8/12 Newman AMPS 135, stall, 138 , no shot. PMPS 381, shot 2.25., 247@ + 4

I did get yellow (230) after the stall, so I thought it would be recommended and be safe to stay with the 2.25 dose. At any rate, at this point I feel better getting the bump or bounce after the shot and after he had eaten. Would you have suggested a reduced dose?

It is impossible for me to leave a snack unless I separate/seclude the cats from each other. Ozzie will eat every morsel, literately swallowing dry food whole as it hits the floor. I will get another test before bed and worst case I will just have to stay up. The only dry food I have is Dr Elsey's, so being low carb, it probably wouldn't help would it? @Suzanne & Darcy
Well just get that test if you can before bed. I was really just thinking of what might be done if Newman would not cooperate with testing.
 
Well just get that test if you can before bed. I was really just thinking of what might be done if Newman would not cooperate with testing.
I have never tried the duck or rabbit. I have the chicken and turkey and use mostly the turkey because like you mentioned, the chicken is messier.

Ozzie will eat anything. Believe me when I say he swallows dry food whole. There is never the sound of him crunching even the hardest pieces.

Good point that the dry food stays with them longer so it may draw out the influence. I learn something new everyday.

I posted the last test I got at +2.5 and it is still going up. What is that?!
 
Never a bother! He's looking very nice at this dose.

That said, consider an increase. I would like to see nadirs closer to 100, and am a little "concerned" numbers are creeping up on you a bit (very normal).

You've got a lot of different factors to weigh, so of course absolutely no pressure at all. For consistency's sake, you might want to define your own criteria for an increase. Such as, if you haven't seen anything under 150 for X number of days, or whatever number you're comfortable with.
 
Never a bother! He's looking very nice at this dose.

That said, consider an increase. I would like to see nadirs closer to 100, and am a little "concerned" numbers are creeping up on you a bit (very normal).

You've got a lot of different factors to weigh, so of course absolutely no pressure at all. For consistency's sake, you might want to define your own criteria for an increase. Such as, if you haven't seen anything under 150 for X number of days, or whatever number you're comfortable with.

The thought of an increase has crossed my mind. I know there is a question or two in doing that. Let me think about it tomorrow and organize my thoughts. I'd like to get back to you.
 
Well I think he answered the increase question! I don't think he went too low last night, as he seems to stay pretty flat when he starts lower. Im hesitant to say reduce because I think you'd lose a little.progress, but again it's up to you to weigh everything and determine what is best for the two of you.
 
Would I be right in assuming that I go back to the usual evening routine? Feed, wait 2 hours to test and then shoot somewhat based on that number? @FrostD @Suzanne & Darcy

Edit to add:
Melissa, I see that you had already addressed this in an earlier post. I was reviewing and reading this thread.
 
Last edited:
Would I be right in assuming that I go back to the usual evening routine? Feed, wait 2 hours to test and then shoot somewhat based on that number? @FrostD @Suzanne & Darcy

Edit to add:
Melissa, I see that you had already addressed this in an earlier post. I was reviewing and reading this thread.
Aack! A pink. This is why I would have preferred a reduced dose this morning to no shot at all. But it’s data and all data in this case is good data. I would not change anything at this point and I believe Melissa was in agreement with that. He should be ready for the 2.25 units tonight.
 
Aack! A pink. This is why I would have preferred a reduced dose this morning to no shot at all. But it’s data and all data in this case is good data. I would not change anything at this point and I believe Melissa was in agreement with that. He should be ready for the 2.25 units tonight.

I do hear you and for me, in hindsight, I should have given him some dose of insulin. Again, I was looking at the SLGS guidance and since he was still below 150 after stalling, it directs no insulin. Since he was so close to the 150-200 range at 138 and considering his reaction to no insulin, a token dose of 10-25% of the usual dose per the guideline would have been a safe choice. I figure that would have been .25 - .50 units. Am I figuring that right?

I'm first to admit that I'm not good at these judgement calls. That's why I keep going back to the "book." I hope that I can improve and feel more confident as obviously I see these numbers will always fluctuate. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
I am sure he would have been fine with 1 unit. The guidelines are good - but as you gather data on your own cat, you can infer from what you know of past experience to make decisions more suited to Newman. No stress though. It’s good data to help with future decisions. ❤️ Okay?
 
Having said that, if you had given only.25 or .5 units — as long as you tried to gather data to see what happens, it would not be a total waste of time.

Yes, I should have given some amount of insulin, even .5 units. I will make a note of that for next time.

And thanks for your kind words.
 
Yes, I should have given some amount of insulin, even .5 units. I will make a note of that for next time.

And thanks for your kind words.
Linda, you are doing great. Seriously. It takes time. I doubt I would do as well as you in the same circumstances. I am just glad we are around for you to bounce things off of, but you are calling the shots.
 
Back
Top