8/12 Maxi AMPS 260 Increase Dose Tonight?

Hi Karen, glad to see Maxi doing so well!

Wendy is the high-dose person and she is away this week, as you must know. Any chance you remember her previous advice? Maxi is no longer new to greens so I am not sure the 10 cycles counting rule applies. On the other hand, he has gone as low as 54 on this dose on the 5th.

I am going to bump this post up and tag a few people and see if anyone can help you.

@Chris & China (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Hi Karen, glad to see Maxi doing so well!

Wendy is the high-dose person and she is away this week, as you must know. Any chance you remember her previous advice? Maxi is no longer new to greens so I am not sure the 10 cycles counting rule applies. On the other hand, he has gone as low as 54 on this dose on the 5th.

I am going to bump this post up and tag a few people and see if anyone can help you.

@Chris & China (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)


Thank you, Bhooma. Maxi's last increase per Wendy's advice was idiosyncratic. I.e., at this high dose, the standard increase is 1 unit, but the last increase was 0.5. I will increase to 15 units this morning per Chris's suggestion.
 
Maxi's last increase per Wendy's advice was idiosyncratic.
Regardless of what Maxi’s last dose increase was, I would have increased his dose today by 1u.

The reason is the same as why, unless a kitty is pretty much in green most of the time and the dose just needs fine-tuning, I recommend against just fattening the dose instead of taking a full 0.25u increase. Yes, the 0.5u increase last time got him into better numbers along with the use of R but if you’d done the 1u increase, you’d already be in a better place and you might find that you could back off using R.
 
Last edited:
Regardless of what Maxi’s last dose increase was, I would have increased his dose today by 1u.

The reason is the same as why, unless a kitty is pretty much in green most of the time and the dose just needs fine-tuning, I recommend against just fattening the dose instead of taking a full 0.25u increase. Yes, the 0.5u increase last time got him into better numbers along with the use of R but if you’d done the 1u increase, you’d already be in a better place and you might find that you could back off using R.

As I said, I was told that the standard increase for high dose cats is 1 unit; Wendy's recommendation of a 1/2 unit increase deviates from that standard, so it's idiosyncratic. I gladly and gratefully followed Wendy's advice on August 2 by increasing by 1/2 unit, from 14 to 14.5. I would have gladly and gratefully followed your advice today had I received it before increasing by only 1/2 unit. The disagreement about which increase is best leaves one uncertain.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
As I said, I was told that the standard increase for high dose cats is 1 unit; Wendy's recommendation of a 1/2 unit increase deviates from that standard, so it's idiosyncratic. I gladly and gratefully followed Wendy's advice on August 2 by increasing by 1/2 unit, from 14 to 14.5. I would have gladly and gratefully followed your advice today had I received it before increasing by only 1/2 unit.
You are correct and I made corrections. I did look for Wendy’s advice but, somehow missed it. There is no dosing advice from Wendy on August 2. I’ll look again on other dates.
73679C8C-2183-456C-800E-B6490BE3150F.png


ETA: I looked all the way back to 6/24 and did not find any dosing advice from Wendy regarding an increase of 0.5u.

The disagreement about which increase is best leaves one uncertain.
It shouldn’t. And I’m not sure if you mean the difference between Chris’s advice and mine or Wendy’s that I couldn’t find anywhere. I based my suggestion on:
  • Maxi’s SS
  • high dose dosing, in general, and specifically as it applies to the above
You also know what you can do and what you can’t. I understand you had some work schedule changes and so, perhaps, increasing by 1u gives you more concern in consideration of that schedule. Always with dosing advice here when you’ve got data and some experience under your belt, you read it, determine if it’s possible to do considering your life circumstances, make your decision. None of us will judge or be upset if you make a decision other than what we suggest. You hold the syringe. You know Maxi.

And I agree, since I don’t like dose hopping, in general, since you already increased by 0.5u, see how he does after six cycles and then decide.
 

Attachments

  • 73679C8C-2183-456C-800E-B6490BE3150F.png
    73679C8C-2183-456C-800E-B6490BE3150F.png
    300.4 KB · Views: 211
Last edited:
You are correct and I made corrections. I did look for Wendy’s advice but, somehow missed it. There is no dosing advice from Wendy on August 2. I’ll look again on other dates.
View attachment 55413

ETA: I looked all the way back to 6/24 and did not find any dosing advice from Wendy regarding an increase of 0.5u.


It shouldn’t. And I’m not sure if you mean the difference between Chris’s advice and mine or Wendy’s that I couldn’t find anywhere. I based my suggestion on:
  • Maxi’s SS
  • high dose dosing, in general, and specifically as it applies to the above
You also know what you can do and what you can’t. I understand you had some work schedule changes and so, perhaps, increasing by 1u gives you more concern in consideration of that schedule. Always with dosing advice here when you’ve got data and some experience under your belt, you read it, determine if it’s possible to do considering your life circumstances, make your decision. None of us will judge or be upset if you make a decision other than what we suggest. You hold the syringe. You know Maxi.

And I agree, since I don’t like dose hopping, in general, since you already increased by 0.5u, see how he does after six cycles and then decide.


Thank you!

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-2-maxi-amps-250.233108/
 
Back
Top