? 8/12 Xena AMPS 234 (any other cats on such high doses?)….PMPS 282

Don & Xena

Member Since 2023
Haven’t been posting consistently so much going on. Figured I should post some kind of an update. So we had some blue numbers back on 8/1, 8/2 and some glucometer discrepancies. What I found out was that the batch of strips I had opened were reading too low. So unfortunately, we weren’t making the progress that it looked like. She is at 11.5 units now. still hanging out in the yellows with an occasional low pink. Just feels like going in circles. Work is so busy money is so tight. I really need to get her to the vet. Try to get those acro and insulin resistance tests. Otherwise I’m just continually increasing her.?
I sometimes wonder if her numbers would be any different if she was on the no insulin at all. When we started, before she was insulin, she was in the high 200s.

I did get a timed auto feeder , so that we’re not unable to all leave the house for the day, which we will be doing today.

Are there anyone else’s cats on real high doses like this?






Previous post from 8/2:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-2-xena-amps-190-3-5-239-6-268-pmps-285.280120/
 
Last edited:
When you get over 10 units, increases should be by 1.0 units at a time. Think of the increase as about 10-15% of the total dose. Resistance needs a hammer, not a lovetap.

I'm trying to think of active posters whose cats got to around where Xena is now. Mr. Kitty (see his spreadsheet) was one, his caregiver @FrostD comes on occasionally, but not as much now that he's OTJ from cabergoline, plus she has a new human addition to the family. I can point you to lots of cat's spreadsheets on much higher doses, but not many that are currently posting. @Howiesmom is another, on quite a bit higher dose, here is Howie's spreadsheet. Howie's is a good one to look at, a sea of mostly yellow for the longest time - go back to 2020.

Is there anything in particular you are looking for a cat with higher doses? Xena's dose isn't particularly high compared to some at this point, if she has acromegaly.
 
Back
Top