8/12 Muffin amps 117 +2 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22130

Good morning LL!
Sorry couldnt get any more readings on the pm cycle, I just woke up in time for shot. I gave her f.5 this morning because, well, after several attempts that was the only amt I could get in the syringe lol. Muffin's working on breffis right now, all P's in place (I think - LB is hard to tell who's doing what in which one). We have vetty bean this afternoon for shots (SHHH!! don't tell her!)

I bought a ReliOn Micro meter yesterday and have been using both for these last few tests and wow, the numbers are really different. So I'll let you know when I am using that meter (probably tomorrow) cause I'll need a lot of help interpreting the numbers and what they mean.

Thanks everyone and have a great day.
 
Re: 8/12 Muffin amps 117

They're all alpha trak numbers at this point, I will make a note on there when I change to ReliOn numbers.
 
+4 132 just before leaving for vet +5 121 just after getting home from vet, so doesn't seem to have affected her too much, even tho she was visibly shaking while there, poor kitty.

Also, I would just like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude for this board and all it's members. I'm SOOO glad I found this place. I took a printout of the Queensland Protocol to the vet today and she was grateful to have it - said it was more complete and updated than what she had. She thanked me for passing along all of the information I have gotten from you wonderful people. She said that I am helping THEM manage FD and they are passing the info along to other sugar kitty families. Since it's not really ME helping, but all of YOU, I wanted to pass along the gratitude, and give credit where credit is due!

So thanks again from Sacramento!
 
Hi Anne. I found that the Relion gave slightly higher numbers, than my Presto. Not enough to care, unless you are right at the edge of a color change. A green 99, just looks better than a blue 1o4. :lol:
 
That's interesting Barb, my ReliOn is giving me WAY LOWER numbers than the AlphaTrak. AT 130 = ReliOn 81; AT 75 = ReliOn 47. This is why I'm worried about just using the ReliOn for the next several days - I may be flipping out over low numbers for nothing.
 
Well, you will be remembering that the Alpha Track would show a higher number so maybe you won't panic too much. You will get used to using just the one eventually.

And I wanted to say that it sounds as if you have found a wonderful vet!!! I envy you really! Do you know how many people have been told to stop testing their kitty and do it the vet's way? (among other horrid things!)
You are lucky to be going to such an open and wonderful vet. And just think, by you sharing that with them, they will now be helping other kitties! GREAT job Anne!! :thumbup
Muffin is looking sooo good! I envy you again! :mrgreen:
 
it's noted in the Queensland protocol that the AlphaTrak tends to read higher than the human glucometers. It's ok, as long as you base your dosing decisions on the meter you're using. The range you're aiming to be in most of the time on human meters is about 50-100, and the range for AlphaTrak is about 80-130.

Hopefully today's numbers are mostly vet stress. There could also be some bouncing from whatever happened last night.
 
What a great vet!

If you look at the 2 tables on the Rand/Queensland protocol, you'll see the first one is for human meters and the 2nd table is for the AlphaTrack. Like Libby said, the ranges are different with the AlphaTrack being a little higher. So what you're seeing on the Relion is to be expected.

What was going on with the syringe? When I've had a problem with the syringe (e.g., bubbles I couldn't get rid of or a "sticky" plunger), I've pitched the syringe and used a new one.
 
+8 143 The plunger was sticky - good idea to just get a new one out. I need to get a magnifying glass too! And yes, I love my vet, she's awesome.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top