8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 +3.25/56 +3.75/69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Hi Lantus & FDMB People!
Tigger's 8/11 Condo

Happy Sunday! Am getting a late start to the day - have a weird stomach thing going on & was down much of the day. Will be down again shortly, but I had a question about Tigger's numbers today (of course :oops: )

To re-cap: yesterday after a slow start, Tigger had a great trip to the lagoon. we had an AMPS of 330 & a PMPS of 99, with a nice green surf in-between :mrgreen:

So last night, Tigger bounced (of course) almost right after his shot & stayed high all night. The bounce lasted today until about +10, when he had a 50 point drop, & then another 70 point drop to his blue AMPS. To recap:

8/10/13
AMPS = 330
+2.5 = 227
+6 = 81
+9.75 = 57

PMPS = 99
+1 = 201
+3 = 289
+6 = 324

8/11/13
AMPS = 311
+3.5 = 291
+6 = 253

PMPS = 184
+1 = 131 fed 2 tsp LC (4.5%)
+2 = 84 :mrgreen: fed 2 tsp LC (4.5%)
+2.75 = 61: fed 1.5 tsp HC FF gravy @ 11:10(pre-emptive hopefully)
fed 1.0 tsp HC FF gravy @ 11:25
+3.25 = 56: fed 2.0 tsp HC FF gravy @ 11:45
+3.75 = 69: hold no food.

OK, so here's my question. For a very few times, Tigger's had runs with significant drops at the end of his cycle. 3 of these times were v. recent: today, 8/4/13 AM cycle & 8/6/13 PM cycle.

I understand Lantus has a 10-12 hour cycle in most cats, but we're also dealing with a depot & overlap & some cats just go lower later.

Tigger just came off a bounce this afternoon, but would that necessarily lower his BG that much so late in his cycle? This is the 5th cycle since fattening the dose again, so I don't think it's the depot talking. I'm wondering if Tigger was able to do some of that BG lowering himself - that maybe his pancreas is working a little? Or am I grasping at straws & hoping for a new pattern that may not be there confused_cat

If I must have something to obsess over while I'm down sick, why not Tigger? :lol: :lol:

Thanks Guys, & Happy Sunday Evening -
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 Question re. drop after boun

I suspect you might not be jumping right back in bed.... looking at tonite's trend already. Better keep one eye open and check again in an hour.


I think what you are seeing is the insulin is working...
You might have some more greens later.


and my indian name is "grasps at straws" :lol:
guess I can move over, huh? :lol:
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 Question re. drop after boun

Wow, what coincidence, Rhiannon, we have the same nicname!!! ;-)

Yep, I'm still up - but after the debacle last week I bought TWO alarm clocks :lol: :lol: :lol:

Actually I'm only half up - am bundled on the couch with a kitty on each side of my legs for bumpers. Works really well with my hot flashes -

Thanks for the feedback - I'll accept the insulin working answer - at least something's working - we gotta start somewhere!
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 - in for a ride!

+2 = 84, we're in for a ride tonight, I think! Just hope my stomach can keep up :o
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 - in for a ride!

Feed the 84 (LC) if you haven't already. Sort of like "tapping the brakes" to slow things down.
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 - oh boy!

Thanks for coming over, Carl, good idea.

I fed 2 tsp LC (4.5%) at both +1 & +2 to be pre-emptive, but well, you know Tigger!

+ 2.75 = 61, so I gave 1.5 tsp HC gravy @ 11:10 - again to be pre-emptive & will re-test in 30 (11:40 my time)
& added 1.0 tsp HC Gravy @ 11:25

Do you think I should give 2 tsp - Tigger's 14+ pounds.

Personally, I think he wants a reduction of the twice fattened reduced dose ( :lol: :lol: ), but I'd rather maintain this dose with food & try to hold onto it a little longer - he needs the green time.........unless that's a bad idea. :mrgreen:

Thanks again, Carl - I thought you were going to bed!
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 - oh boy!

