? 8/13 Boomer AMBG 70 +3 70 +9 70 PMBG 67 no shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Very Active Member
Yesterday's dental and mid-green BGs
Good morning,
I want to thank everyone who visited us yesterday, sent vines (they worked, no extractions!) and supported me through a stressful day of having my baby at the vet for surgery! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Not sure if this is the right thing to do or not but since Boomer's BG is still pretty low (for him) and since it's been less than 24 hours since the anesthetic was administered, I'm not going to shoot this morning.

He's eating pretty well but prefers to be fork-fed :rolleyes: I just recently broke him of that habit :rolleyes: He does really like the fortiflora.

He's still insisting on laying under the bed but he does usually come out when I call him. He was very affectionate last night when I got up at 2:00 and 5:00 and wanted lots of scritches.

Yesterday at the vetty's I asked Dr Larry how his diabetic kitty, Dolly, was doing. His answer was "Oh so much better, she's down to 1 unit twice a day". I'm not sure how high a dose he was giving her previously when she hypo'd but I gather it was quite a bit because she hadn't been responding to any of the 3 insulins that he had tried. Then he changed her food (I had told him a few weeks ago that some kitties go into remission with just a change in food) and voila! He has trouble testing her so I let him know about the trick with the heated up rice sock. Most importantly, he said "I now better understand why people feel the need to test their diabetic kitties". YAHOO! One vet converted. :smuggrin::rolleyes:
 
:D:D:D I don't think I'd give insulin until Boomer is eating normally again, unless his numbers really jump up. Hopefully he will be done with insulin now. Great news on your vet and his cat.
 
So happy that everything went well and that Boomer is back home and enjoying some pampering. ;)

...and I would hold off on Insulin too until you can be sure that he eats normally... and, who knows, maybe his numbers will stay green even without a drop of juice.
 
Good call on no juice, why push it when he's been in normal numbers since the 2nd day you started insulin again. Hopefully he continues to feel better and today can be day 1 of his 3rd and last trial :D:D
 
+3 70:D:D:D:D
This time I had to drag him out from under the bed and carry him to his dish. He didn't want to eat so I sprinkled a tiny bit of fotiflora on it and he ate some of it. Doesn't have a great appy yet. He was very nervous while he was eating and kept glancing towards the front door.
The bup was given at 12:15 yesterday (it's 11:15 now) so chances are the meds have worn off and his mouth is a bit sore. Will be given him some more in an hour.
 
I gave Boomer his pain meds at noon but I don't think I was very successful in getting it into the cheek pocket. Any tips? He gets another dose tomorrow. Poor thing will probably be uncomfortable now due to mama bean's ineptitude :(
 
I can't say I get it in the cheek pouch. I was told and don't know how accurate it is, if not the pouch to get it on his tongue or gums. At this point I just squirt as much in the cheek as I can. So he gets it in all places.
 
I do like those 70's. :D

Neko gets bupe twice daily. I find it easiest if I am behind her head and point the syringe back towards me. Then I insert the tip in the corner of the mouth, aim for the cheek and squirt. Of course, I do get it compounded, now fish flavour, so I don't get much fuss.
 
Well I just sat with him for a while and brushed him and he loves his head brushed and still wanted it brushed today so I'm assuming his mouth isn't bothering him all that much so I guess I got enough bupe in him.
 
Honestly, I have never been able to give Bupe as instructed to Mandarin. When I asked the vet if I could squirt it into a pill pocket, she said that that would work. It's just not absorbed as well. So he should still get some pain relief, even if it takes a bit longer.

...but she usually recommends that Bupe is given every 8-12 hours.
 
Judy, so glad to hear that Boomer let you brush him. And I don't blame you for not giving insulin while his eating is iffy. When you are brushing him, could you get the bup ready and cradle him and shoot into the cheek that is in the crook of your arm? Just a thought.
 
Ok AMBG 70 +3 70 +9 70???? Really???? o_Oo_Oo_O
Had a battery warning pop up yesterday then disappear so we changed the batteries. +9 68

Ok then. :rolleyes:

Something else that's strange.....I've had trouble getting Boomer's ear to bleed since the dental. I rarely need more than one attempt to test and almost every time it's been 2, 3 or 4 tries before I draw blood. Another o_Oo_Oo_Oo_O

He's still hiding in the bedroom, mostly under the bed but right at the edge where I can still reach him. He just ate most of his +9 but he didn't come out when the auto feeder opened; I made up a fresh dish for him with a sprinkle of the beloved fortiflora and took it in to him.

He's very nervous....he's usually jumpy at certain noises but today it's every little noise.

Hopefully tomorrow will be better. I have a newborn session at noon and DH is going golfing.
 
Some cats have a response to bupe that is more agitation than sedation. Boomer may be one of those kitties who becomes skittish rather than high!
He was pretty happy yesterday and into the nighttime. Today more skittish. But after dinner tonight I brought him out and put him on the couch between DH and I and I brushed him again and DH rubbed his tummy. Eventually he jumped down but went to his testing table and had a bath. He ate his dinner on his own tonight (with fortiflora but I didn't have to fork-feed or even stir) looked out the back door for a bit, had another bath on his testing table and is now snoozing in his bed by the fireplace. So he's being more sociable now.
 
The first time I ever had to give bupe to a cat, I didn't know I was supposed to shoot it into the cheek pocket and just shot it down their throat. It still helped.

:D:D:D
 
The first time I ever had to give bupe to a cat, I didn't know I was supposed to shoot it into the cheek pocket and just shot it down their throat. It still helped.

:D:D:D
Yes and Dr Larry did say it would still help him but the most effective spot is the cheek pocket.
 
I'm glad to see he's doing fairly well and I hope he continues to eat more each meal....and come out from under the bed.

Good job converting Dr. Larry and the BGs a looking great!
 
Wow, look at Boomer go! :D That's the fastest I've ever seen a cat drop after a dental. Who knows why - just enjoy it!

It took me quite a while to get to where I could get the Bupe in the cheek pocket. I hope the syringe parallel to the lips and squeeze the mouth gently so he opens his lips, then I slide the syringe into the cheek and squirt. I am also giving it every 8-12 hours (every 8 right now while Harvey has those sores).

Maybe the next time you see Dr. Larry you can print this out and give it to him: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top