8/11/Ravan/+5 353/+9 330/pmps355/+5 312/+8 269/

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Dyana
Did you use Levemir? What was your experience with it? I switched to Levemir hoping it would help with the huge bounces. The first week I was shocked how great his BG was but then it got worse.
We're back on the Roller coaster!
He was just at the Vet 2 days ago. Everything was fine. Urinalysis good. teeth good .No temp. I'm hoping when I increase dose his Bg & bounces get better.

I started Adequan for some arthritis in his hips. The vet put the dose at .12 isn't that too low? Ravan weighs almost 13 lbs. I want to give enough to make a difference.
 
Hi Joy

Looks like an all-Chicago thread there (I also live in Chicago) as does @Jayla - we can make Janet an honorary Chicagoan for the day
the U100 mean 100 units are in 1 ml
so 0.25 ml would be 25 units in a U100 syringe (I use a regular 1 ml syringe for this - not an insulin syringe)
Does Ravan have any blood clotting issues that would cause the vet to use a smaller dose? what supplements is Ravan on? that might impact what the vet suggested.
I noticed an impact on Murphy quite quickly - within a few weeks
Might be worth a call to your vet to tell them you are increasing the dose
 
Does Ravan have any blood clotting issues that would cause the vet to use a smaller dose? what supplements is Ravan on? that might impact what the vet suggested

Blood clotting, none that i know of. He does get fish oil, CBD oil & SEB several times a week.Do you know how long a vial lasts on .25 ml? Right now he's doing a shot every 4 days for 6 shots, then one shot every other week for 2, then once a month.

My vet once told me ,I'm no expert on Diabetes. I think he's a bit amazed that I'm doing home testing for over 6 months. He was impressed when I showed him Ravan's SS.
When Ravan was diagnosed he said the majority of people put the cat to sleep. It's just too time consuming.

I told him, I wonder if their kid got diabetes if they'd put them to sleep!( he hasn't mentioned it since):) I'll give him a call Monday.See what he says about increasing.

(I'm in the SW suburbs Where about are you?)

Did you watch this Video With Dr. Karen Becker & Dr. Lisa Pierson? So much "Good" info!

 
Ravan went from doing Great on Levemir to bouncing just like he did on Lantus. I'm so Frustrated!
His dose is a lot smaller too, do less duration. You did say you were fattening up his dose. If do, could you put something like 0.25F in the dose cell. If you are back at 0.25 straight, then increase.
 
@Wendy&Neko
I'm not at .5 yet. Do I need to wait another day to increase because he was in green 3 days ago? Or can I increase to .5 tomorrow AM?
 
Last edited:
@Chris & China

China was on Levemir? I'm confused (as usual) Why Ravan did so good the first week he was on Levemir & now he's back to bouncing like when he was on Lantus?

I'm only giving .25F units because he went to lime green on .75 & then on .5. Right now he's still bouncing from going into green 3 days ago. Will it be OK to increase again back to .5 tomorrow AM?
 
China was on Levemir?

No, she's never been on Levemir. She was a test subject for Basaglar, but that's still Glargine (like Lantus)

Will it be OK to increase again back to .5 tomorrow AM?

No, I'd hold the .25F dose a little longer

I think @Wendy&Neko meant IF you'd gone back to .25, you should increase to the .25F but I'll let her reply to what she was thinking.

Just curious....how confident are you in your ability to increase by such a tiny amount? I just say this because syringes can be so different from one to another and I just wonder if you may have given more than you think you did a couple days ago.
 
When last I looked at the SS, it said 0.25 for the last few days, not 0.25F. Good to know you kept that dose. Since he got to the 50's on this dose, I would hold a few cycles longer, up to 10 cycles.
 
I looked back on my notes & today will be 10 cycles. I added more insulin when he was in Black on the 8th. I changed the info on the SS .I couldn't figure out how to put the F in the box. I corrected it .(these early morning tests are catching up with me!)

Ravan's amps is too high. This can't be a bounce? I'm going to increase to .5 units tonight if his Bg doesn't go down.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top