Re: 8/13 Harley AMPS 226, +5 92
You've done just fine, no worries! It's all part of the learning process.
By experimenting I meant just trying a dose & getting data on it. So if you think the drop is too steep, you shave off 0.1 and see what happens. If the data shows that then you aren't hitting good #s, you put the extra 0.1 back in the mix.
I judge by both PSs & nadirs. If the nadir is below 50 I would definitely reduce. If the PS is unshootable, so below 150, then I'd reduce also. If the nadir is in diabetic #s, so above 120, then I'd generally increase a hair, and if the PSs are much above my no-shoot (I used 150 for Bix, but some use 180, or 200 if you don't have much data), then I'd usually increase a hair as well (assuming I didn't think that would make the nadir too low - nadirs trump PSs, and some cats get higher PSs than others).
Based on his response to the 0.6 last night, and that was a late shot too, I probably actually would have shot more like 0.5 today. And it would have been too little it looks like. So see, looks to me like you have a good feel for it! It's possible that there was still some overlap yesterday and that's why the 0.6 did well, vs. today (no shot last night I think?) it was more hours since the last shot (and that dose was a lot lower too, so less duration), so maybe needed more insulin to get the same response. Not really sure actually, that's my best guess. In any case though, you got it right, yay!!!