8/11 Poe PMPS 64 53 +4 55 +5 42 + 5.5 46 +6 53 + 6.5 53

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarensPoe

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101984

Looks like Poe had some pretty good numbers over night. Interesting how he does seem to have lower numbers then. Can anyone offer insight on that?

I was out most of yesterday, so I wasn't able to get any mid-cycles and I totally lost track of time on the PMPS +2 ugh.

Vines to kitties...and to Gobbles especially for a "just nothing" bump. Restful Sunday for the beans
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 97 and increase ?

So here we are getting ready to increase at PM to 3.25, and his AMPS +11 is 97 and dropping Im sure.

Do I give the increase anyway? His PMPS is in one hour...

Thanks
 
Re: 8/11 Poe AMPS 242 + 6.5 257 +11 97 PMPS 64 ****increase

He dropped 30 pts...in an hour...I screwed up...I should have stalled...ugh...I dont want to give increase to 3.25 and hate shooting the 64 too...and even if I stall, it might take some time for him to get up high enough for me to not be nervous
 
Re: 8/11 Poe AMPS 242 + 6.5 257 +11 97 PMPS 64 ****increase

I would not do the increase and I would shoot the regular dose if you are going to be around and have all the supplies you need. It may be a late night. But, he could maybe possibly perhaps earn a dose reduction tonight. And once you feed, his numbers should go up and the effect of the insulin usually isn't until around +2.

What say you?
 
Re: 8/11 Poe AMPS 242 + 6.5 257 +11 97 PMPS 64 ****increase

I say sounds like a good call...which is what I was thinking...although I am nervous about shooting this low..but do have supplies...almost 50 strips...lots of MC/HC
 
Re: 8/11 Poe AMPS 242 + 6.5 257 +11 97 PMPS 64 ****increase

I agree with Dyana. I wouldn't increase on a dropping number. In fact, I might stall (don't feed) and re-test in 20 min. since you've not shot quite this low and it's a dropping number.

If you've already shot, no worries. Just get early tests and monitor closely.
 
Re: 8/11 Poe AMPS 242 + 6.5 257 +11 97 PMPS 64 ****increase

I was hesitant to stall because it would take a while to get him up to where I was comfortable shooting I think and I dont have much play in my shot schedule with work and all.

So, I'm prepared to be testing like mad...he did eat...i shot the 3.0 and will test at +1

Thanks
 
Re: 8/11 Poe AMPS 242 + 6.5 257 +11 97 PMPS 64 +1 53

Still dropping at the +1 to 53...gave the gravy off of MC about 2 tspns..hes eating now...he didnt finish is regular LC dinner either...I tried 2 kinds...which is very unusual for him. Normally he eats without any problem. Now I'm nervous....
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 REDUCIE !!

Dropped on the MC...+2 is 46..earned reducie :-D

2 tspns HC gravy...too soon in the cycle to drop this low...makes me nervous...he earned the reducie...just want him to surf nice and go up a lil bit ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 EYES PLE

Karen,

You did everything right. :-D
Yes, when they come up a bit and then drop back down like you just saw at +5, you want to "lather, rinse, repeat".
HC and test in 30. I'll be around for a while.
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 EYES PLE

oh thank you...I was starting to panic...I did give him about 2 tspns more of HC...so I'll be testing again in about 20-ish thanks
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 EYES PLE

You can probably wait 30 minutes. It does take a while for the food to hit the blood stream. Looks like the HC you gave at +2 wore off a little over 2 hours later.

