8/12 Maggie AMBG=47, 0=82, +.5=71, +1=106, +2=128, +4=128, +7=69, +9=93, PMPS=104, +3=94, +4=98

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't blame you for not shooting. You need to changed your AMPS to AMBG to reflect you didn't shoot. It will be interesting to see what her numbers do today with the skipped shot.
 
We've had a messy morning. After the nice poo at 4am she had diarrhea about 7:30am, then scooted her butt and tail through it in the box. :arghh: Got my husband up to help me rinse her down. Had to empty the whole box and pour a new one. Luckily I had some old litter because I didn't have much of my normal litter. She had a couple of small pees prior to the diarrhea, but I'm hoping that was because of the need to poo, and not some other issue.
Gave Maggie a treat and eventually she settled down for a nap.
 
I've been injecting .1 for 4 cycles. Does today's AMBG of 47 qualify for a reduction, which would bring us to no insulin?
I was wondering that too, but thought it would be good to see how she does today with the skipped shot. Some people go from 0.1 units to a drop of insulin. How do you measure your 0.1 unit? If it is the same thing as a drop, she may be ready for an OTJ trial.
 
I was wondering that too, but thought it would be good to see how she does today with the skipped shot. Some people go from 0.1 units to a drop of insulin. How do you measure your 0.1 unit? If it is the same thing as a drop, she may be ready for an OTJ trial.
It's just the thinnest sliver of space between the plunger and the zero mark, if that makes sense.
 
Tested a little early (still no food for the previous 2 hours) if that would help anyone give an opinion on if I shoot after having a 47 this morning. BG is 104.
 
When I measured a drop dose, I pressed the plunger in and held it as I inserted it into the pen. Then I left go of the plunger and let the suction draw some insulin into the syringe. Then I removed the syringe. I tested it to see if there was really any insulin there and it did come out as a drop.

It sounds like you are drawing more than a drop with your 0.1 unit dose. Maybe you should try the drop method and see how she does. We want her to have a strong remission.
 
Normally, when I see a kitty that is about to do a trial, their numbers are all green or pretty close to all green. If it is decided to try a drop of insulin, this is how I measured a drop. I would take the empty syringe and pressed the plunger in hard and while still keeping the pressure on the plunger insert the syringe into the insulin vial or pen and then once the syringe was inserted through the rubber stopper, release the pressure. That would put "some" insulin into the needle of the syringe. When you give the shot, it will feel like nothing was given, but there is a little insulin there.
 
wow Maggie is doing so well, I am so happy for you and Maggie. I can't comment on the OTJ trial cause Marvin was a different case, but I think maybe Maggie is getting close to that. It was so exciting when Marvin was giving just blues and greens. Way to go Maggie, stay safe and keep up with those healing BG numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top