8/12 Shooter AMPS 409

Hi Heather. Looks like a bounce. I'll never understand why they bounce so many cycles after green. Maybe it was the blues from yesterday. I know your frustration. Wish they were more predictable. Have a great day.
 
Ok who are medicine people? @Suzanne & Darcy @Bandit's Mom @Marje and Gracie @tiffmaxee

As you know I THINK I'm partly struggling with Shooter's bg's because of the liquid clavamox. Pretty sure it has sugar in it because when I tasted it myself it was very sweet. I found pack of one year old tablets of Clavamox in my cupboard from a different kitty. I stopped giving it to him because he had such severe diarrhea. Well now I can't help but wonder if the dose was too high for him. Louie only weighed 10 lbs and they had me giving 125mg tablets twice a day. Doesn't matter now, that's in the past, but is it too old/expired to give to Shooter?
 
Ok who are medicine people? @Suzanne & Darcy @Bandit's Mom @Marje and Gracie @tiffmaxee

As you know I THINK I'm partly struggling with Shooter's bg's because of the liquid clavamox. Pretty sure it has sugar in it because when I tasted it myself it was very sweet. I found pack of one year old tablets of Clavamox in my cupboard from a different kitty. I stopped giving it to him because he had such severe diarrhea. Well now I can't help but wonder if the dose was too high for him. Louie only weighed 10 lbs and they had me giving 125mg tablets twice a day. Doesn't matter now, that's in the past, but is it too old/expired to give to Shooter?
The sealed foil package that it comes in should have an expiration date on it. 62.5 mg. Is the usual dose for a cat.
 
I never throw my excess clavamox away. It has been a life saver many times for me with other cats in the household/rescue cats. It lasts a long time at room temperature in the sealed foil package.
 
So if you cut the 125 mg in half and wrap up the remaining half, it will be fine. Just re-wrap it or put it in a tiny piece of foil because moisture in the air can make it get goopy.
 
As you know I THINK I'm partly struggling with Shooter's bg's because of the liquid clavamox. Pretty sure it has sugar in it because when I tasted it myself it was very sweet. I found pack of one year old tablets of Clavamox in my cupboard from a different kitty. I stopped giving it to him because he had such severe diarrhea. Well now I can't help but wonder if the dose was too high for him. Louie only weighed 10 lbs and they had me giving 125mg tablets twice a day. Doesn't matter now, that's in the past, but is it too old/expired to give to Shooter?
If the liquid clavamox has sugar in it, that could be the culprit. Also a combination of a bounce/pain/inflammation after the dental.
My vet recommended 125mg twice a day for Bandit but that's twice the dose for a cat and she had an awful reaction to it - vomitting and just stopped eating.

Also possible he needs more insulin. He didn't earn a reduction from 2U.
 
What was your cat prescribed the Clavamox for? I’m just wondering because that is the maximum dose and only used under certain circumstances- and also for very large cats. How much does Shooter weigh?
 
What was your cat prescribed the Clavamox for? I’m just wondering because that is the maximum dose and only used under certain circumstances- and also for very large cats. How much does Shooter weigh?

Id have to look back at the paperwork but I think Louie had a UTI at the time. He was 14 & about 10lbs. It made him feel so sick.

Shooter is also 14 but he’s a big boy 17 - 18lbs.
 
Id have to look back at the paperwork but I think Louie had a UTI at the time. He was 14 & about 10lbs. It made him feel so sick.

Shooter is also 14 but he’s a big boy 17 - 18lbs.
Dose for a UTI is 12.5 - 25 mg per kg of body weight for a UTI every 12 hours. So it seems like Louie was way overdosed. If Shooter is that big he could probably take more, but I would check with my vet if it were me. You can also check his current dose of the liquid and convert the mLs to milligrams for comparison.
 
Dose for a UTI is 12.5 - 25 mg per kg of body weight for a UTI every 12 hours. So it seems like Louie was way overdosed. If Shooter is that big he could probably take more, but I would check with my vet if it were me. You can also check his current dose of the liquid and convert the mLs to milligrams for comparison.

Shooter is currently taking 1mL of liquid, so if I looked at things correctly that is the same as 62.5mg. I did go ahead and cut a 125mg tablet in half and gave it to him tonight. We'll see what happens...
 
Shooter is currently taking 1mL of liquid, so if I looked at things correctly that is the same as 62.5mg. I did go ahead and cut a 125mg tablet in half and gave it to him tonight. We'll see what happens...
Why is he on Clavamox? Clindamycin is a better post-dental antibiotic. It also doesn’t have any sugar although I’m having to give Clavamox liquid right now and mine doesn’t have any sugar in it.
 
Why is he on Clavamox? Clindamycin is a better post-dental antibiotic. It also doesn’t have any sugar although I’m having to give Clavamox liquid right now and mine doesn’t have any sugar in it.