He is getting close to nadir, so paws crossed he's done with diving. I'm up for a while yet, just +1 here.
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 EYES PLE

Congrats on the reducie Karen!! You and Poe are doing great! Funny how a dosecrease has turned into a reduction! Safe surfing, Poe :-D
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 EYES PLE

He dropped below 50 twice in this cycle....does that count for double reduction? :lol:

He's hungry..and I'm tired...I hope he starts coming up so I can give him more to hold him through the night and I can get to bed...4:30 comes way too soon ohmygod_smile

Thanks all for being here with me :-D
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 + 5.5 46

His +5.5 is only 46 another 2 tspns HC gravy? Some Karo?
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 + 5.5 46

Two tsps HC/gravy. Hold the karo. ;-)
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 + 5.5 46

30
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 + 5.5 46

Hey Karen, sure hope Poe comes up for you and surfs safely tonight. Hope you have a good night
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +1 53 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 + 5.5 46

Yes, I'd try one more serving of HC. Hoping it bumps Poe up to the 70 range. Then you could probably go with LC once you're past nadir and rising. He's already let you know he wants a reduction. It would be nice to see him surf all night long, but it would also be nicer if he did this in the daytime instead of overnight. :smile:
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 + 5.5 46 +6 53

Yes....and only if that daytime was a weekend...I would love to see the cycle all the way through. :-D

Only thing is it seems Poe nadirs late...I think his metabolism is slower than average. He seems to hit these dives starting at +11 ...
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 + 5.5 46 +6 53

Do you normally feed in the last half of a cycle? You're right, he does seem to make a routine out of going lower after +10. Maybe you can deal with that trend using food.
 
Re: 8/11 Poe PMPS 64 +2 46 +3 53 +4 55 +5 42 + 5.5 46 +6 53

When I'm gone all day at work, I leave food in the auto feeder and get home in time to take it away 2 hours prior to PS, so yes, he probably is munching throughout the whole cycle.

At night, I do almost the same, but dont leave as much because I'm not up in time to take it away the 2 hours prior to PS
 
Hmmm. Good question. I would have thought the HC would have done the trick by now, but he's merrily surfing along in the 50 neighborhood.

Given his habit of dropping late in the cycle, I think I'd give more HC. It'd be nice to get him up some.

However, one thing did just occur to me....
He definitely seems to drop in the last two hours of the AM cycles regularly. But you can't tell that for sure on the PM cycles. For the past month or so, when you have gotten a +11 before AMPS, it looks like the AMPS is just about the same as the +11 has been. Interesting, but not really sure what to make of it.
 
The worst part now is that I have to get up for work...and earlier if I get his PMPS +11....I just gave him the HC...and will test in 30. If he's up, can I leave LC or MC for him and go to bed, or do I need to keep riding this to get him without food?
 
And, also, his asthma is starting to bother him. I've had to give him the inhaled steroid and the rescue inhaler
 
Well, here's what I'm thinking...

He's been nice and flat since PMPS, but I'm sort of surprised it's taken as much HC as it has to just keep him there. Not that I'm super experienced, but I have spent a lot of nights watching the low numbers of lots of cats in the past year or so. "Usually" the HC would have done the trick by now, by that I mean it usually bumps the numbers up higher after a few test/feed 30 minute cycles. Besides the obvious - that he's pretty much emphasizing the dose reduction desire - I don't know what (if any) conclusions to draw from this.

I think that if he's up next test, you can leave MC HC out, let him eat it if he wants to. Many times, it's like they know when they need a "bump" and they'll grab a few bites. You could set an alarm for like +10, but that's probably going to mess up whatever sleep you can squeeze in between now and 5 hours from now when you get up for good.

Poe, how about a little cooperation here, buddy? :lol:
 
Normally the HC would do the trick...I don't know why it's not this time. The first time I surfed him, I did it all on LC, then it had to be HC, then another time it was a mix of MC and LC.

I know he's in safe numbers...and he will eat what I leave out..he's hungry now...I think he's kinda wore out too, like me, plus the rescue inhaler makes him a bit woozy for a bit.
 
OK, this is your call, Karen.

Nice that the 67 showed up finally. How you want to play out the next 5 hours is up to you. You can leave out a can of HC and let him go at it. That "should" keep him up and not keep you up. You know better than I do how much gas you have left in your tank tonight. And you can see how he's dealing with this.

