8/12: Cedric amps/ambg 63, updated, see 3rd post

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
Holding shot with these numbers. He was checked at 6am and gave me a 63. He had his 3 oz of breakfast and gave me a 100 a few minutes ago. Still holding.
We are going to the vet at 9:30 for a follow up, but I am on the fence as to what to give him this am. Thinking 1.75 instead of 2.25.
 
Re: 8/12: Cedric amps/ambg 63, +1 100

Spoke with vet and he advised 1.75 units, which is what I was thinking myself. gave this shot to him at 8:15 am (120 BG)
 
went to the vet for a pvc (?) blood test. red blood cell count is normal range so no more returning for tests next week. Continue on denamarin and cerinia, but not prilosec. Urine test next week so I have to drop off a sample. fluids when needed. so he looks like this:

6am Eastern - 63 on Relion micro; fed 3 oz of friskies poultry platter
7am - 100
8am - 120; vet called to say give him 1.75 units given at 8:15 am
visit to vet, growled the whole time
10:45 am small snack, about 1 TBSP of friskies mixed grill
11am - 218

What time should I give him is insulin tonight, do you think?
 
Hey Jesse

Good call on the 1.75 on that low of a preshot, I know you aren't comfy shooting real low because of the fact that you have to leave him for so long during the day, so always error on the side of caution, now I happily shoot a full dose into Autumn all the time when she is in the 50s and 60s but that is because I am home to watch over her and for the most part she doesn't throw me too many surprises along the way since I know her onset with the Levemir won't be until nearly +6 anyhow so she will have plenty of time to rise and more than likely unless I'm running really late like this whole last week she will have been fed twice before her insulin even kicks in.

That is one thing to remember when working with Lev is not only is the nadir later, but so is the onset. Haven't really had a chance sit down and look at his spreadsheet to see where his onset is at this point now that you have switched insulins.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Gave him his insulin at about +11 as he is bouncing from the smaller dose this am. The boys are sitting out on the lani and when I heard Dallas yowlling I knew something was out there - a stray tortie. Dallas was being very vocal (either protecting his turf or it was a female...). Cedric was a little bit puffed too, so I checked him and he was 352 so I gave him the insulin. Will shoot him at about 7am tomorrow and hope to be back to normal by Wed am.

Had an interesting time trying to catch some ferals last night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top