Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)
Member Since 2019
Yesterday 8/12: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-12-disco-amps-180-2-222-failed-reduction-photo.233531/
Well, we are coming up on cycle 13 tomorrow and no swimming in the Lagoon or pretending he's Shark Bait since 8/7 and I was intrigued by Disco having fellow Rainbow doppelgangers out there, @Zelda & Walter and @Shiloh567 and so I went and visited their pages and I am trying to learn. I am not a very good note-taker, so try and copy and paste info that might help me remember recommendations and advice. Just like Gideon's 78 after a 262 3 hours earlier, Disco has given me a shock when he give me a 37 3.5 hours after a 242.
Until Disco started piling on the ounces (which have turned into pounds), I used to feed him small LC snacks at each spot test. Then I started skipping those snacks, but he was still gaining weight and I didn't see a pattern to any changes good or bad to not feeding him those snacks. I know he was cleaning up the other 2 cats LC food leftovers, so for the past month or so, I have been feeding them all separately and his weight has stabilized at least.
I think @Sue and Luci suggested I give him Karo syrup instead of HC foods when he dips as he doesn't do well with much gluten as he has IBD and I will try that when/if/when it happens again. And did I read this correctly, that maybe for Rainbow cats like Disco, by the time the downward slide hits 70, it's too late for food to slow the slide, so I need to also be more diligent on that and a testing schedule. I mean, I am retired so in a lot better position to do that than someone working full-time, but still sometimes I realize that hours have passed. Need to start setting my phone alarm again! There were times I fed him MC in the low 100's but not with any consistency or plan.
Anyone can chime in and let me know if this is a good plan--feed Disco's usual 2 oz of Darwin's raw chicken/turkey and add 1/4 can MC to that..Or does he need more MC at the AM/PM meals? Then when I spot test him, I will feed 2 tsp MC up until 2 hrs pre-shot. Also, do I increase to 3u again in the morning on Friday?
Thanks in advance for being part of Disco's Care Team!
Today's Daily Disco Photo is one of him at his most obese, 16#. He probably wouldn't want me to share this any more than I would want him sharing one of me in the same shape, but at 14# 6oz currently, he is closer to that weight than he is at his optimum weight of 12#, which is the 2nd photo.
Well, we are coming up on cycle 13 tomorrow and no swimming in the Lagoon or pretending he's Shark Bait since 8/7 and I was intrigued by Disco having fellow Rainbow doppelgangers out there, @Zelda & Walter and @Shiloh567 and so I went and visited their pages and I am trying to learn. I am not a very good note-taker, so try and copy and paste info that might help me remember recommendations and advice. Just like Gideon's 78 after a 262 3 hours earlier, Disco has given me a shock when he give me a 37 3.5 hours after a 242.
Until Disco started piling on the ounces (which have turned into pounds), I used to feed him small LC snacks at each spot test. Then I started skipping those snacks, but he was still gaining weight and I didn't see a pattern to any changes good or bad to not feeding him those snacks. I know he was cleaning up the other 2 cats LC food leftovers, so for the past month or so, I have been feeding them all separately and his weight has stabilized at least.
I think @Sue and Luci suggested I give him Karo syrup instead of HC foods when he dips as he doesn't do well with much gluten as he has IBD and I will try that when/if/when it happens again. And did I read this correctly, that maybe for Rainbow cats like Disco, by the time the downward slide hits 70, it's too late for food to slow the slide, so I need to also be more diligent on that and a testing schedule. I mean, I am retired so in a lot better position to do that than someone working full-time, but still sometimes I realize that hours have passed. Need to start setting my phone alarm again! There were times I fed him MC in the low 100's but not with any consistency or plan.
Anyone can chime in and let me know if this is a good plan--feed Disco's usual 2 oz of Darwin's raw chicken/turkey and add 1/4 can MC to that..Or does he need more MC at the AM/PM meals? Then when I spot test him, I will feed 2 tsp MC up until 2 hrs pre-shot. Also, do I increase to 3u again in the morning on Friday?
Thanks in advance for being part of Disco's Care Team!
Today's Daily Disco Photo is one of him at his most obese, 16#. He probably wouldn't want me to share this any more than I would want him sharing one of me in the same shape, but at 14# 6oz currently, he is closer to that weight than he is at his optimum weight of 12#, which is the 2nd photo.
