? 8/13 Dexter M AMPS 150 AVG 68.71/h til + 7 PMPS 213 +3 129

DexterMeowgan

Member Since 2021
Gave 1U.

He was awnry about getting his BG checked this morning, his actual number may have been lower. Took like 4 pokes because I'd get a nice drop formed, let go for a split second of holding him, and he'd shake his head and get it in his fur. -_-.

Not bad considering he didn't get an insulin dose yesterday and is still 50% HC food, though!
 
Gave a dab of Karo on the end of my finger, rubbed on his gums, and gave him 1/4 TBSP HC food.

Will be checking soon to see how his BG is doing. I was extremely shocked by the drop.

Glad we caught it though! I may do what was suggested and just stop giving insulin until Saturday when the syringes arrive. I'd much rather him be a bit high than low, tbh. Thank you all for the quick responses! I really appreciate the help.
 
Keep monitoring him till he heads up safely. Sometimes the numbers will dip again after the carbs from the karo wear off.

Please change your title to remove the "PLEASE RESPOND". Thanks :-)
 
Gave another small drop of Karo on his gum, rubbed it into it. He licked for about 10 seconds after to get the taste out of his mouth lol. His eyes are opening a bit more and he's getting awnry about being pet starting to rabbit kick so I think it's kicking in lol.
 
Alright, looks like we're making progress. He tested 64.

I assume at this point just monitor and make sure it keeps going up?

Do I still do 20 minute intervals or just hourly now?
 
Roughly 3, I don't have exact feeding time but initial reading was 8:01 AM.
The timing is with reference to the when you shot him. +3 would be 3 hours after the shot.

Leave food out for him to eat if he wants (I know you don't usually) - but they can tell when their sugar is dropping.

I think you can wait for an hour to test. Be mindful that with honey and HC, the numbers can dip again once the carb bump wears off.
 
The timing is with reference to the when you shot him. +3 would be 3 hours after the shot.

Leave food out for him to eat if he wants (I know you don't usually) - but they can tell when their sugar is dropping.

I think you can wait for an hour to test. Be mindful that with honey and HC, the numbers can dip again once the carb bump wears off.

This morning, even though I fed my second cat separately, he tried to come steal Dexters food after he was done! I was shocked. He hasn't done that in years lol.

They must really like the CleanProtein diet.

I'll keep an eye on his sugars, I'll retest in 30 minutes and if they're still rising I'll do it hourly after. Good thing we have so many strips.
 
You aren't planning to switch all of them to it? That way you don't have to worry about Dexter getting into their HC food.

I am, I gave Sofi some as well starting yesterday 1/3 of his portion.

He eats less than Dexter usually, and he's eaten more in a sitting than he has in quite a while.

Usually he nibbles and eats like 1/4 of his portion, now he eats almost all of it in a sitting, making sure to eat all the new food at least lol.
 
Last edited:
+3.5 61 - He dropped again 3 BG. He's sleeping right now after again having his ear poked.

Would you let it ride at this point and check hourly?

Edit: Also fixed timing of checks based on meters' test taken time.
 
Ok. Just trying to ascertain whether it's been 2 hours since his last meal.

Might want to play it extra safe and test at +4 and then switch to hourly if flat or higher.
 
Ok. Just trying to ascertain whether it's been 2 hours since his last meal.

Might want to play it extra safe and test at +4 and then switch to hourly if flat or higher.

Sounds like a plan. This will be the first time he'll have tests done every hour in a spreadsheet lol.

I have a feeling by next weekend when he's 100% new food, he won't need the insulin. Here's hoping <3
 
PMPS 213 - Gave 50/50 food & no shot.

Syringes are scheduled to be delivered tomorrow, I think we'll try first 0.25U 2x per day.

Gonna switch him to 25/75 Old/New food tomorrow!
 
Oh and I forgot to add that he may run higher for a few cycles because he would bounce from the lows he saw this morning. Looks like he's doing that.

I figured until we get a steady new dose of insulin and 100% new food the data would be all over the place. We're adjusting his carb intake and insulin resistance apparently has dropped haha.

Thanks :)
 
There is some insulin depot still around plus his pancreas might be producing insulin as well!

Here's hoping for the second part, lol. The 213 might've been high just because he was stressed and fighting getting his ear poked for the what felt like 30th time today.
 
The 213 might've been high
More likely a bounce from that drop this morning.

You've seen this?
"Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."
 
More likely a bounce from that drop this morning.

You've seen this?
"Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

I thought that it only applied if it dropped too fast, not necessarily too low. So the last few days were him bouncing from the 1U once a day dosing probably. Good to know. :)
 
Back
Top