8/12 Harley: VET UPDATE #2 - It's cancer...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry and Harley

Member Since 2010
Good Morning-

Off to a rocky start for us this morning. I overslept again...the exhaustion is winning. The computer seems to have crashed overnight. Took 3-4 attempts at restarting it for it to actually turn on...super happy it's working now though.

She didn't come downstairs this morning, I had to go up and get her...really odd. I've been having a really hard time getting her little ear to bleed over the past few days. Took many tries this morning to get a reading. :sad: She's so tolerant though. Even with the reduction AND being 30 minutes late, we're still starting in the 50s.

I was doing a little bit of research last night. I'm still trying to sort out why I think something is wrong. Some of the things I've been seeing are: moving around in slow motion, not coming when called (she used to ALWAYS come if I called her), decreased chattiness, sometimes breathing looks like she's taking deep breaths (big breaths, you know?), significantly decreased appetite, and the thing that stands out the most is some sort of motor tic or involuntary muscle spasm....I was reading up on tremors last night and that seems to fit the best. I sat and just watched her A LOT last night, and I actually took a couple of videos of her. The 'tremors' (if that's what they are) are pretty constant. Mostly they are small, but occasionally she jerks her whole body. I can try to upload the video if anyone wants to see it. Does any of this sound familiar to anyone?

Anyhow, I will be calling the vet today. I'm going to be in San Jose all day (should have left 30 minutes ago, so I'm super late), which is 50 miles away. I won't be home until late tonight. It's worrisome because she's just not eating anymore...and we have yet another day where she's starting super low. I'm going to put out a few bowls of food upstairs and downstairs...I'm nervous about leaving her...

Yesterday's News

s
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58

(((((Sherry))))

I honestly don't know what to say.
I read last nite's posts, I agree getting her checked out when you can.

does she like seafood? maybe that will perk her appetite?


((((hugs))))
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +1=52

I don't know if this will be useful or not. Linda/Bear Man posted this video in her condo this past weekend. Bear has focal seizures. I'm not sure I can see the twitchiness -- or maybe I expected something more dramatic.

You could always post your video on Health. There are several vet techs who contribute on the Health board and they may be able to give you more insight into what you're observing.
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +1=52

What a gorgeous SS for Harley. Congratulations on the dosecrease!

I know how seeing long strings of low number can scare you. I too have felt I had to test when Tess was really low and am trying to learn to sit on my hands at times. Breathe, I hope the new dose gives you a surf in a more comfortable level. For you peace of mind I think the vet visit is a good idea.
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +1=52

Thanks for the link, Sienne. I see the twitching, right at the end...it looks all too familiar. Harley's rates are significantly higher than what I see in that clip... I am writing a post in health and uploading the video now.

Here come the tears... :cry:

s

Oh, I was able to get her to eat some of the higher carb food...don't care...just wanted her to eat.
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48

So, the vet never called me back today...I called 3-4 times. I have another call into the emergency hospital now, with the doctor that treated her first hypo incident. We'll see if he calls me...

Nothing new to report here. Pretty low for +10. I've been able to get her to eat a few times today by spoon feeding her. She's not getting up to look for food and is not attempting to eat food out of a bowl I put in front of her. She will eat if I feed her. She's just laying here on the couch twitching away....it's clearly getting worse.

If I don't get a call soon, I'm going to take her in. Ugh....regular vet couldn't call me, so now I'll pay double for emergency! It's so frustrating!!

s
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48

Sherry --

I would take her in. You'll feel better if you have some idea of what's going on. If it's an issue of potassium level, you shouldn't wait.
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48

(((sherry)))
i'm sorry your vet didn't call you back. hope the ER vet calls you soon.
if she's getting worse, she should probably be seen tonight...
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48

Ok. I just spoke to the hospital. He was alarmed at her BG and advised Karo syrup immediately. I kind of blew it off because she's always hovering with these low #s. But now I'm concerned again...I asked this the other day, but could this be related to her being so low for so long? Is a constant BG of 50-60 (with a few drops to the 40s) dangerous? I'm just wondering what the doc's response will be when I show him her #s...

Sorry...just a little panicky now...

s
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48

I wouldn't think that being in the 50's would hurt her, it's considered the normal range. It sounds like there is something going on, though. You're the only one who is there with her, so if you're worried then you might want to take her in.
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48

he's alarmed at her bg numbers because vets aren't used to seeing kitties surfing in such low numbers because of vet stress. 2 of my civvies normally test in the mid-high 40s at home, but are much, much higher in the vet's office. it freaked my vet out when i told him what their numbers were at home...
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48

Thanks Ronnie. At the vet now. No big surprise, she wants me to stop the insulin immediately. Wants to X-ray her abdomen and do blood work. Not sure how I'll pay for it all...anyone have an extra grand laying around? :-( Will update more when we get home.

