8/11 Snoball AMPS=62 +1=101 +4=51 +8=99 PMPS=112

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
WHAT!!! I want to be elated but not sure if I should shoot. I am going to test him again in an hour.
I did not barrier him in his room last night - he was engaging in play with my male civvies during the night with no hissing (an empty cardboard box is such a fun toy). He even climbed up the steps to my bed and slept with me. He is so happy to be free even though he spends most of that time in his room.

How many low numbers in a row before he gets a dosage reduction?

I went ahead and shot him and am watching him like a hawk. He has so much energy this morning and is playing - not giving insulin just seemed like punishing him for a good bg.
 
Re: 8/11 Snoball AMPS=62 +1=101

Sounds like Snowball wants Mr. P to stay permanently!!!

Great going! :-D
 
Re: 8/11 Snoball AMPS=62 +1=101 +4=51

Good call Robin, I'd keep a close eye on him, especially since the 51.

He looks like he is really trying for a reduction. :thumbup

If you can catch a few mid-cycle tests once in a while, you'll be better able to see his need for reduction and increases. Anytime you get a lower than normal preshot number, there is a possibility that he may have gone even lower during his cycle and that's the number you base your actions on. Whether to increase or decrease is based on the nadir, not the preshot numbers, usually.

He is doing really well and he is such a handsome boy! cat_pet_icon And you are doing a great job with him! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/11 Snoball AMPS=62 +1=101 +4=51

Thanks for the kind words and encouragement. I am trying to get some mid-cycle numbers today. He is sleeping now and wonders why I keep waking him up. I am headed for a +7 seven test soon and will try a +9 as well. His cycles tend to be flat.
 
Re: 8/11 Snoball AMPS=62 +1=101 +4=51

Don't you just love the 'looks' you get when you wake them to test? :lol:

I just woke Lucian too, was concerned he might drop a little more than I expected. But he's good to go right now.
 
Snoball sure ended up with a beautiful run of numbers today. I was concerned with his amps, but he turned it into perfection for a Sugarcat! :thumbup

Go Snoball!! :RAHCAT
 
I like that 1.75u got him some good numbers and he was active and playful all day. So why would I want to reduce his dosage? Won't he go back up to the yellows if I do that? I know I won't be home to monitor his cycle or give him food throughout the day (it will be his first day out from barriers so civvies may share his grazing food).

I want to keep celebrating how good he feels.
 
People often find, that the SLGS reduction at 90 rule does not hold for their cat and you need to take the dose back up again. If you do not think the reduction at 90 rule will work well for Snoball, how about either 70 or the normal drop below 50 rule? Two choices for you there.
 
I think that I would like to keep him at 1.75u for a while longer and try to get a middle of the night +6. I wish I hadn't missed that +6 yesterday - had a call from nursing home about my mother so I missed it. Durn! Also, tonight he will get a big plate of raw so I want to see if that affects him. Plus, he has gained a lot of weight since he was on 1u so it might factor into why his dose increased. He's up to 11 lbs now so I am going to cut back a little on serving size (not frequency).

Do I need to note on his chart when I start a new pen? I am down to the last little bit in the pen I have been using since May and have purchased new pens ready to go.
 
Hope everything is ok with your mom.

Some people do note on their SS when they switch to a new pen or vial. Sometimes, you can see that the old pen or vial was starting to lose it's effectiveness, so that is why people like to make a note of the change.

"The best laid schemes of mice and men / Often go awry." John Steinbeck

You'll get that +6 another time, so don't sweat it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top