8/12 Fin AMPS 342 PMPS+1 359 Dose change advice...

Status
Not open for further replies.

tecwmn

Member Since 2010
I am flying back to Chicago on Wednesday because my Mom is having knee replacement surgery. I have a housesitter that stays here with the animals. Fin's numbers are still pretty high (best nadirs still mid-200's).

I have six days before I leave and I am not confident that I know the best course of action. Please advise. Do I increase .25 or .50? While I know the standard is .25, Fin is a long-time, NEVER regulated and still unregulated diabetic. I have enough time to do an increase to .50, plus I am around for the next six days to test. Or should I increase .25 for three days and then if needed go .25 more for the three days before I leave.

Thanks in advance.... :smile:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22118
 
Hi Barbi

As they usually say here, a lot can happen between now and when you leave for your trip.
Make a note in your SS for now, on the date you will be away.

A couple questions,
does house-sitter test and shoot?
Will they be there over-nite?
How long will you be away?

In the meantime, add the reminder of when you're leaving in your daily threads leading up to next Wednesday.
 
I don't have dose suggestions for you but I do wish your Mother well with her surgery. That is so great that you will be there with her. And it's also great that you have a petsitter to watch over Fin....Hope all goes really well!
 
Sorry about your mom needing surgery.

Here's the dilemma. You don't have many recent mid-cycle checks with Fin at this dose. It looks like his nadir has been in the 200s. According to the protocol, with nadirs in that range, you could increase by 0.25u. (Fin's nadir would need to be above 300 to increase by 0.5u.)

Remember to post on Tuesday and we can sort out where Fin's dose should be for your petsitter.
 
Ronnie - In answer to your questions:

A couple questions,
does house-sitter test and shoot? She does shoot, but seems uncomfortable doing the BG. I showed her, she did it but whenever she has come to do his shot - she doesn't take BG. I have asked her to come by this weekend to review things.
Will they be there over-nite? She will be staying at my house to take care of all three animals.
How long will you be away? I leave on the 18th at 5 p.m. and I will return on the 25th at 10 p.m.
 
Hey I just noticed, the numbers in your first subject line are from yesterday.

When you can, update the subject line with today's numbers.
I'm getting confused, lol!!
ignore! :lol: let's go back to your current thread, this one is history!


Do you think you could get her to change her mind and do at least preshots tests?
You could have her do another practice run while you're there with her this weekend.
Bake her some cookies or something - hey -treats work for humans too! :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top