right direction! 114 and just gave 1/2 more can of LC. I'll be home for another few hours before I have to leave again and then back for his PM. Hopefully the 2 tsp's HC don't sky rocket him for his PMPS!
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48, +5 52, +7.5 114

Hi Pamela

yes, usually, the first few hours of a cycle - it's good to have food on board, then near +8/+9 or so a small snack.

I did do a snack around +6 here and there, but only after tracking how the numbers were when food was given at that time.
A midday snack can work for some kitties.

Good luck with the feeder, I hear they work really well!
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48, +8 355!!!

ok, what is going on?? 355!! I had to do the test twice to make sure! It was 353 and then a minute later 355. I don't see how he went from 114 at +7.5 to 355 at +9! This is going to be a rough night!
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48, +9 355!!!

looks like he's bouncing from the low numbers today. He did the same thing last time he was green, his body isn't used to those numbers yet. It will clear. Good job today!
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48, +9 355!!!

Hi - and nice job today! you did good. and what a bounce - reminds me of Mannie: that boy is the king of drama. Eventually it does get better, the bounce less severe. Since Mannie is such a bouncer I fed the bulk of his meals at the start of his cycle - it does help to slow those fast drops, smooth out the cycle, lessen the severity of the bounces. nice catch today - and congrats on the dosecrease.

Hope too that you like the feeder - it has been such a help for me.
 
Re: 8/13 Lightning AMPS 294, +3 121, +4 48, +9 355!!!

Thanks Libby and Michelle....I'm glad to hear this is normal....but i still don't like it! :evil:

PMPS at 395 and that sucks!! I have not idea what amount i really gave him but it was definitely somewhere between 1.25 and 1.5. Probably should've given the whole 1.5 but with the way he drops I just can't do it. Hopefully there's still a drop, but I'll even take BLUE at this point!!
 
Got my first Ketone test in!! Woohoo!! Couldn't believe I randomly heard him in the catbox, but since Thunder was sitting on the computer with me I knew that sound was Lightning. I was very calm and cool about it and just lifted his tail the slightest bit and got it!! NEGATIVE!!! Awesome!! I have enough to worry about with his BG levels, I would've lost it if he came back positive!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top