8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +8(35) +8.75(64) +9.5(99)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
8/12 Hershey

HAPPY MONDAY!!

Sitting here on the deck enjoying this nice, cool morning. Sorry I won't have the opportunity to keep up with y'all for the next few days, but going outside every time you want internet isn't ideal...and the battery doesn't last that long, either...just know I'm thinking of y'all!

For years my kids have done their own packing for trips. I make a master list that they're welcome to use or make their own, then read over it before we leave. It's not all-inclusive, for example, I forgot to pack Doug's meds, so he wouldn't have had them had we NOT had to stop by the drugstore on the way out of town. Anyhoo - last night we discovered that Joseph didn't bring any long pants, no jacket and no blanket...to the mountains...He said it was because he goes to school at the beach...

Doug is cooking breakfast...mmmm blueberry pancakes and bacon...Joseph is pretending it isn't morning (even though it 10:30am) and Jessica is playing dueling computers with me on the deck. :-D The guys are going biking after breakfast, then I think we'll head to the Parkway.

Seems likes Hershey has decided he likes the mountains, maybe better than the beach. Four P's in place, but I'm sure he'll poop soon enough. He slept at the foot of Jessica's bed and saw (83) at @7.5! Now, if he'll just plan his greens nicely around our schedule all will be well. :-D

I hope y'all have a fabulous day!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)


AMPS (188) +11.5 - Shot .65u at 7:00am
+4 (137)
+5.5 (61) - fed
+7.5 (86)

PMPS (297) +12.25 - Shot .65u at 7:15pm
+4 (164)
+5.5 (100) - fed
+8 (35) - fed 1/8 can 7% Friskies Pate'
+8.5 (44) - fed 1/8-can 7% Friskies Pate'
+8.75 (64) - NO FOOD
+9.25 (82) - NO FOOD
+9.5 (99)
 
Re: 8/13 Hershey AMPS(188)

Hershey is loving the mountains. :-D How about a nice blue surf so your beans can get out a bit and not worry about you? Enjoy your day!
Liz
 
Re: 8/13 Hershey AMPS(188)

Hi guys .. What a pretty amps!! It certainly does look like hershey is enjoying the mountains .. I read yesterday's condo, what a trip you guys have had in just getting to the hills! Where exactly are you staying? Hope you are having a wonderful time!
 
Re: 8/13 Hershey AMPS(188) +4(137) +5.5(61)

Hey, Liz - Thanks for looking in on us. When I saw the +4, I thought he might have listened to you and planned a blue surf. Silly me...

Hey, Devon - Thanks for stopping by. I was thrilled with the AMPS, especially after last night's PS. We're staying a few miles from the campus of Appalachian State University, right outside Boone. It was really quiet last night, but today we're hearing a lot of familiar sounds...trucks, cars, dogs...my kids' cell phones buzzing! :lol:

The guys have gone off on a biking adventure...Doug was cautioned to BE CAREFUL! He was just released to go back to work.


+4 (137)
+5.5 (61) - fed
 
Re: 8/13 Hershey AMPS(188) +4(137) +5.5(61)

Hi Libby,
Beautiful numbers:-) I am jealous... the area you are in is my favorite spot in the country. My daughter went to school at Brevard College, and also spent time at Penland School for the Arts which is close to Boone. God's country, without a doubt!

Carl
 
Re: 8/13 Hershey AMPS(188) +4(137) +5.5(61)

A little place, just this side of heaven! I LOVE the NC mountains! A friend painted a picture of them in my mind back in high school. When I drove down from the flat-lands of Illinois, it was everything he'd described and so much more! The evergreens, the rocks, the waterfalls... AWESOME!!! And in mid April... everything blooming... is it a wonder I wanted to move here??? (and did I mention there wasn't a green blade of grass to be seen in all of Illinois on that trip???!!!)

Enjoy your vacation! Hershey's numbers look amazing!!!
 