You can also choose to stay up, "lather, rinse, repeat" for one or two more tests and then you'll know where he's at when you do go to sleep.

What do you think?

I'm off tomorrow, so I can be up a little longer. An hour at least.
 
OK...since hes up, I'm going to put some HC out for him...and since I have to be up in about 5 hours, hopefully, he won't shoot to the moon now with a massive bounce.

The reduction takes him down to 2.75 u which I plan to shoot in the morning, provided I don't have a low PS number again. This sound about right?
 
We cross posted...and I am out of steam, so I really have to take the risk and leave the HC out...I just can't stay up anymore and be able to function tomorrow.

I appreciate your time with me Carl...I really do...this was totally unexpected...I figured I could surf him like I have before until that 2nd below 50 came in.
 
karen, the hc is keeping poe afloat.
any chance of feedng him some hc now and then setting an alarm to get another test in two hours?
 
Post his AMPS prior to shooting. No more than 2.75u, but I'm wondering if anyone might think he could use a bigger reduction. There might be more "eyes" around in the morning.

The reason I'm thinking this way - you've had to work pretty hard to keep him flat. You've given HC several times since you first saw the drop. He's had a couple of good cycles on this dose, but this cycle sort of sticks out as "odd". I'm wondering if the dose can be taken down by .5u, but I don't have near enough experience to really know.
 
I have just given him a good helping of HC...I can set my alarm and hope I hear it...and post the number will anyone be here?
 
I like Jill's suggestion if you can do that, Karen. If the food you leave out doesn't do the trick, you'll know that for sure.
Thank you Jill!
 
OK I can do it...as long as someone is here in case I have a number I dont know how to handle....and I also would like guidance on this reduction...he dropped below 50 twice in this cycle...
 
KarensPoe said:
I have just given him a good helping of HC...I can set my alarm and hope I hear it...and post the number will anyone be here?
east coasters might be keeping coming on by then. if he's dropping at that time, feed him. whatever number he gives you will give you a good idea when or if you have to test him again.
 
Karen,
I most likely won't last two more hours. But I can suggest what to do at that time...

If he's still in the 60s, put out more HC, and get a couple more hours sleep till AMPS.
If he's lower, then you'll probably be up feeding and testing using HC. And definitely post before shooting in the AM. Put a 911 on it if you need to in order to get some eyes on it.
If he's higher, leave out some MC or LC and go back to bed.
 
I'm going to get one more test in about 10 min before I go to bed. I just hope that if I have to feed him 2 hours from now he will eat...he just ate quite a bit, but I can tell he wants more...should I leave him more?
 
KarensPoe said:
I'm going to get one more test in about 10 min before I go to bed. I just hope that if I have to feed him 2 hours from now he will eat...he just ate quite a bit, but I can tell he wants more...should I leave him more?
sure, he's earned his reduction. he has nothing left to prove.
just don't put out so much if he's one of those kitties who scarfs 'n barfs. :lol:
 
You'll know better after the test in ten minutes. But I'm going to say "yes" on leaving more out when you go to bed. That gives him a couple hours to pick at it.
 
+7.5 is 113 I left a good portion of HC out...will set my alarm for 2 hours from now...then post his AMPS before I dose him

Thanks guys :YMHUG:
 
There's the bump we've been waiting for!!!

Also, keep in mind.... a higher AMPS might happen, but it is going to be a "bounce", so don't get discouraged if you see a blue or yellow number. This long in the greens is fairly likely to result in a bounce tomorrow.

And I don't know that I would consider "shooting through the bounce" in the morning either. That's a tactic that can help bounces to clear faster, and many people use it effectively. I just feel that Poe has been very insistent tonight that he wants less juice tomorrow. I'd give him what he wants. And let the bounce clear on its own.
 
Hi Karen,

Just been reading through your post - what a tense night you've had! Poe - go to 75 & SURF AWAY!! Hope you were able to get some good sound sleep, even though it's short & Poe's come up to a safe range in that +2!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top