8/12 DAVIDSON PMPS-89, +2-69, +3-66, +4-60, +5.5-64, +9-99

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice! There's the making of that long, flat curve Lantus is known for!
Gooooooooooo Davidson!!!

So, does that mean I should hold this dose a bit more...........we are having a good couple of days now and I wan to keep the momentum. I will do the +9 feeding in the middle of the night as it seemed to work, as he always gets one during the day and see how that works down the road on a regular basis.

Just wonder how long Davidson should ride the long flat curve before a fattened dose
 
So, does that mean I should hold this dose a bit more...........we are having a good couple of days now and I wan to keep the momentum. I will do the +9 feeding in the middle of the night as it seemed to work, as he always gets one during the day and see how that works down the road on a regular basis.

Just wonder how long Davidson should ride the long flat curve before a fattened dose
I'd hold this dose until he tells you otherwise OR he overall maintains numbers in green for seven consecutive days before attempting to reduce the dose.

As an experienced caregiver you have a little leeway the second time around. What I mean by that is there were times that I just didn't feel like Alex was quite ready for a reduction so I kept the same dose until I felt she was ready for a reduction... unless of course, she dropped low and "earned" a reduction. Another option is to sneak the dose down in increments of 0.1u (a little bigger than the width of a hair). On the flip side, if I was running her low and knew I wouldn't be able to monitor I would take a reduction... even if it wasn't a full quarter unit reduction.

Use what you know about Davidson and then go with your gut. It's usually right!
 
Question - the Vet manipulated Davidson’s legs pretty well and I’m sure he’s in discomfort since he’s just be laying down. He suggested metacam until the glucosamine kicks in again, however that’s pretty strong. He mentioned a couple more and I’ll get the names tomorrow when I’m there but wondering if anyone can suggest something that’s not as harsh. It can be an anti inflammatory prescribed or a pain med that doesn’t interfere with the Lantus.

Thanks in advance.
 
Many vets have it here, but when Harley had his dental it made him really sick and he was foaming at the mouth so I stopped.

If anyone has suggestions I can ask if they have it.....I’ll ask about the Bupre! Tnx
 
I would not use metacam as Carla said, there is a black box warning on it for kitties.

Not sure what to use but I am sure someone with arthritis pain will weigh in.

Check out MSM for animals. My dad took it for arthritic pain and said it made a huge difference for him. I have no animal experience with it but google it and see what you think. It is cheap and effective.
 
I would not use metacam as Carla said, there is a black box warning on it for kitties.

What exactly is the black box warning? All vets provide and sell it in Canada or at least here in Ontario.

I gave Harley one dose when he had his dental, never again - scary stuff so I’m not giving it to Davidson. MSM is something I use for my knees as I have osteoarthritis (must be hereditary and Davidson got it from me, lol) and it’s mixed with the glucosamine sulphate. Works wonders for me, so I’ll keep giving it to Davidson.

Just looking for a mild pain reduced while he’s still in discomfort.

The vet will give me the other items they referred me to, and I’ll pass it along here before I get it just in case some of you know of th product and don’t recommend it.
 
The black box warming is that it is not safe for cats. I believe that the metacam used in Europe is different and safe? Hope some others weight in about this. Don't know about Canada.

So glad that you use MSM and have a good result with it. Like I said, I don't know how to use it with animals; it was just mentioned to me the other day by @Sharon14. I hope it's something that can help.
 
Thanks.............Davidson doesn't need meds, back on his Recovery SA Extra Strength pain and joint relief that he's been on over 3 yrs.........working again and he's almost back to normal. This product has MSM in it as well as glucosomine and other wonderful things in it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top