8/12 ELIAN - pmps 94; 66 +2.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
I swear - he's almost making it too easy so I question myself if his numbers are really accurate!!! I'm feeling so positive about him some day getting an OTJ trial! Going to try out/compare new meter today.

yesterday
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85

Hi guys .. oh what a puuurfect start to the day elian! Keep up the good work! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85

Lookie, Lookie who gets the cookie! Surf Elian surf!

No you are not imagining things - He is just getting ready!

Wooo hooo! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85

Thanks Hillary and Peter! I really am excited at the progress he has made. Amazing. We're both exhausted from getting up every hour for tests so...... its nap time! He's next to me and is already snoring up a storm. Geez I love this guy. Hard to tell, huh? ;-)
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85

From 2.5 on 7/11, down to 1U on 8/11 took him a month to drop one and a half units down in the dose.

Those reductions to 0.75U, 0.5U, 0.25U, 0.1U will come fast and furious now. I think that Elian's liver has finally got it and doesn't panic anymore and his pancreas is doing so much nice healing over the last month. :RAHCAT Go Elian Go! :RAHCAT

Fantastic job you've been doing with Elian, Susie! Keep it up and you will be subjected to my horrible little rhymes in no time. ;-)
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +3

Can't believe he dropped to 44 again so early in cycle. Just fed LC - waiting to test again.
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +3

Wow. :shock:
Bright side....at least the sun is up.:-)
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +3; 48 +3.75

He only went up to 48 +3.75. (I had to run out for a job in between - that's why it took 45 minutes) Just gave him another snack - more LC with some Halo chicken treat crumbs on top! Will test again shortly. He went back out on the <screened in> patio for some sunshine and fresh air. He has no clue that his mommabean worries!
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +3; 48 +3.75

Haha Carl! You're right. But Elian and I weren't! I came back home after my jobs this morning and climbed back into bed with him for a snooze. Thank goodness (this time - normally I wouldn't have been happy!) a couple of text messages woke me up....just in time for a +3.
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +3; 48 +3.75

I don't know if it is too soon to give another reduction...but it might be a good idea to start practicing doses under the 1u line on your syringe. :-D
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +3; 48 +3.75

I'm hoping - just waiting for that moment!!!! I'm reading posts and checking out spreadsheets of those doing OTJ trials. I sure hope he's next!!!! So exciting.

Hmmmm..... he just came over to me for another poke. Back down to 44. Be back in a bit.
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +3; 48 +3.75; 44 +4.25

He's showing off his surfing skills. :lol:
Did you ever think on the day your vet said "Elian has diabetes" that one day he'd come up to you and say "hey, Mom, would you please poke my ear?"
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +3; 48 +3.75; 44 +4.25

You're a funny guy! And no, never thought he would be so smart and cooperative. (I'd like to say he takes after his mom!) The funniest part is that he doesn't get treats for testing or shots. I had to stop that immediately - at $8.00 per 3 oz of treats x 3 kitties (was 4 until recently :-( ) x a gazillion tests per day it was ridiculous. So now I tell them it's party time once per day and they all get a few treats. So he's doing all of this willingly! Not sure if he's very smart or not so much!!!!
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +4.25 - compared new meter

You know that discussion you had with Jill last night? I think Elian gave you an unequivocal answer. I'd reduce his dose!
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN -amps 85; 44 +4.25; 59 +5.5 - compared new me

So I just compared our new meter (Relion Prime red) with the old meter (Relion Prime blue). Red got a reading of 54 while blue read 59. I'll continue using blue until/if I ever need red! I'm a creature of habit.
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +4.25 - compared new meter

So Jill and Sienne - you're saying this is the time its okay to go ahead with another reduction so soon after the other? Will take him down to .75 tonight. Wow.
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +4.25 - compared new meter

Congrats on the reducie! They start to go fast once a kitty decides they like green. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +4.25 - compared new meter

To paraphrase slightly, "The great and powerful Elian has spoken!" - Wizard of Oz

"Less juice mommy. I'm getting ready for you know what. I'll be there soon enough. Don't count your chickens before they're hatched though." ;-)
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +4.25 - compared new meter

Susie and Elian said:
So Jill and Sienne - you're saying this is the time its okay to go ahead with another reduction so soon after the other? Will take him down to .75 tonight. Wow.
that would be a "yes" from me! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +4.25 - compared new meter

So glad I have all of you - as you can tell I'm afraid to make a move without the okay from you guys!!!! Me who is totally independent in my every day life and count on nobody when it comes to my two daughters and me! But when it comes to my boy E I fear making a wrong decision! Thank you again for being here for us!!!!
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +3; 48 +3.75; 44 +4.25

Jill & Alex said:
psssssssssssst... i think elian's trying to tell you something. :mrgreen:
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I remember when Jill said this about Lucy. She was right. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +4.25....pmps 94

Less juice he wants..... less juice he got! He's eating dinner and then I'll test in a bit. Meanwhile - did two comparisons with my meters - funny that the first time the blue one read 5 higher than the red and the second time it read 4 lower than the red one. So my question is - is there any one way to get an accurate reading or is it always +/- a certain % and that's acceptable to go on?
 
Re: 8/12 ELIAN - amps 85; 44 +4.25....pmps 94

It's always +/- 20% and you just have to go with the numbers you get.
 
Thx Deb - gonna continue with the meter I've been using. Was just curious to see if they got the same readings. I feel better knowing I have the backup meter just in case.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top