8/12 Zener PMPS 345;+2 328;+4 262 Bean ER ATtrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/11/11

08/11/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 329, s1.75u, moved shot forward 15 minutes, fed 1t. 9%, not very interested in food this morning
+1, licked fortiflora off his 11% and took a bite or two
+2 317, fed 2t. 10%, eating a little better
+7 286, ate 1t. 10%
+10 248
PMPS 192, 3rd cycle at s1.75u, fed 3t. 11% carbs
+1 166, fed 2t. 18% carbs
+2 157, fed 1/2t. 19% carbs
+3 152, fed 1t. 19% carbs
+7.5 103, fed 2t 15%, 3 semi soft treats
+10 139

Today's bean emergency
Zener's other bean, Liz, has been having some heart rhythm problems and this morning we had to go to the emergency room. We did not get an AMPS and did not give a shot because we had to get to the ER. Liz wanted to wait until we got his BG and gave him his shot and he was was not interested in eating. I said we couldn't wait, and we could just consider it a furr shot. The last BG we had was +10 after his PMPS and he did go pretty low last night. I also fed him pretty high carb through the night.

We just got home from the hospital about 4 hours after when we would have given him a shot and I checked his BG, so this would be AMBG +16, AND IT IS 98!! I am at a loss as to how this could be happening and really at a loss as to what to consider doing tonight with an injection? He did eat about 2 t of 11% carb food. Should I keep testing each hour? Any help is appreciated. It is pretty crazy at our house right now.
 
Re: 8/12/11 Zener AMGB +16 98 No AM shot Bean emergency HELP

How about getting a test in at about 2 hours before when you want to shoot. If you want to move Zener's shot time, today would be a good day to move it since with a skipped shot, you can shoot whenever you want.

Is Liz OK?
 
Re: 8/12/11 Zener AMGB +16 98 No AM shot Bean emergency HELP

without a shot for more than 12 hours i don't think you need to worry that he's going to go hypoglycemic, if that's what you're thinking.

hope everything's ok with liz!
 
Re: 8/12/11 Zener AMGB +16 98 No AM shot Bean emergency HELP

Sienne and Gabby said:
How about getting a test in at about 2 hours before when you want to shoot. If you want to move Zener's shot time, today would be a good day to move it since with a skipped shot, you can shoot whenever you want.

Ok, we'll get a test in a few minutes, 2 hours before we would like to shoot, then start a new time tonight back on our work schedules.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Is Liz OK?

Well, she is home. We were at the ER for about 4 hours. Most of her tests were normal but she continues to have a persistent irregular heartbeat. She is now wearing a monitor for 48 hours to keep a record of it, then we see the cardiologist next week. Very nerve-wracking for all of us!
 
Re: 8/12/11 Zener AMGB +16 98 No AM shot Bean emergency HELP

julie1220 said:
without a shot for more than 12 hours i don't think you need to worry that he's going to go hypoglycemic, if that's what you're thinking.

hope everything's ok with liz!

Thanks Julie, we were pretty darn shocked to see a green number as we were expecting him to go sky high without a shot. Any explanation for why he dropped again, and without a shot? He didn't eat much this morning, but then I didn't have time to chase him around since we were going to the ER! Thanks for your reassurance he won't go hypo!
 
Re: 8/12/11 Zener AMGB +16 98 No AM shot Bean emergency HELP

Hi Anne and Liz

First, we send prayers and healing vines for Liz. I'm sure you both must have been very scared. I hope it is only an arrhythmia because they can give meds for that. Please keep us posted.

It will be so interesting to see what Zener is doing late in his cycle today without any insulin. What a great number at +16.

Sorry I haven't been able to keep up with Zener this week but thanks for visiting Gracie.
 
Re: 8/12/11 Zener AMGB +16 98 No AM shot Bean emergency HELP

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hi Anne and Liz

First, we send prayers and healing vines for Liz. I'm sure you both must have been very scared. I hope it is only an arrhythmia because they can give meds for that. Please keep us posted.
Thank you. It was very scary. That is two trips to our local ER in 3 weeks, not a good habit. So far, it looks like an arrhythmia and she is on a monitor for 48 hours, seeing a cardiologist next week for further testing.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
It will be so interesting to see what Zener is doing late in his cycle today without any insulin. What a great number at +16.

