8/13 Bella Heading to the vet, refuses to eat, teeth?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alicia2022

Member Since 2022
(Heading to the vet soon)

Good morning everyone.
Bella started clicking her teeth or jaw yesterday, was uncomfortable eating, had diminished appetite, and we gave her 2 ml of ZydaClin that worked well for her in the past. Her PMPS was 294 which is low for her, so we decided to give her a reduced dose of Prozinc.
Today, she had diarrhea and vomited a bit early in the morning (there was a little hairball) and refused to eat. BG 508, so we fed her from a syringe and gave her a full dose of Prozinc. After that, she ate by herself a bit of FF. She had some water with food because she always prefers her food to be like a soup. Ketones strip negative.
We’re heading to the vet in an hour from now. When she had similar issues a few months ago (before her diabetes diagnosis), an injection of buprenorphine helped her to start eating again. I’m going to ask for it this time too. Any other recommendations? This is a regular clinic, we don’t have an emergency hospital in the vicinity.
 
I had an old cat that was losing weight. Vet said that she had a bad tooth but didn't want to extract as her labs were terrible. A bit later we had the local dentist over for cocktail's, I mentioned the bad tooth and he said that he would be willing to extract.

It took 3 of us I held the cat on my lap, my wife used gauze to hold her mouth open and the dentist pulled the tooth No general anesthesia.

Several months later we repeated labs and the vet said they were remarkable better. The cat was not a diabetic The extraction helped the cat live another 2-3 years.

Perhaps you might try softening the cats food in a blender adding water. We have several foods that we use canned tuna, even friskies figuring it is better to get something into our cat rather than have him not eat.
 
I would definitely ask the vet to check her teeth (you can also take a look yourself if she will let you) for possible tooth resorption. My cats have had several teeth removed because of that, it's extremely painful and will sometimes stop them from eating. At beginning stages it looks like a stain at the base of the tooth or a patch of gum growing upwards on the surface of the tooth (hiding a hole inside). This means the tooth has already started to disintegrate inside and at root level, and should be extracted.

Best of luck today, keep us posted!

Edited to add link: this article has good photos for you to have an idea what you'd be looking for!
 
Last edited:
We're back and Bella started eating. They didn't have buprenorphine (we're out in cornfields here) but gave her a fast acting anti-inflammatory and a long lasting antibiotic (I don't seem to find the paperwork for brand names) and sub-q fluids. The vet thinks Bella might have lost a tooth or injured her gum somehow else.
 
For X-rays, yes. They would typically do the X-rays when she is under anesthesia before the dental cleaning, to see if there is any root or tooth resorption that would require extractions.

The visual check you could do yourself if she is good about letting you take a peek at her teeth. I check mine by gently lifting one lip at a time, checking for red gum spots growing over the teeth (between them 4 they had that happen many times).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top