8/12 Shadow PMPS 115 +3~72 +5~71

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/12 Shadow AMPS 96

Good green AMPS for Shadow :mrgreen:
How are the new syringes vs. the Kroger ones, what differences have you noticed? We will be restocking soon, just wondering about trying new or continuing with the familiar ones, especially for small doses.
Leslie
 
Re: 8/12 Shadow AMPS 96 +2~106 still chowing on breakfast

I wasn't getting food spikes before. Now we are, along with the inversion you just mentioned,
What does that indicate?

Actually, look closer. You were getting food spikes before. Not every cycle but you did get them. That happens...just like nadirs shifting, sometimes they get food spikes, sometimes they don't.

An inverted curve is when the PSs are lowest and the nadir is the highest number in the curve. Inverted curves can be seen from too much insulin, too little insulin, or a late nadir. If the kitty has gone up and down the dosing scale according to protocol, it is extremely unlikely that an inverted curve is due to too much insulin and typically an inverted curve from too much insulin would have a much higher nadir than the PS.....not just a minor variation. We don't usually get too concerned about inverted curves unless kitty is solid green and looks like he/she is ready to go OTJ. Even then, it wouldn't necessarily be considered too much insulin unless the lows are TOO low.

I think the best place to look for more info is the Think Tank. You might find something more there.
 
Re: 8/12 Shadow AMPS 96 +2~106 +5~95

I also notice +6 isn't our lowest point.
Does that have to do with our invertedness?


i'm trying to figure out what other ways I can fine tune.
 
Re: 8/12 Shadow AMPS 96 +2~106 +5~95 +9~88

Rhiannon, Thanks for your syringe comparision and the link. We may try the Terumos to make it easier to manage itty bitty doses.
Have a nice evening!
 
Re: 8/12 Shadow AMPS 96 +2~106 +5~95

rhiannon and shadow said:
I also notice +6 isn't our lowest point.
Does that have to do with our invertedness?
i'm trying to figure out what other ways I can fine tune.

No...nadirs move around and she's pretty flat in many respects. IMHO, I'd just leave it alone right now and let her do what she will do....she's leading this dance beautifully. :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/12 Shadow PMPS 115

I was already starting that thought. I was comparing Jasper's start and then his first dose drop, he had the blues ever so often too.
It looks like it just needs a few cycles to play out (imho) and of course , it NEEDS a bean who can be consistent with
the shot giving and measuring.

I noticed several are bailing on the terumo's.
I haven't noticed any "premature shooting" ( polite term)
I like the fact it slides easier without dragging. And the needles are dragging into her skin either.
I am using the hold it with your thumb and other fingers and use the trigger finger to plunge like a dart method.

What is affecting me is pushing forward when my cat stops eating, turns to my hand and hisses while I'm injecting or just about to.
That makes me shaky and doubt myself . Am I stabbing her in a bad spot or is it just the sting of lantus and the coldness?
She's so very hypersensitive to touch.
So every time I inject her, I have to smell the spot that I shot to make sure it's inside and not on the outside.

She was acting hypersensitive before the diagnosis.
In the mornings when I woke up with her next to me ( usually when I slept in), i would wake up and reach over and touch
her and she often would attack my hand.
Does diabetes make their nerve endings oversensitive?

And then over in the think tank I discover a thread about "can you go too low in carbs" just as I was thinking I should try to
focus on even lower than 5%.

So .... I'm going to just try to hold course and see what happens just as we are.
phew....
 
Re: 8/12 Shadow PMPS 115

Good luck with the dose Rhiannon! They love to confuse us, dont they? :mrgreen:
Nice blue PS, Shadow! Come down into the green!
 
Re: 8/12 Shadow AMPS 96 +2~106 still chowing on breakfast

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I wasn't getting food spikes before. Now we are, along with the inversion you just mentioned,
What does that indicate?

Actually, look closer. You were getting food spikes before. Not every cycle but you did get them. That happens...just like nadirs shifting, sometimes they get food spikes, sometimes they don't.

An inverted curve is when the PSs are lowest and the nadir is the highest number in the curve. Inverted curves can be seen from too much insulin, too little insulin, or a late nadir. If the kitty has gone up and down the dosing scale according to protocol, it is extremely unlikely that an inverted curve is due to too much insulin and typically an inverted curve from too much insulin would have a much higher nadir than the PS.....not just a minor variation. We don't usually get too concerned about inverted curves unless kitty is solid green and looks like he/she is ready to go OTJ. Even then, it wouldn't necessarily be considered too much insulin unless the lows are TOO low.

I think the best place to look for more info is the Think Tank. You might find something more there.

Nadir definition:
The lowest point on a blood glucose curve, often considered the same as the peak of insulin activity. Some UK medical websites speak of this as the trough glucose measurement.

Nadir is the lowest point in any curve, always.


Curve showing possible reaction of insulin
Example :
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Many cats do NOT follow the above example.... one of my cats would have numbers steadily climb from shot time to about +5 and only then, did I see numbers dropping. Quite often, I would see nadir, the lowest point, around +10 or +11.

ETA: therefore you could well see that the ps is also the nadir!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top