He was 146 @ +17, 301 @ +20. We plan to test again in 2 hours and shoot 2 hours early tonight to get back on our work schedules, when we go back week after next. He hasn't eaten but a couple of teaspoons of food so far today.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Sorry I haven't been able to keep up with Zener this week but thanks for visiting Gracie.
No worries, we all have busy times that aren't related to FD, thank goodness! I've been keeping up with Gracie and really enjoying reading about all the good foods your guest prepared. I'm still are a very bland and boring post-gall bladder surgery diet.

I'll get caught up on Zener's SS and posts shortly. Thanks again!
 
Re: 8/12/11 Zener AMGB +16 98;+17 146;+20 301 Bean ER ATtrak

It's possible that the drop was due to a sputtering pancreas. If Zener ate, even just a little, his pancreas may have kicked in and produced some insulin in response to the food. That's my best explanation. The other explanation is, he's a cat. It's his job to keep you confused.
 
Re: 8/12/11 Zener AMGB +16 98;+17 146;+20 301 Bean ER ATtrak

Sienne and Gabby said:
It's possible that the drop was due to a sputtering pancreas. If Zener ate, even just a little, his pancreas may have kicked in and produced some insulin in response to the food. That's my best explanation. The other explanation is, he's a cat. It's his job to keep you confused.

I love both of your explanations! He did eat a tiny bit before we left for the ER. And he is most definitely a cat, and does an excellent job keeping us confused!
:dizcat

Thanks for the explanations. I'll update my subject line with his new information in a few minutes.
 
Re: 8/12/11 Zener PMPS 345 Bean ER ATtrak

Today's summary
08/12/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 139 (actually was his +10 from the last cycle, we didn't get an actual AMPS/BG because we had to go to the ER
AMBG +16 98 (we got this right after getting home from the ER, he may have eaten a little bit, less than 1 t while we were gone)
+17 146
+20 301 - gave 1/2 cypro, no appetite and not eating all morning
PMPS 345, s1.75u 4th cycle at this dose, not counting the missed shot cycle this morning, ate 2t 11% carbs

Gosh, as if we didn't have enough stress already....two trips for the beans to the ER in 3 weeks is not recommended! Liz is wearing a halter monitor for 48 hours to monitor her irregular heartbeats, then to the cardiologist Thursday. It will be a long week waiting for that visit. nailbite_smile

Meanwhile Zener did his best while we were away to fool the bejezus out of us by having a green number when we got home, go figure! I like Sienne's explanation - "he's a cat, it's his job to confuse us". We will also focus on perhaps a sputter every now and then from Mr P. Maybe that is why we see him all over the place sometimes, a visit from Mr P.

We took advantage of the missed shot and the higher PM numbers to shoot him early tonight, and moved him up 2 hours to get on our work schedules. That is one good thing that came out of today's chaos. Thanks to all for the healing wishes and great information.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/12 Zener PMPS 345;+2 328 Bean ER ATtrak

08/12/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 139 (actually was his +10 from the last cycle, we didn't get an actual AMPS/BG because we had to go to the ER
AMBG +16 98 (we got this right after getting home from the ER, he may have eaten a little bit, less than 1 t while we were gone)
+17 146
+20 301 - gave 1/2 cypro, no appetite and not eating all morning
PMPS 345, s1.75u 4th cycle at this skinny dose, not counting the missed shot cycle this morning, ate 2t 11% carbs
+1, ate 1t. 11% carbs
+2 328, 2t. 11% carbs

The appetite stimulant is working and he is eating. We had gone for an entire week without using it and were hopeful he was on the upswing with his appetite. Today's stresses were hard on all of us! I'll get another test @ +3, then we all need some sleep, it has been a very anxious day.
 
08/12/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 139 (actually was his +10 from the last cycle, we didn't get an actual AMPS/BG because we had to go to the ER
AMBG +16 98 (we got this right after getting home from the ER, he may have eaten a little bit, less than 1 t while we were gone)
+17 146
+20 301 - gave 1/2 cypro, no appetite and not eating all morning
PMPS 345, s1.75u 4th cycle at this skinny dose, not counting the missed shot cycle this morning, ate 2t 11% carbs
+1, ate 1t. 11% carbs
+2 328, 2t. 11% carbs
+4 262, 3t 11% carbs

Leaving medium carb food out and headed to bed. It's been a anxiety producing day, not like we needed anymore of that! Zener is feeling good, despite his pinks and no AM shot. Good night all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top