S
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48

Make sure they get electrolytes with the blood work (to test for the potassium). Please keep us updated! We're worrying with you.
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48 VET UPDATE

Ok. I left her there for the blood work and the x-rays. I have to go back in an hour and a half. They will do a full blood panel, including electrolytes, plus send out for an FPLI. Oh, and they will be checking blood pressure. She tried to palpate her abdomen, and there was lots of kitty yelling. The doc mentioned pancreatitis, she mentioned constipation, she mentioned dehydration (since Harley's not eating much, she definitely getting less water). Heart sounded fine, temp fine, gums fine. When I pick her up, she will be sending home a pain med. Thoughts there? She definitely wants her off insulin now. Thoughts there? If she's constipated, they will give her an enema. Thoughts there?

There was lots more, I'm sure, but that's all that's coming to mind right now. Ask away and I might remember more. Tell me if there are any questions I should have asked, or should ask when I go back.

This will be one hell of a bill....looks like ramen noodles for dinner this month!!

Thanks, everyone!!

s
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48 VET UPDATE

buprenex appears to be the pain med of choice these days.
taking her off insulin... if it were me, i'd be inclined to reduce the dose to 0.1u rather than withholding (and see how it goes), BUT i am not a vet and i do not know if there any medical reasons to withhold insulin.
enema... i guess if she needs one, she needs one.
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: AMPS=58, +10=48 VET UPDATE

If it's pancreatitis (and hence the fPLI), Pepsid will also help. An appetite stimulant (mirtazepine or cyproheptadine) might not be a bad idea to have on hand. If it's p'titis, this link will also be useful.
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: VET UPDATE #2 - Not Good...

Just spoke to the vet.

Blood work all came back normal. She's mildly dehydrated and got sub-q fluids; not constipated. There was not good detail in the x-ray, but....there is a nodular mass in her chest with fluid that she suspects is a tumor, and her abdomen appears full and rigid, so she suspects a mass there as well. The radiologist will review the films and she will confirm in the morning.

She's been given an injection for pain relief. I'm going to pick her up... :cry: :cry: :cry:

s
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: VET UPDATE #2 - Not Good...

(((((Sherry)))))

I'm sorry to hear that there may be something wrong. Any chance of getting an ultrasound done? They can visualize the organs and such much better with an ultrasound than with an x-ray.

Sending lots of vines.
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: VET UPDATE #2 - Not Good...

Oh..I'm so sorry. I know what you are going through :sad: , lost my civi Jessie last year like that. I hope that there is something that can be done for Harely.

Big :YMHUG: Sandy & Dottie
 
The consult with the radiologist was complete by the time I got there. Both concur that it's cancer. If I do nothing, she will not live more than a few weeks. I'm so devastated right now...can't stop crying. The doc suggested an ultrasound to try to determine the type of cancer. Perhaps prednisone to extend her life a bit and make her more comfortable. I'm so sad. It's so unfair. I knew something was wrong. Give me back the diabetes and keep the cancer. I don't know what to do. I can't afford what I spent tonight, much less more tests, much less surgery, much less cancer treatment. I don't want her life to be shorter because I can't afford to give her what she needs. It's so unfair and I'm going to fail her.

Thank you to everyone who has helped us. You are an amazing group of people and I will always be grateful for your support. My heart hurts...physically hurts...

s
 
Re: 8/12 Harley: VET UPDATE #2 - Not Good...

I'm so sorry to hear about Harley. My thoughts and prayers are with you and Harley.
 
Oh Sherry!! I'm sooooo sorry to hear this!! It's so unfair to think you've done everything you can for the diabetes and then life hands you something like this! My thoughts and prayers are with you!!
 
Oh Sherry I'm so sorry abouit the Dx, if it's any consolation I can tell you that Prednison is not expensive and it is very effective for almost anything! It is an appitite stimulant, the most powerful anti-inflammitory there is, it helps control the immune system and slows the growth of tumors. I myself have taken Pred for years to manage an autoimmune disease and as soon as a flair begins I increase the dose an I feel great! (Shhh, don't tell) but I even throw in a few extra tablets when anything else is going on like a cold, a headache, or even a hammer on the thumb :roll: . I'm sure it will make Harley feel better too and give her a little more time. Perhaps it turns out to be something else and the prognosis is much more positive (fingers are crossed).

