8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53, +12 52 Advise Please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56 Advise Please

Welcome to Lantus Land.

Would it be possible for you to get another test at +11 or +11.5? It would be helpful to know what direction Beast's numbers are heading.
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56 Advise Please

Yes I will be able to test at +11 and will post the number
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53 Advise Please

+11 is 53 what should I do now? If I hadn't home tested I would normally just feed at 9:30 and give shot of 3 units of Lantus.
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53 Advise Please

hi Kim,

you definitely don't have the data to give a shot at that low a number. Unless he goes up a lot by +12 (which can happen), I probably wouldn't shoot tonight. Then I would re-start tomorrow at a lower dose.

If a cat has been following the Tight Regulation protocol, we usually reduce the dose by 0.25 units once a cat goes below 50. Since you haven't been following the protocol and are just getting started testing, you might want to be more conservative than that. Spend a few days gathering data, and then we can help you interpret that data.
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53 Advise Please

Hi Kim,
Welcome to LantusLand.

I sent a private message to someone who lives in Sacramento. Maybe you will get a private message from them.


I agree with the skipping tonite.
Did you change any food today?
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53 Advise Please

I feed at 9:30 so should I feed then wait a while and test to see if numbers go up?
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53 Advise Please

No, haven't changed her food yet she is still getting 1/4 cup of Purina DM AM and PM. I started home testing because I want to start with low carb, wet diet.
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53, +12 52 Advise Pl

her number at +12 is 52 so I did her 9:30 feeding and did not give shot. Not giving shot makes me nervous.
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53, +12 52 Advise Pl

it's best to keep her safe. If she drops below 50 ( 49 is low enough) she gets a dose reduction.
She's so very close to that already.

If you had shot... you could be up all night trying to keep her up with gravy- high carb or karo/honey.
This is why testing is so important.... and you are getting that lesson immediately as you begin testing her bg.

I am so glad you are willing to test now.
As you get more data ( more tests) and learn her patterns, you will be able to shoot low numbers soon.... but you really need that data first.

Perhaps one of us could help you start your spreadsheet like the rest of us have. ( I 'm not good at setting those up myself)
It's helpful for you and for us to advise.
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53, +12 52 Advise Pl

Hang in there! We know skipping is scary and she will go up by morning, but it is the best way to keep Beast safe. Lantus has a reserve in the body and it is probably over full right now. You need to let it drain a little.

Eventually you will have enough info to shoot low, just not yet.
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53, +12 52 Advise Pl

Hi Kim & Beast! Welcome to Lantus Land! I'm a Newbie & can't advise on dosing, but I can say you've found a great place & members with much experience. They've helped us immensely!

I understand skipping a dose is scary, but I agree, its safer for Beast at that low a number. Most (all?) people here won't dose below 50 for safety reasons, and those numbers were very close & dropping, so that is why you received that advice. You also don't have alot of testing data yet to show / support how Beast reacts to low BG numbers. Experienced members use that information to help advise you in these situations.

I hope you earn your dose reduction today!
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53, +12 52 Advise Pl

I'm also just stopping by to say "welcome!" Wow...great catch with those numbers! I agree, safety first! Shooting that low without knowing how Beast responds is risky, but before you know it, you'll have the data you need to not have to skip shots.

Just a quick question...has she been on the 3 units since May 2012, or did you mean May 2013?

Once again, welcome aboard, and keep asking questions!
 
Re: 8/13 Beast - New Member +10 56, +11 53, +12 52 Advise Pl

Hi Amy, Beast has been on the 3 units of Lantus since May 2012 little over a year now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top