Re: 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297)

Hey, Carl - Don't be jealous. Jessica said to tell you that if she goes to school here you're welcome to visit...as long as you bring a sea turtle with you!! :lol: Like you didn't see THAT coming!! :lol:

Hey, Lu - Yes, I've always LOVED this area. Several times Doug and I have wondered how feasible it'd be to move here...but, I don't foresee that ever happening. Thanks, we are enjoying it!

Doug and Joseph enjoyed their biking adventure...an adventure for sure! They didn't realize there were no 'easy' trails at that park!! :o Upon their return, we confined the kitties to the bathroom area and headed for the Parkway. I'm thinking the stress of confinement may led to Hershey's higher BG...or maybe a bounce from the pretty (61) at +5.5.

PMPS (297) +12 - Shot .65u at 7:15pm
 
Re: 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297)

It sounds like you are having a nice vacation in the mountains. I am envious. I hope you have lots of fun and lovely days.
 
Re: 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297)

Hi Libby,

Sounds like you're having a great vacation. I love the Carolinas. It looks like the trip is agreeing with Hershey also. Have a great time!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +4(164) +5.5(100) +8(35)

Hey, Dyana - Thanks for visiting us. We are enjoying our time away. It is pretty cool tonight, gentle rain falling for the last few hours, great for sleeping! I do hope it doesn't rain for our campus tour Tues afternoon, but you never know about mountain weather. :-D

Hey, Melanie - Good to see you. I've lived in NC all of my life and can't really imagine living anywhere else. Had fun tonight watching "Captain America" and playing Crazy Rummy. :-D
 
Re: RED?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +4(164) +5.5(100) +8(35)

35????
You ok?
Carl
 
Re: RED?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +4(164) +5.5(100) +8(35)

+4 (164)
+5.5 (100) - fed

Not gonna lie, I was pretty bummed that his BG was (100) and he probably would've been GREEN if we'd waited another 5 min to check. But, I was just going to count it as close enough and went to bed.

+8 (35) - fed 1/8 can 7% Friskies Pate'

WHAT?!?!?! Guess what else I FORGOT to pack???? You guessed it - NO HC or Karo!! :o I can't believe I was so stupid! So - not being to locate a measuring spoon in the cabin, fed him 1/8-can. Will retest :20, which is...brb
 
Re: RED?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +4(164) +5.5(100) +8(35)

I'm here as long as you need eyes, Libby
Carl
 
Re: RED?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +4(164) +5.5(100) +8(35)

You got any ice cream? Anything sweet?
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +5.5(100) +8(35) +8.5(44)

Hey, Carl - I was just thinking this was the first time he'd ever dropped low and I was the only one on the board. But - here you are! :-D

No ice cream...trying to think through what I have...SF jello, cookies, Lil' Debbies, sugar...still thinking...

Doug was sweet and told me to stay in bed while he did the +8 test. He's been with me through low numbers, but never been solely in charge. So, he's testing and bringing the numbers back to me. Joseph is sleeping on the pull-out in the living room, so we're trying to limit the moving around in there...

+8.5 (44) - fed 1/8-can 7% Friskies Pate'

Planning to retest :20
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +5.5(100) +8(35) +8.5(44)

Leftover DD jelly donuts? :lol:
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +5.5(100) +8(35) +8.5(44)

Doug just reminded me we have pancake syrup...planning to retest (:10 now). If he's 50+, planning not to feed and retest :20 to see if he's still rising. If lower than :50, will probably feed another 1/8-can since he eats about 3/8-can at a meal and will be THRILLED to eat more of Oreo's food! :lol:

Sound like a plan?? Carl - I REALLY appreciate how much of yourself you give to us and our kitties!