This early in the cycle I might give 2 tsps. You've got a long way to go yet. Sometimes the bounce breaking cycles can be really active ones. Same thing happened August 2nd.
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 - oh boy!

Thanks, Wendy - will do now. Almost did, but didn't want to over-react.

Sure appreciate the advice!
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 +3.25/56

+30 minutes (3.25 @ 11:40) = 56

Fed 2 tsp HC FF Gravy @ 11:45 & will re-test in 30 (12:15)

Hopefully we're slowing down a little. Looks like I need to take that reduction after all? If so, can I just eliminate the most recent fattened dose rather than reduce the full .25? (I didn't increase the full .25 this last time, just .10mm)

Thanks whoever happens to be up carousing the condos this late!
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 +3.25/56

OK Tigger. This would be a really nice place to surf. Maybe some LC to help him maintain there?
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 +3.25/56

Yes, Thanks, Wendy, IF I can get him up at 12:15 I'll go with some LC. I have both 2, 4 & 5% & I have some MC at 8 & 10%.

Suggestions?

Tigger sure does scarf the FF - kitty cocaine our Mt. Shasta vet used to call it!
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 +3.25/56

For reductions, if kitty goes below 40, it's always a full .25 reduction. Above 40, there's a bit more discretion, although with newly diagnosed kitties we usually stick to a .25 reduction, unless they've shown they can't hold the reduction. Tigger might fall into this category. In that case, you could do a shave or remove the fat.

Saying that, you didn't really see below 50, although you've given him lots of HC and it's early yet so you might. This is where choice of food comes in. You don't want to artificially keep him from earning a reduction, because then the shed could get full and the next cycle or two can get REALLY exciting. So, if you want to see if he's wanting a reduction by going under 50, I'd go with the lower carb. If you want to sleep, I'd go with higher LC or MC. If he doesn't go below 50 on this cycle, he probably will soon enough. Or, if you have to keep giving him a lot of HC to keep him up, then he probably wants a reduction.

We refer to FF as McDonald's here. :lol:

I have to go to sleep, up again in 4.5 hrs. I hope Tigger surfs here a while.
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 +3.25/56

Thanks so very much, Wendy!

We're good - Tigger's at 69 - will give him LC here & re-test in 45 - 60 minutes. We've got it covered, & I know the routine.

Your information makes alot of sense & I'll re-read it. I-) I-) I-) :YMHUG: We didn't earn the reduction, but would have if we hadn't been pre-emptive. My gut is saying to shave a little, but will sleep on it - don't want to be stupid!

Get some sleep!!!!!! :YMHUG: I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 +3.25/56 +3.7

Suzanne

Hope you feel better today!

Tigger just came off a bounce this afternoon, but would that necessarily lower his BG that much so late in his cycle? This is the 5th cycle since fattening the dose again, so I don't think it's the depot talking. I'm wondering if Tigger was able to do some of that BG lowering himself - that maybe his pancreas is working a little?

I have found that when some kitties, including Gracie, clear a bounce, they do exactly what Tigger is doing. It "seems" (no proof here) that bounce clearing cycles can be a little more active and that's why we like those +2 tests. The a.m. cycle of 8/10, his +2 was much less that AMPS and he came down pretty fast. Yesterday, he started clearing earlier in the day and then really got with it last night.

I would not hazard a guess as to whether his pancreas is working. I used to wonder the same thing myself about Gracie but I just figure when it decides to work...great! But she still needs insulin right now. FWIW, I would just suggest you not shave his dose. I'd let him earn the reduction. I know you fed some higher carb food to slow him down but I'd leave the dose alone if it were me.

In a newly dx cat, I would strive for sticking to the protocol as much as I could. When he actually earns a reduction, reduce by .25u. See if he will hold it on his own.
 
Re: 8/11 Tigger PMPS/184 +1/134 +2/84 +2.75/61 +3.25/56 +3.7

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: How great to see Tigger in green! Sometimes they tantalize us too, staying just out of the reduction zone all on their own.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top