8/12 Ben Day 36 OTJ PMBG 81 still no lab results

A Fae

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-07-ben-day-31-otj.251043/#post-2832264

We saw the vet one week ago Thursday Aug 5th. Monday the Dr had not prepared the lab results yet, she was off Tuesday. I received a call Wednesday from an assistant. I was told Ben was not in remission as his glucose level was in the 300's. I was told a human meter was too inaccurate to use on a cat. Suggested I get glucose urine strips.

I have been checking BG levels and they have stayed mostly in 70's & 80's with my human meter. I have also been checking my BG periodically with same meter, I am 100-130 (non-diabetic). I have a Dr apt tomorrow and will take my meter in to the lab and have them check the accuracy.

I have not used ketone strips as Ben had a UA at the other vet when he was first dx and had no ketones. He has been gaining weight, no extra drinking or peeing, and eating 2 3oz cans/day with no appetite loss.
Should I try to get ketone readings? Ben pees on puppy pee pads and WON'T go if I am anywhere around him. I don't know if he would go on plastic on top of pee pad or on a strip if I put it on the pee pad in several places? I found an AlphaTrak with 50 strips for $60 and 60 petsure! strips for AlphaTrak for $17 but, I don't think that is necessary. The last vet visit when Ben was OTJ his glucose was 207 and used Rescue Remedy drops for 3 days before that visit. This time I did not use the calming drops because I wanted to compare. I noticed a huge difference in his anxiety level without the drops.

I called today since I still had not received the lab results. I was told they had the email address wrong and would send them today. I called back a second time today to make sure I would get the results as I need to go to the pharmacy today. I still have not received the results and they closed an hour ago. FRUSTRATED:banghead:
 
Checking the urine is not as accurate as the blood. Cats often are higher at the vet due to stress. They should have run a fructosamine which gives an average bg over two weeks and so stress would not be part of the picture.
 
Any vet should know that a visit causes higher blood glucose. And glucose meters calibrated for pets are a recent invention, based on human meter technology, so there's no way that it could be that much off. Elise is right, a fructosamine test is the only way for the vet to be sure.
 
Any vet should know that a visit causes higher blood glucose. And glucose meters calibrated for pets are a recent invention, based on human meter technology, so there's no way that it could be that much off. Elise is right, a fructosamine test is the only way for the vet to be sure.
ATM I don't know the test includes. It is supposed to be a SuperChem with CBC. If it didn't include a fructosamine test I will take him to a close vet for that test. They told me his liver numbers are low enough I could stop the Denamarin supplement. I should have been better prepared going in to the vet with the exact tests I needed. Too many times I don't think clearly.
 
The fructosamine is an add on test. The lab would have suggested it I would think. The problem with just monitoring with urine at home is by then it’s too late. Max often had borderline glucose for years a the vet before becoming diabetic but never glucose in his urine. He was easily stressed. I diagnosed him when he had symptoms that I thought were from ckd but read on my pancreatitis list of cats becoming diabetic so checked his urine.
 
I would not be hard on yourself about it. It's not you--it's the vet. Since you're testing at home and the results have been consistent that he's OTJ, there's no reason for a fructosamine test. It's the vet who doubts what you are telling him because Ben gets stressed at the vet, so the test would be more for him than for you. I always refuse fructosamine tests because I have a spreadsheet full of numbers that can tell the same story as an expensive add-on blood test.
 
He was easily stressed.
Ben being a self proclaimed indoor only cat he gets stressed when I would take him to the door just to see outside, climbing over my back to get away. We had a long drive and got there an hour early. I kept him covered most of the time but the commotion and dogs had him stressed. Also, he was more vocal than any other vet visits, I could hear the stress in his voice. That night when we got home and he settled I tested his BG at 77.
With help, I will draw my own conclusions with the lab numbers. It has been so long since I had to keep track of a cat's lab #s, over 15 years ago with CRF Groovy Angel. I was getting a Senior Panel with him. I got to get on top of this. Biggest thing it would be nice to have feline specialist that understands "new school" diabetes protocols. :D

THANKS ALL!
 
Biggest thing it would be nice to have feline specialist that understands "new school" diabetes protocols. :D
Good luck with that! Ruby's seen about 10 different vets since her diagnosis and none of them have been as knowledgeable or helpful as the FDMB. I have gotten really good at the nod and smile routine.
 
Since you're testing at home and the results have been consistent that he's OTJ, there's no reason for a fructosamine test.
Thanks Katherine! I didn't understand how he could NOT be in remission with such steady numbers for so long. They said his glucose was to high to be stress caused. I disagree. If he was unregulated diabetes I'm sure I would see signs such as not wanting to eat, peeing more, loosing weight. He pees 3x/day, has gained 3 pounds and steady now, eats good, plays Da Bird, etc.
 
Back
Top