8/11 Willie PMPS 107, +2~107, +3~98, +5~118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Tired bean this morning after working late last night. Got lots of kitty cuddles, though, so totally worth it. Willie was so cute at +3... he insisted on being tested... I think he knew the Grammy's Pot Pie would be coming with a +3 in the 50s, and he wasn't about to miss out on that!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Irritated that I left my leftovers at home, and I'm already going to have to leave a bit early today to make Willie's shot time, so I don't want to take a long lunch as well.

Have a great day, everyone!
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58

My goodness, but Willie is looking fantastic this morning!!!

Thanks soooo much for visiting Champ's condo and sending us some prayers. I certainly do appreciate it!!! It really does help to know there are people like you out there thinking of us and wishing us well. I don't feel so nearly alone in this anymore!!

Sorry you forgot your lunch. Leftovers are so much better than fastfood, too!!!
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58

Christie...I've been tempted to try the Grammy's Pot Pie myself...maybe you an Willis could share??
some of these kitty meals look better than my cooking!! :lol:

he's looking great!
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58

Grammy's Pot Pie? Hmmmm that does sound pretty good. Very nice numbers for Willie today, i hope he surfs nice while your at work today.
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58

LOL It actually looks and smells REALLY good. Between that and his homemade raw, Willie eats better than I do at times!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58

So glad to see Willie back in TR. That would be such a relief, knowing what to expect.

Oh, those dumplings (dim sum??) sound good! I knew at least 6 places within a 20 minute drive when I lived in MPLS. Now I'm in CA and would have to drive 3 hours! cat(2)_steam I checked out Groupon, only in Santa Barbara and that's over an hour away. :sad:

Willie, I missed you! But I'm back in the Lagoon now! Gracie said pool party today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: -- Tess
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58 test results in...

Just talked to the vet. BUN and creatinine are high... 58 BUN and 2.4 Creatinine. We're doing a urinalysis and a C&S on Saturday to rule out infection and other issues.

Wondering if the switch to raw has had anything to do with it... previously, we were switching between BG Turkey (high protein, low fat) and Wilderness Duck (high fat, lower protein), and his diet now is approx. 47% protein/53% fat, though could be higher protein as we didn't know the exact fat content of the venison. His raw diet is designed to be low phosphorus as well (121mg/100 kcal).

Obviously need to get the other test results, but wondering if maybe I should reintroduce the Wilderness food into his diet. I know he hasn't totally been himself lately, but he has perked up dramatically this week. Going to try to stop by tonight and get the test results, then will probably do a consult with Dr. Lisa once we get the results from Saturday.

Just worried. :? :? :?
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58 test results in...

I doubt that it's the food issue as you describe it. It's more the phosphorus that's at issue with kidney concerns. Marjorie has a kitty with kidney issues so you can share some suggestions with you. I'd also do what you can to increase Willie's water consumption.
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58 test results in...

Thanks, Sienne. I talked to the vet about possibly looking into phosphorus binders, and I think she's out of her league with this (and clearly said so, so I appreciate her knowing her limitations). Willie prefers his food pretty soupy, so we're already good there... I know he likes ice in his water :roll: :roll: :roll: , so I'll make sure to add some to his morning water to make it more attractive to him.

Marjorie... I'll trade you cyclosporine sites for kidney/phosphorus info! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58 test results in...

I'm no expert, and I'm at work and don't have any of my Favorites handy, but I'm pretty sure Jazzy's BUN has been in the 50s the last couple of times she had bloodwork, and my vet said that was common for cats on a high protein diet. Her creatinine is within the normal range, though, so that might make a difference. Sorry that's not too helpful. :lol:
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58 test results in...

willie's BG numbers are sure looking great today - not so sure on those other numbers. isn't it a good thing you've got people on FDMB that know the other stuff that you have to deal with!?
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58 test results in...

BUN is a byproduct of protein metabolization. Of itself it is not a good indicator of kidney disease, if creatinine is elevated as well that is more of a concern. What is the normal range for the lab your vet uses The Idexx report I have says .8 to 2.3.

Do you have DR Elizabeth Hodgkins book Your Cat Dr. Lisa recommends it and there is a good chapter on kidney disease. She recommends: "Patients with an elevated phosphorus level should have phosphate binders or cooked egg whites added to their food,to reduce the absorption of this mineral from the diet." You didn't mention the Phosphorus level.

AHA!!! I just found it on Google books, you can read a lot of the kidney chapter here scroll down to page 217.
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58 test results in...

Thanks so much, Ann! You rock! I'm going to try to grab a copy of the results in the morning to get a peek at the phosporus number. His creatinine was 2.4, and she said high end of normal was 2.3. He was 1.8 in February. I know from Dr. Lisa that the spec. gravity on the urine is important too, so we'll get that with the urinalysis on Saturday also.
 
Re: 8/11 Willie AMPS 75, +2.5~61, +3~58 test results in...

