8/12 Bailey AMPS 268 +1 297 +2 250 +3 294 +4 234

Status
Not open for further replies.

JensBailey

Member Since 2010
Good Morning! Bailey's AMPS is 268. For those of you that have been following my situation do you have any ideas on what dose I should give for today? I have not fed or gave him his shot yet this morning.

Thanks!
Jen and Bailey
 
Re: Dose for Bailey???

When a cat goes into low numbers, the liver spills glucose into the cat's system, causing higher numbers the next day--Very normal reaction called rebound when the liver panics from low bg.
Not to worry, once they decide on his dose, it will go down and Bailey will be fine!
We are here to help..
 
Re: Dose for Bailey???

Great!

We're thinking 2.0u. This will allow Bailey's shed to drain. We'll reassess the dose tonight.

Please get a +1 and a +2. Could you also post your +11 so we can have that info for this evening?

(Roni - I'm not thinking this is a bounce. Jen skipped the PM shot. After running low numbers due to more insulin than may be necessary, a cat can be very sensitive to insulin on the next dose.)
 
Re: Dose for Bailey???

How about the food? I have been feeding him Hills M/D (Dry food, yuck, bad I know) I have a few cans of 9 Lives-seafood platter and chicken and tuna. Should I switch to the canned food now?
 
Re: Dose for Bailey???

He is low today to begin with--You cant just drop the dry & present wet, as his numbers will drop even more--
Think the M/D is like 12%carbs, so I would not remove it today at all--Maybe tonite or tomorrow you could mix in a little wet with the dry & slowly transition him from the md to low carb wet food iver a few days to a week--But nothing radical--Need to keep his numbers up-OK?
Look at the Janet & Binky's food charts & get some lc & hc foods(ones with gravy really work well)--
Let's see how his numbers go.
 
Re: Dose for Bailey???

Hi Jen....welcome to Lantus Land! :mrgreen:
Here is the link to your post from the health board yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=22161

Here is another link, for the food ~~ Janet & Binky's Food chart: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
The 9 Live seafood platter is 5% carbs and the chicken & tuna is 4%.
It is best to transition away from the dry....
You are in the BEST place now! So glad to see you and Bailey! Looking forward to watching your progress...and congrtulations on getting the testing done! Great job! :mrgreen:

Here is your condo from yesterday here in Lantus: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22162
 
Re: Dose for Bailey???

I don't see those particular 9-lives on Janet & Binky's list so I'm not sure of the carb content. Usually, people transition food because their cat(s) won't eat the canned stuff without coaxing if they've been eating dry. Many people do a direct change if their cat will eat canned.

Whether you can monitor is more the issue. Roni is right -- numbers may drop because you're changing the food. When feeding higher carb, you need more insulin to offset the food. We've reduced Bailey's dose so hopefully, the carbs in the low carb (LC) food and the dose will balance out. I would suggest picking up some HC canned food with gravy.
 
Re: Dose for Bailey???

hey Jen

When you have a chance, let's get your AMPS info up on your main subject line.
(hit edit on your first post of this thread, update the subject line 08/12/10 Bailey AMPS 268
As you get new numbers, you can add them to the same subject line.
Then hit "submitt".)

Good luck today - hopefully not as stressful as yesterday!
 
just checking on you to see how you and Bailey are doing tonight. Yellow is good for right now, I'm happy to see that is as high as he seems to be going. Sometimes they bounce a lot higher than this after a low number.

Stay with us, ok? The 2 units today was a big decrease from Bailey's previous dose, and it might turn out to be not enough insulin. We'll have to see how things shake out in the next couple of days.

Oh, and as you have probably noticed, Lantus Land is a busy place. When you update your numbers as the day goes on, it's good to edit the subject line of the main post, as you did. What also helps is if you post a reply in the thread. If you post a message, it bumps your thread to the top so people will see that you have made an update.

Looking good!
 
Thurs: PMPS 298., +1/294., +2/278

Got a late start after a longer shift at work than expected. I am actually surprised his number wasn't higher. I just stuck with the 2 units and will test +1 +2 and see if I can stay awake for +3. I know its a good thing I started this, unfortunately work is a little demanding right now. We have the PGA tournament in town and the hotel I work at is hosting the tournament Hopefully the next week will be more consistent. I would like to see where he is at at 6+ 7+. May have to plan on running home for a break if I can.

Jen and Bailey

Hi Jen,

this info is from thursday nites PMPS.
I see you opened an extra thread. Try to remember, one thread per day, per kitty...you're thread for thursday might of gotten buried near the end here.
It's ok, it happens!

When you have friday's AMPS, just open a new thread ok?
You can link this one to it too, in case others need to glance back at yesterday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top