NOW - I know he's earned a reduction of some sort...just not sure if it should be the whole .25u or a shave...If we were at home, I'd lean more towards a shave...but, on vacation???
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +5.5(100) +8(35) +8.5(44)

Not sure about the jelly doughnut...I heard Joseph ask about heating his up after supper, so that's probably long gone. ;-)
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +5.5(100) +8(35) +8.5(44)

Just curious..is that the lowest number you've ever seen?
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +5.5(100) +8(35) +8.5(44)

Plan sounds good. Nice thing about the 7% is the increase will stick around longer than hc or karo. If he's lower though, the syrup might be the way to go.
I would take the full .25, libby. Hershey seems to like mountain living.
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +5.5(100) +8(35) +8.5(44)

WOAH!!!

Hi Libby. (Hi Carl.) You're doing great. On the dosing - I would say reduce by the whole 0.25 - that dip into the 30s is a serious request for a "protocol reduction". Others will weigh in, I'm sure.

You ok?
Jane
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +8(35) +8.5(44) +8.75(64)

I've seen 32 - 36 a handful of times. But, they're about the same number.

+8.75 (64) - NO FOOD

Going to wait :30 to retest. I think he's fine now, pretty late in the cycle, but want to be sure.

Hey, Jane - Good to see you. Sorry I haven't been able to visit and check on Karre. I'm standing with the laptop in the window to get internet (Can't go outside because it's raining.) and still it comes and goes. Oh well, can't have everything. :smile: Besides being sleepy, I'm okay, thanks for asking. :-D

We'll plan on the full reduction...sure hope he doesn't bounce too much. Yes, he DOES seems to like the mountain living! Can't blame him!!
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +8(35) +8.5(44) +8.75(64)

Nice to see the 64:-)
You are very fortunate that Hershey is as carb sensitive as he is, and you can bring him up with something as low as 7%. It makes "this" much easier once your heartbeat returns to normal :-D
Test in 30 sounds like a plan.

Hi Jane!

Carl
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +8(35) +8.5(44) +8.75(64)

I'll be looking out for that BG reading! Hershey sure likes to throw some drama in here and there :mrgreen: I'm glad you're ok other than being sleepy - those are some BOS you've got!

And don't worry about the condo visiting - I'm glad you're having such a lovely time on your trip! Maybe you (and Hershey of course) will stop round tomorrow, if you can make it - we're partying tomorrow, and moving Karre back to the Falls :cool:
Jane
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +8(35) +8.75(64) +9.25(82)

Yes, Carl - I have to admit that being mostly asleep ended quickly when Doug said he was (35) and he wanted to know what to do. :shock:

Thanks, Jane, for hanging out with us. Party tomorrow?! EXCITING!!! I'll do my best to get over there.

Well, Hershey wanted Oreo's food. The kids wanted to sleep in a little tomorrow...guess everybody got their wish...Well, I had wanted to go to a waterfall, but we did visit the Cascades on the Parkway today, so that kind of suffices.


+9.25 (82) - NO FOOD

Didn't tell Hershey to get carried away on the coming up...Planning :15 retest, so ~:05 from now.
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +8(35) +8.75(64) +9.25(82)

Well, Hershey made his point, so if he goes to blue, that's still just fine:-)
Feel for Doug... it must have been a hard decision...do I wake her, or not...35? Yep sorry, gotta do it!
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +8(35) +8.75(64) +9.5(99)

You're right, Carl. I would've been pretty upset if he'd let me sleep...

+9.5 (99) - NO FOOD

Well, I'm past stupid tired, so going to crash. Thanks, Carl, for staying up with me. I know it's almost 5am for you, too. And, thanks, Jane, for checking in and sticking with me. Nice that we have members around the world so it's rare anyone would be left alone. It's a nice feeling :-D

Goodnight...
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +8(35) +8.75(64) +9.5(99)

No problem, Libby. I don't have to be at work until 2pm :-)
Great job and don't forget the reduction in a few hours:-)

Nite all!
Carl
 
Re: DEC?? 8/13 Hershey PMPS(297) +8(35) +8.75(64) +9.5(99)

35! Holy shitzu! And you thought you were on vacation. Hershey says you're not on vacation from him!
I'm glad Carl was hanging around, keeping an eye on you. Good job, you two.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top