Hi Christie,
I'm just learning, too, but Maggie's last bloodwork's creatinine was 2.6. Her BUN was high at 42 with the range being 14-36. Her Phosphorus is normal. Maggie has Stage 2 kidney disease and so far I'm not doing anything different, but the Vet said next senior exam we may need to change her diet. How old is Willie? Maggie is 12 years old. Yes, Marj has a kitty with kidney disease, and she's helped me greatly with links, and there is a good Yahoo support group, too. That sounds like a great book by Dr. Lisa that Ann mentioned.
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107 test results in...

Hi Christie & Willie,
I wish I could remember what we did for Stu when his BUN and creatinine levels were high. I know I tried the egg whites, but everything is a blur because all of his health issues came together at the same time. Dr. Hodgkins' book, "Your Cat", is very good and is full of detailed case histories. But she tends to be dogmatic (for example, the only insulin she recommends for FD is PZI). I hope that everything will work out and that you will have a better understanding after all the test results are in.

Hang in there,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107 test results in...

Moonie's Creatine was 2.1 and her BUN was 47.which is high. My vet wanted a urine test also, as you know I am trying to get one ohmygod_smile --But I will take her in probably next week.
My vet said the lab she uses says 1.7 is the desired creatine, and 2.1 is on the high side of normal,
but as Moonie is 15 that is a factor too..Wonder if it has to do with her numbers being higher for several days?--I didnt even ask about the phosporous..these are supposed to be normal occurances for a cat her age.
Guess we all have to make some adjustments..

Christie I am sure Willie will be just fine, and we will all make whatever changes we need to..
Willie is doing great with his bg numbers--Hugs from us!!
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107, +2~107, +3~98 test results in...

Roni, i am sooo hoping Willie's bladder is more cooperative than Miss Moonie's come Saturday!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Willie had a sizeable jump in his BUN from December to February (31 to 48) and then another one now (48 to 58). While I'm doing some research, I'm trying my hardest to wait until I have the complete picture before coming to conclusions (or buying mass quantities of phosphorus binders!! :lol: :lol: :lol: )
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107, +2~107, +3~98 test results in...

Willie's condo is very informative today! My senior, Mario, has renal issues as well (I don't have numbers, but I think technically he's more at the "insufficiency" stage of things, as opposed to full-blown CRF.). And yes, Marjorie has been a huge in helping me understand at least some of this stuff...but I know I have a long ways to go. Have you been to this site yet? http://www.felinecrf.org/just_diagnosed.htm Admittedly, I still find that website very overwhelming, but it is full of solid information. I love learning from the real-life experience of the folks here at FDMB.

I'm sure you'll have Willie figured out in no time!
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107, +2~107, +3~98 test results in...

Okay, after a brief visit to the backyard, my boy has been out COLD tonight, waking up on the sofa with the lure of purebites for his +2 poke, and briefly waking up for a snack at +3. Going to see if i can get a pic, as he's all curled up in the cutest ball....
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107, +2~107, +3~98 test results in...

Sorry to get around so late tonight. Willie is looking great!! I have no idea on the blood work numbers, but it is so great that there are people here who do. Where would any of us be without eachother? Thinking if you and hope you get answers soon!!
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107, +2~107, +3~98 test results in...

You are the type of Groupon customer they like. :smile: We did one for Three Dog Bakery & most people are just fine to deal with. Others want you to ring them up and tell them their total item by item so they can hit it as close to zero as possible. Makes you want to pull your hair out! I've never been to Pos before, will have to check them out.
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107, +2~107, +3~98 test results in...

Christie: sorry to hear the kidney values are up a bit. The good news is a lot of kitties maintain at these levels for a very long time with the appropriate treatment. You do want to get him on a low phosphorus food if possible but a very good quality protein...don't cut his protein back....that's old school for kidney cats.

I can give you lots of info about phosphorus levels and kidney issues. Sounds like Willie may just be at the renal insufficiency stage. It would help to know what his phosphorus and potassium levels are now compared to his last bloodwork.

I'm pretty pooped tonight but will be rarin' to go tomorrow so you can pm me his values or whatever works best for you. We have TWO kidney cats....they've been fairly stable for quite some time but their BUN/creat are higher than Willie's.

Thank you for the info on cyclosporine. I found some articles, too, that included research done on long term use of the ointment and they found it had no systemic effects.
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107, +2~107, +3~98 test results in...

wow - ll of this is so out of my knowledge base... I can't help one iota. but! I do wish Willie well - and good luck getting it all under control. I am sure you will. It is amazing gthe waelth of owledge on this board... I love it.

Nice numbers for Willie tonight - green! Go Willie!
 
Re: 8/11 Willie PMPS 107, +2~107, +3~98 test results in...

Thanks for the knowledge, I was already having a slight panic reaction over Moonie's numbers, but feel better now--Hope Willie's c/s comes out better..I am trying to do my own pee extraction here with a big soup spoon under the butt in the LB--So far, unsuccessful! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Ni Ni & Big Hugsfrom us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top