8/12 Joplin PMPS: 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherylockholmes

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123372

Just tested joplin at 41!!! I fed him some FF gravy lovers (2 tablespoons). Was this the right thing to do at this number? Freaking out a little bit!

PS- Thank God for you guys...if I had listened to the Vet who told me to "hold his dose at 2u for at least 2 weeks" after leaving the Emergency Vet, Joplin would probably be dead by now. :!:
 
Re: 8/12 Joplin AMPS: 259; +3: 241; +8: 41 - ADVICE PLEASE

Breathe Cheryl! Good catch! :mrgreen: :o You did the right thing, although you could probably have done with 2 tsp instead of two tablespoons of gravy. I'd test again 1/2 hour after he ate and see if he's up. Keep feeding high carb and testing every 1/2 hour until he's up over 50. Here's a link to the Handling Low Numbers Sticky. It's always good to have that one printed off in case the power goes out. Once he's over 50 you'll still have to monitor every 1/2 hour to make sure he stays up. High carb food can wear off. If he's over 80, you can go to once an hour testing.

BTW, congrats on the reduction. Joplin's new dose is .75U. :-D
 
Re: 8/12 Joplin AMPS: 259; +3: 241; +8: 41 - ADVICE PLEASE

Wendy&Neko said:
Breathe Cheryl! Good catch! :mrgreen: :o You did the right thing, although you could probably have done with 2 tsp instead of two tablespoons of gravy. I'd test again 1/2 hour after he ate and see if he's up. Keep feeding high carb and testing every 1/2 hour until he's up over 50. Here's a link to the Handling Low Numbers Sticky. It's always good to have that one printed off in case the power goes out. Once he's over 50 you'll still have to monitor every 1/2 hour to make sure he stays up. High carb food can wear off. If he's over 80, you can go to once an hour testing.

BTW, congrats on the reduction. Joplin's new dose is .75U. :-D

Sigh, right after posting this I re-read that post about low numbers (I had read it before, but thought it said HIGH carb food in the 40's, but it says LOW carb). Oops. I just don't understand all the drastic drops. I thought Levemir was known for its smoother curve; it's one of the reasons I switched from Lantus! :cry:
 
Re: 8/12 Joplin AMPS: 259; +3: 241; +8: 41 - ADVICE PLEASE

High carb food is correct. From the sticky:
Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

Cats react differently to Levemir. We have others here on Levemir who also like to drop. :roll:
 
Re: 8/12 Joplin AMPS: 259; +3: 241; +8: 41 - ADVICE PLEASE

I think she's reading this part:

When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.

The difference here is that these instructions are more for when you're STALLING Cheryl...when you get a pre-shot in the 40's, not when you get a 40 at other times in the cycle

Now once you have more experience with how Joplin responds to carbs, you may find that a little LC food will bring him up safely...or you may find that you always need to use something MC or HC....this is where the information on your spreadsheet comes in very handy

Always jot down on your spreadsheet what you used..LC, MC or HC...it will help you later on in making these kinds of decisions

Great catch by the way!
 
Re: 8/12 Joplin AMPS: 259; +3: 241; +8: 41 - ADVICE PLEASE

The other difference is that +8 is not the end of the cycle for a Lev cat, but instead close to the nadir.
 
Re: 8/12 Joplin AMPS: 259; +3: 241; +8: 41 - ADVICE PLEASE

Ah, yes Chris that's what I was reading! Thanks for the clarification. He's 79 after 1 hour.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top