8/13 Casey AMPS 374, +5.5 92, +6 78/93 PMPS 318, +3 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49843

I need advice...
I was gone over night leaving the care of my cats w/my brother. He may have filled my civie cats food bowl(she only eats kibble) to shut her up, but definitely left it out before going to bed.

I got home this morning to test, feed and shot Casey but she did not greet me at the door. I wondered where she was, but since I got home later than I planned I when straight into the filling the syringe, etc, routine. During this time Gabby(civie) was being a pill as usual, still no Casey; then I realized that I was hearing crunching sounds... :shock: cat(2)_steam I I dashed to the living room and found Casey chowing down Gabby's kibble!!! I am not sure how much was in there, how long she was up at the food, or how much she had eaten. :!: I only know that it was probably at least...5...minutes and enough to raise her BG by 100 points compared to the morning before!! My questions are: :?: Since she had been chowing down kibble, do I stiil feed her more (canned) food this morning? Or should I just let her burn-off the kibble for a while? If and/or when I put the can food out, how much should I give her?

I will probably find out how much kibble my brother added to the dish after he gets up (usually 9:30-10:30am CT), gave shot at 7:00-7:05am.

Roberta

8/13
AMPS: 374 found her chowing down civie's kibble that did not get put away last night
1st cycle: 1.5u
+1: 308
Put down 3oz can of FF - Semi-Free Feed
+2: 253
Put down 1/3 3oz can FF - had practically finished 3oz already and since #'s seem to be dropping quickly
+3: 186
+4: 109
+5: 98
+5.5: 92
+6: 1st reading 78, I questioned if it was accurate, so I did a 2nd reading 93 (it took 5 mins to get the new 1, Casey did not want another test)
+7: 115
+10: 231
PMPS: 318
Put down: 1/2 5.5oz Friskies
2nd cycle: 1.5u
+3: 241
+5.75: 183
 
Re: 8/13 Casey - chowed kibble, AMPS 374 - do I still feed?

Hi, opinions may differ - but if you are shooting insulin, I always feed at shot time. If Casey were my kitty, I would test/shoot & offer low carb.
 
Re: 8/13 Casey - Stoled/chowed kibble, AMPS 374, +1 308

I usually test, feed her can food, then shoot. This morning she was chowing kibble just before test so I just gave her the shot. I now tested her again at +1...308, so I did put some canned food down. I think she was about to wolf it down in 1 sitting, not usual for her, so I picked it up for a little while.
 
Re: 8/13 Casey - Stoled/chowed kibble, AMPS 374, +1 308

I'm sure that Casey will be bouncing for a bit, especially if she chowed down on high carb kibble, so be prepared to see slightly higher #s because of it. You could always give a bit of her regular food. I'm not sure if that'll help to keep her from climbing, though. Hopefully, someone will come by and give you better advice that I can. Good luck, today!
 
Re: 8/13 Casey - Stole/chowed kibble, AMPS 374, +1 308, +2 2

Casey seems to be coming down rather quickly for being so soon after the insulin shot, she is now down to 253 @ +2. I put the food dish back down. I will be watching her closely.
 
Re: 8/13 Casey - Stole/chowed kibble, AMPS 374, +1 308, +2 2

Hi RobertA - bummer in the kibble - but I think we all have been through that one. For me, I just maintain the procedure: food at shot time. I would have just fed the canned as well. It sounds like Casey just had her kibble at shot time, so no worries on the food thing at that ;point. She'll probably run a little high BG wise for a while, as the kibble wears off. The +2 is promising - maybe she only ate a little.

have a great day today! And Casey - come on down!
 
Re: 8/13 Casey chowed kibble, AMPS 374, +1 308, +2 253, +3 1

I don't know if I should be happy :razz: to see her #'s going down 188 point in 3 hrs (+3: 186 verses AMPS: 374) or concerned.
 
Re: 8/13 Casey AMPS 374, +1 308, +2 253, +3 186, +4 109, +5

flip_cat Woho!! What a morning! Going from getting home to discover her stealing my civie's kibble and having her highest home test BG# to getting into the green +5~98...wow.

I guess she listened to some of your advice to "come on down" lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top