As for the insulin....I have heard that tumors can affect the BG and some cats (and people) notice a decrease in insulin requirements when certain cancers are present. On the other hand if you give Predinson ( a cortisone steriod) it can raise the BG quite a bit, so you will need to keep an eye on those things. Treating the tumor is most important the FD can be managed around that.
 
sherry, i'm so sorry.
one step at a time, sweetie. maybe when you know more you'll learn whatever harley has will be easily managed.
let us know when you hear more. (((SHERRY)))
 
(((Sherry))) (((Harley)))

I'm so sorry. I hope this morning has given you a little time to think about what the next steps are. We're here for you.
 
I'm reading this at work and crying. I'm so, so sorry... My heart goes out to you, Sherry. I'm praying for a miracle for you and your girl.

And believe me, you are NOT going to fail her... Things may work out differently than you might wish, but you are not failing her. Look at all you've done for her. She's such a lucky girl to have you. You trusted your gut instincts and got her checked out yesterday because you knew something was going on. You are a great, great cat mom.

My heart is aching for you.
 
(((((Sherry & Harley)))))
I will repeat what Monique said "Perhaps it turns out to be something else and the prognosis is much more positive (fingers are crossed)." and Krys is right...you are a great Mama to Harley...she is very lucky to have you. So glad you brought her in because at least now you know and can look into it further. Praying for you both.... sending healing white light to sweet Harley....
 
I'm so very sorry to hear this. Does your vet feel that chemotherapy might help? Most kitties tolerate it well, and, depending on the diagnosis, it could be palliative by shrinking the masses and giving her more quality time with you.

eta: Sorry, I see above that you considered this and have financial concerns. There is an oral chemo drug called Leukeran which is effective with intestinal lymphoma, but I don't know that it would help with a chest mass. It might be worth asking your vet about.

Bear Man's focal seizures have been present for over a year, and they happen about once per minute now. They are difficult for me to see, but I don't think that they disturb him so much.

I will be thinking of you and sending healing snowflakes.
 
(((((Sherry))))) This is not what any of us wanted to read this morning. I'm so sorry. Take time to think about it, and I'm sure others with cancer kitties will stop in today to offer advice.
 
Sherry, my heart is breaking alongside yours. *EXTREMEHUGS* I'm terribly sorry to hear about this news. :( You and Harley are in my thoughts and prayers. I know all too well about the cost factor (everyone on here does), however, is it possible to get more tests done to double and triple check?
 
You are NOT failing her if you can't afford to go on with some of the treatments. I felt that way when O'Malley was diagnosed with lymphosarcoma- there would be no curing him of it, just extending his life. But to try and do that we were looking at $12,000. I couldn't do it... the surgeon gave us an estimate of anywhere from 6 months to a year. We had TWO years to enjoy him before we lost him.

I'm so so sorry. (((Sherry & Harley)))
 
(((Sherry)))
You are not failing her. Find out all of the options, then choose what you think is best. We are all here for you.
I'm so sorry to hear this.
Cancer sucks...
tears...
 
Sherry, I am so very sorry about Harley's diagnosis. Your love for her really comes through in every post you write. Between you and your vets, you will find the way to make sure Harley feels the best she can. Enjoy every day...one day at a time. There are kitty owners here that have some experiences with cancer and I'm sure they will share their knowledge with you.

Please don't grieve for her until you have to. When my dad was dying of cancer, he did not want us to cry a lot and act like he was already dead when he wasn't. So we did everything we could to really enjoy every last moment. Intellectually that made sense, even if it was a bit difficult at times. But you know, it did work and I'm glad we were able to that.

So I try to apply this to other parts of life too. Don't give in or give up while there are still lots of purrs to be heard and head butts to be felt.

(((Sherry)))
 
(((Sherry))) - It simply isn't possible to fail her when your heart is so filled with love...it is the gift that you have given her for her entire life. I'm certain that same love will guide you now...
 
Sherry - I am so sorry to rad this. My hear aches for you - I wish there was something that I could do to help. We are all here for you. Sending as many hugs and healing vines that we can find.

Michelle and Mannie
 
I am sorry to hear about Harley. I can feel the love you have for her in each of your posts. I will be thinking about you both and hope you are able to find a way to manage this stressful time and still enjoy every moment with your kitty!
 
(((Sherry)))
I'm so sorry! I wish there was something I could do to help, I know nothing about cancer. I hope the suggestions posted will help you. As others have said, it's possible that the dx is incorrect, further tests might be a good idea if you can do it. Please keep us posted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top