? 8/13 - GIDEON BLUE - PMPS = 429 What should new Lantus dose be?

I will test in 1 hr to see which way he is going. He is so happy and loving today. Even more than usual, which is pretty difficult.

Update: +7 = 125, which looks pretty good to me. This was after eating 9% carb food.
 
Now, we will see how he does tomorrow, and then decide on the vacation dose. Tonight, should I do the same as last night...if at +3 he is higher than 300, (in the PINK), do not test until AMPS? I would like to be able to loosely follow some formula. On vacation, in addition to AMPS and PMPS, he will be tested at +6 (AM) and +3 (PM).
 
I think that should be good. Since you are leaving Saturday we might want t take his dose down tomorrow. I have to think about that and also see what others think.
 
I will test in 1 hr to see which way he is going. He is so happy and loving today. Even more than usual, which is pretty difficult.

Update: +7 = 125, which looks pretty good to me. This was after eating 9% carb food.
What is the 9% carb food you are feeding? I have lots of 12 and 13 and 14%, but only have 0-3% carb on hand right now. I will take a look at the Cat Food Chart again and try and come up with a shopping list of foods Disco might do well on with his IBD.
 
Nulo is 8-9% depending on the flavor. He loves it, but I usually go with 4-6%. He likes Merrick's Duck, Marrick's Grandma Something, and Wellness Complete, Blue Wilderness Chicken, Duck, Turkey. Also, Blue Kitten, and Fuzzy Cat. Lots more too.
 
Nulo is 8-9% depending on the flavor. He loves it, but I usually go with 4-6%. He likes Merrick's Duck, Marrick's Grandma Something, and Wellness Complete, Blue Wilderness Chicken, Duck, Turkey. Also, Blue Kitten, and Fuzzy Cat. Lots more too.
Thanks for ideas! I have to go grocery shopping and will pick up a few, so I have some! Hoping you can relax and enjoy your vacation!
 
What should the Lantus dose be in the AM?
Ok. I will decrease Lantus dose to 1.25 units BID. Tonight +3=419. Thank you!

Teri-. Gideon also likes Weruva foods, and Beyond. I would go by Dr. Pierson's food chart.
 
If you are still around what do you think us a good vacation dose? She leaves Saturday and Gideon will be tested about 3 times each cycle.

How good is the vet tech at measuring the doses that are in between the lines? 1.25 would be a good vacation dose as long as he's eating normally IF they are able/willing to do those "in between" doses.

If not, for safety's sake, I'd go to 1U so it's on a line and have the pet sitter test for ketones if he's in any way acting "off" or not eating.

Will either the petsitter or vet tech be able to text you to keep you informed about his numbers?
 
She’s likely asleep. Last month they texted and she posted so yes. I think a vet tech will shoot. The sitter will get mid cycle tests so I don’t think measuring will bd a problem. We just reduced from 1.75 recently.
 
Back
Top