8/12 Smores AMPS 71 +4-63 - Quickly going OTJ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and S'mores

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone.

Smores seems to be very quickly weaning himself off of Lantus.The only advie on this that I see in the protocol is:
"Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely"

I'm not sure that I can dot that! I'm having enough trouble trying to do 0.25 in any sort of consistant way.

On a related question, I cannot test during the day during the week, so I've been a bit conservative about what dose I shoot. I'm assuming that at these doses, there is much less risk of hypoglycemia? If the risk is still high, I would probably need to go OTJ sooner b/c I cannot monitor. I will get a curve today and tomorrow.

Did I mention that we're all grinning from ear to ear around here? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/12 Smores AMPS 71 - Quickly going OTJ???

nice! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

At this point, my advice would be to hold the 0.25 dose for as long as you can. We try for at least a week on a dose, unless he goes too low. The idea is to be sure he is well stabilized on one dose before reducing, and also to give his pancreas support (in the form of insulin) for as long as possible. Weaning off insulin slowly seems to give the best chance of a remission that sticks. Think of it as gradually removing the training wheels until he doesn't even realize he is flying solo.

There is little chance of symptomatic hypo on these low doses, but we do see cats who get low numbers. What you can do to make yourself more comfortable is when he gets a low number, instead of rushing right for the high carb food, give a tsp. or two of low carb and test in 20-30 minutes. For most cats, a dab of low carb is enough to overcome this small amount of insulin and bring the numbers back up. Knowing that he can bring himself up with his regular food will go a long way toward making you feel comfortable that he is safe when you're not home. Also observe him when you are home - if he is low, does he feel it and go to the food dish by himself?

Here is a picture of 0.25, to help you measure it. Some good reading glasses can help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top