Marje, I should have tagged you in all my other posts. I thought you knew he had a dental on Monday. Is your Clavamox sweet? I don't know how mine can be so sweet without having added sugar. ?
 
Shooter is currently taking 1mL of liquid, so if I looked at things correctly that is the same as 62.5mg. I did go ahead and cut a 125mg tablet in half and gave it to him tonight. We'll see what happens...
And Clav can be given with
Why is he on Clavamox? Clindamycin is a better post-dental antibiotic. It also doesn’t have any sugar although I’m having to give Clavamox liquid right now and mine doesn’t have any sugar in it.
Yes I was also surprised that they didn’t prescribe Antirobe for both pre- and post dental. Also, it would avoid the GI upset that Clavamox causes in some cats. I really didn’t want to bring it up since Shooter had already started the Clav and seemed to be doing okay on it. Clav can be used for dental infections, but it’s my understanding that Antirobe (clindamycin) is quite specifically effective against the type of bacteria found in the mouth. But by now, Heather, how many days of antibiotic do you even have left to go?
 
And Clav can be given with

Yes I was also surprised that they didn’t prescribe Antirobe for both pre- and post dental. Also, it would avoid the GI upset that Clavamox causes in some cats. I really didn’t want to bring it up since Shooter had already started the Clav and seemed to be doing okay on it. Clav can be used for dental infections, but it’s my understanding that Antirobe (clindamycin) is quite specifically effective against the type of bacteria found in the mouth. But by now, Heather, how many days of antibiotic do you even have left to go?

Uh! These vets! They all definitely have their own opinions, huh? You'd think there would be a more universal treatment for the same procedures.

As far as the Clav goes, I'm really not sure. The box of liquid says "until gone" and the bottle says it's 15mL, so with giving 2mL a day that would be about 7 days. His dental was Monday so thru next Monday.
 
Yes. I was thinking maybe 7 days since it was really for a phrophylactic purpose, just to prevent an infection after the dental. I hope he’s doing great!

I've been doing a lot of research about felines and dentals... this was in one article, "Apr 09, 2018 · The risk of kidney disease was found to be significantly higher in cats with any stage of periodontal disease than in control cats. For cats with stage 3-4 dental disease, the risks of kidney disease were 1.5 times that of cats without dental disease." Why do vets not talk about this to parents when the pets are young?
 
Marje, I should have tagged you in all my other posts. I thought you knew he had a dental on Monday. Is your Clavamox sweet? I don't know how mine can be so sweet without having added sugar. ?
I did know but I’ve been dealing with my little girl having a ruptured anal gland this week and it’s been a little crazy. I didn’t know if they gave him Clavamox for something else. I have looked all over the internet and cannot find any sugars or sweeteners listed as occurring in Clavamox. Mine has a faintly sweet taste to it but nothing that I would think, “wow, that’s sugar”. I can’t even find anywhere that it states it has flavoring to make it palatable to pets.

Clavamox is a good, broad spectrum antibiotic that can be widely used but, as Suzanne and I agree, normally for dental issues, they use Clindamycin.
 
I did know but I’ve been dealing with my little girl having a ruptured anal gland this week and it’s been a little crazy. I didn’t know if they gave him Clavamox for something else. I have looked all over the internet and cannot find any sugars or sweeteners listed as occurring in Clavamox. Mine has a faintly sweet taste to it but nothing that I would think, “wow, that’s sugar”. I can’t even find anywhere that it states it has flavoring to make it palatable to pets.

Clavamox is a good, broad spectrum antibiotic that can be widely used but, as Suzanne and I agree, normally for dental issues, they use Clindamycin.

Oh well, hopefully his little mouth heals up just fine and there are no other issues. Sure wish his bouncing would stop but that's the life of FD. :rolleyes:
 
I've been doing a lot of research about felines and dentals... this was in one article, "Apr 09, 2018 · The risk of kidney disease was found to be significantly higher in cats with any stage of periodontal disease than in control cats. For cats with stage 3-4 dental disease, the risks of kidney disease were 1.5 times that of cats without dental disease." Why do vets not talk about this to parents when the pets are young?
I don’t understand it either. Do they really get so busy that they just don’t feel like they have time to go into this stuff with people. I had a vet tell me one time that most of his clients didn’t really want to spend much money on their cat’s health. He also said that this was why it wasn’t worth it to go through the approval process for having drugs approved for cats (usually they do the dog med approval process.). Also, I once had a vet tell me that their veterinary practice magazines stressed that they should spend no more than 15 minutes with each pet/client for an office visit if they wanted to make money. This is not meant to be vet bashing either. They have a really hard job that is in many ways much harder than a human doctor. I’m just speculating on why they don’t educate their clients more.
 
Back
Top