Re: 8/11 Trey Amps 140 +4.75 56
when a kitty has great nadirs but some of the other numbers in the cycle are consistently high, the first strategy i think of trying is to prevent Trey from getting a reduction. Sometimes all it takes to bring the rest of the numbers down is just a little longer at a dose that is working to bring good nadirs. If you want to try that, you carb him at 56, say, to prevent him from going below 50.
The thing to be aware of if you're doing this, is that you don't want to underestimate the power of the depot. If you're spending a lot of effort to keep him from going below 50, then that tells you that he really needs a dose reduction. If it's easy, however, you just have to give him a couple of bites of higher carb food and he surfs along in green numbers, then it's worth doing for a while to see if it brings the surrounding BGs down.
The next strategy to try is to intentionally raise up the nadirs by giving overall higher carb food (say 8%) so that you can increase the dose slightly. That's similar but not exactly the same. Once you have the numbers flattened out, then you can switch back to lower carbs and reduce the dose.
Those are a couple of options for you to try. The +9 bite often brings down the preshots in a cat nearly ready for OTJ, like Trey may be. Trying that consistently would be a good idea too.
I'd strongly encourage you to always get a pm cycle test, and if he's in the 50's (at any time) to follow it up with another test within 30 minutes or so. He may be dropping below 50 in some of the cycles that i'm looking at on his spreadsheet.