8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +18 52, PMBG 98, +26 84, +27.5 43

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I'm sorry I've been absent today, but last night was the second night in a row that I didn't go to bed. Top that off with the fact that at 1 a.m., Champ threw up all over the hallway. All undigested food that he had eaten hours earlier. It was so bad I had to get out the carpet shampooer and clean the carpet. After he threw up, he actually wanted some food, which was a good thing because his BG dropped to 46. Unfortunately, he refused to eat any HC food, but at least he ate some 16%. I also syringed some gravy into him and this seemed to bring him up enough. He also ate a little bit at +9

At shot time this morning, his BG was 68, but he wouldn't eat...and I tried four different kinds of food. I elected not to shoot. His new dose this morning would have been 0.5u because of falling below 50 last night. I'm glad I didn't shoot because within two hours, his BG had dropped to 56. He was willing to eat a little bit, but only some FF 2%. I know if no insulin was given there's no danger of hypo, but because it was only one missed shot, I was unsure if his shed could still cause him to hypo so I added a couple drops of karo to the 2%. It only raised him 9 points in an hour so I'm glad I did it. I seriously cannot believe his run of numbers today without have received his insulin this morning. He's actually been willing to eat several small meals today and I just pray that he doesn't throw up later tonight. He did pee and poop yesterday morning and late last night/early this morning and it all looks perfectly normal. I'm wondering if he just has a stomach virus....who knows. I don't plan on giving him his shot tonight either because his numbers have been so low today. We'll just play everything by ear.

I hope everyone has had a good day today. I think I'll visit some condos and see what's been going on in LL!!!
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

I'm so glad to see Champ's condo...been thinking about you guys all day. I'm sorry he barfed again last night, but hopefully he's on the mend now with a few small meals in him along with normal 2 "Ps". I agree with you not shooting. Back in April, when Trix had a bug, I skipped a few shots, too, even when she started feeling a bit better.I was just too afraid that I wouldn't be able to get HC into her if she needed it. Just keep offering him little bits, so his tummy isn't overwhelmed. She also dropped into the 40s, even without insulin on board - it was a crazy few days. We've still got you in our thoughts!!!
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

Champ's shed may have given you some carry over but I doubt that it would have been responsible for the number at +22. More than likely, some of the food he's eaten stimulated his pancreas to produce some endogenous insulin.
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

Patty, I'm very sorry to hear that Champ still has stomach issues. Did you give him the Pepcid A/C (1/4 of a pill)? At least his elimination seems to be fine. Those numbers are very low. Maybe a little cooked rice would help calm his stomach, and with such low numbers, it probably wouldn't do any harm to his bg. And you might try a little chicken soup (seriously!). Have you tried giving him meat baby food (the kind without cornstarch)?

We are thinking good thoughts for Champ tonight.

Hugs,


Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

WOW Patty - I am so sorry that Champ is still under the weather. I think you did the wise thing by not shooting. I hope things turn around soon. Did you try the babyfood, as Ella suggested? I know when Mannie wouldn't eat back in January (long story there) it was the one thing he wanted. They seem to love it. I hope he feels better soon. Paws crossed!
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

Hi Amy!! I just looked at Trixie's SS and see what you mean!! Her SS is just an ocean of green with a little blue thrown in!! Thanks for missing us!!

Hi Sienne!! I'm wondering if his numbers will continue to remain in this range while off insulin. I guess the only way to find out is to watch and wait. I hate watch and wait!!

Hi Ella!! Because Champ started eating small meals on his own, I'm just going to keep going with that. I was all set to go get the baby food, but he's been doing relatively well on his own today. I'm just waiting to see if he'll keep down the food he's eaten today or if I'm going to have to clean more carpet tonight!! I'm also waiting for him to use the LB so I can keep monitoring that as well.
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

Hi Michelle!!! Just missed your post!. I'm going to get a supply of baby food in the house in case he starts turning his nose up at cat food again. So far today, he's been doing pretty well with cat food as long as I don't try to give him the same kind twice in a row!! Don't know why that is, but he's wanting me to offer different kinds of food each time. Hey, if it will get him to eat, I'll do it.!!!

Oh, his vet prescribed Pepcid (famotidine) at 1/2 of a 10 mg tab. I know it's usually 1/4 tab and I'm wondering if he prescribed a 1/2 tab because Champ is the size of a small dog at 18.5 pounds. I can't find my pill splitter to cut down the half-tabs into quarters, but I did shave one down to a quarter size this morning and gave it to him, though I think it was actually more than 1/4 size. I'm going to get another pill splitter to take care of the rest of them.
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

Hi Patty. I was wondering how Champ's tummy was doing today. Sorry to hear that he's still not right. I'm hoping it's a stomach bug, too. How about a hairball? Sometimes that will prevent food from being digested and moving along the canal. Everybody is watching Champ's condo, hoping for the best.
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

Hello Patty! Been thinking about you and Champ today. Good call on the skipped shot. Look at those numbers though! Wow! Hopefully he is on his way to getting better. My vet has tried to tell me that cats don't get tummy bugs, but I know both of mine have before. Poor Champ on the Likud! We have had that a few times before. Nothing like shampooing carpets at 1 am huh? I hope he keeps getting better and you get some much needed rest! ((((HUGS))))
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

Impressive numbers for not shot. Paws crossed that Mr P is starting to get back to work!

It's a relief to hear from you but, soo sorry that Champ still is having food issues. I hope you are right and that it is just a bug. It happens w/ Tess sometimes too and I know how frantic you become. I'm sorry I wasn't around last night to give a shoulder.
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

glad to see you today! i've also been wondering how champ was - great numbers for not having a shot. poor guy - we hate being sick. he must just feel like crap. and a 47 at +22? what's that?

we need an animal communicator to do a little telepathy with champ and let us know what he's thinking and feeling!
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

Wow on his numbers...and no insulin. I know that 47b worries you but Sienne indicated his shed should be fairly empty by now.

Here's the info on pepcid dosing from the CRF site:

Starting dose: 2.5 mg once every other day (i.e. quarter of a 10mg tablet once every two days e.g. on Mon, Wed, Fri)

Intermediate dose (if starting

dose does not seem to be helping):
2.5mg once a day (i.e. quarter of a 10mg tablet once a day)

Maximum dose: 2.5mg twice a day (i.e. quarter of a 10mg tablet twice a day, 5mg a day in total)

It also states that the kitty should not be started on the maximum dose as it can cause other problems. I hope this helps.
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +14 56, +15 64, +17 74, +18 52, +22

Thanks for the info, Marje!!! But holy moly, I already gave him his second dose today!!! I won't give him any tomorrow and see how he does.
 
Re: 8/12 Champ AMBG 68, +18 52, PMBG 98, +26 84

I'm holding my breath here...Champ's numbers are looking good and he's eating pretty normally. I'm kinda just waiting for the other shoe to drop...this seems too good to be true!! Little prayers, people, that we're over the hump!!
 
Wow!!! Champ's earned a couple of reductions today!! Oh wait....he hasn't had any insulin today!!! This is so bizarre!!!
 
OMG Patty, your numbers are crazy from having no insulin shot! You're doing such a terrific job!

I don't know if I'd have the patience to give him 4 different kinds of fuds. I'd probably go all mommy dearest and tell the cat he's not to leave the table until his fuds were eaten. LOL!

Sending prayers and vines to Champ!
Bonnie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top