8/13 Harley AMPS 226, +5 92, PMPS 271

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/13 Harley AMPS 226, +5 92

somehow my reply ended up being sent as a pm...dunno how...but meant it to show here.
 
Re: 8/13 Harley AMPS 226, +5 92

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That 0.6 worked great last night... WOW!!! And today's #s look perfect, woohoo!!!!

I don't think the drops are too steep...? The target is around 60% I think - 50 - 65%, somewhere in there. Some may even go as high as 70%. 50% is probably on the low side of desirable - I think it depends on personal preference and what #s you are going for. With Bix, I like 150 PS and 80 nadir, so that's about 50% (of course he rarely obliges with the #s I want, LOL!). If one were going for 180 PS and 60 nadir, that would be perfect IMO, and that's 66% I guess. Overly steep drops are like 150 pts in an hour, or 400 PS down to 80 nadir, something like that. Harley's drops look perfect to me, yippee!!!

It's nice to see him doing so great, YAY!!! :RAHCAT You are doing a great job picking the right doses Robin, keep following your instincts!
 
Re: 8/13 Harley AMPS 226, +5 92

p.s. If the drops are steeper than you want though, I would try shaving 0.1 off the dose.... today's nadir is perfect, but then so was yesterdays on just 0.6u, so there is probably room for experimenting in there.

When Bix was on a dose reduction path it was tricky - if I reduced and he got back into yellows, then I would just raise it back up a little. You don't want to undershoot several cycles in a row and let them get used to higher #s again, but sometimes you may end up undershooting here & there just to figure things out, or on days when you can't monitor and want to be sure you don't overdo it, and I don't think that's any big problem.
 
Re: 8/13 Harley AMPS 226, +5 92

Thanks Joanna,

I've undershot more than my fair share. :shock: But it seems like such a guessing game.

I was a little concerned about that 1 unit today because he has done so well on lower doses, so I'm glad you don't think the drop is too steep, I thought it was supposed to be about 50%.

What kind of experimenting? At what numbers do you start shaving a bit off the dose to see if he will follow? Do you go by PS or nadir?
 
Re: 8/13 Harley AMPS 226, +5 92

You've done just fine, no worries! It's all part of the learning process.

By experimenting I meant just trying a dose & getting data on it. So if you think the drop is too steep, you shave off 0.1 and see what happens. If the data shows that then you aren't hitting good #s, you put the extra 0.1 back in the mix.

I judge by both PSs & nadirs. If the nadir is below 50 I would definitely reduce. If the PS is unshootable, so below 150, then I'd reduce also. If the nadir is in diabetic #s, so above 120, then I'd generally increase a hair, and if the PSs are much above my no-shoot (I used 150 for Bix, but some use 180, or 200 if you don't have much data), then I'd usually increase a hair as well (assuming I didn't think that would make the nadir too low - nadirs trump PSs, and some cats get higher PSs than others).

Based on his response to the 0.6 last night, and that was a late shot too, I probably actually would have shot more like 0.5 today. And it would have been too little it looks like. So see, looks to me like you have a good feel for it! It's possible that there was still some overlap yesterday and that's why the 0.6 did well, vs. today (no shot last night I think?) it was more hours since the last shot (and that dose was a lot lower too, so less duration), so maybe needed more insulin to get the same response. Not really sure actually, that's my best guess. In any case though, you got it right, yay!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top