8/11 Oscar amps 238 +6 303 - Heard back from the IM vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22059

Definite inverse curve today. No clue what is going on. Definitely didn't go too low last night.

I got a phone call back from our IM vet about the email I sent yesterday (copied in yesterday's condo). We basically agreed to disagree. It was a very civil conversation. She believes that hometesting regularly stresses the cat too much because you can't explain what is going on to the kitty. I told her that I believe that hypos are worse than the initial stress from testing. She doesn't like for glucose levels to get low enough where she would have to worry about hypo. I pointed out the surprise low numbers Oscar has given me out of the blue on prozinc. She said she has not been able to replicate Dr. Rand's findings with Lantus and does not have a high rate of remission in her experience, and also does not believe that many cats can go into remission. I believe this is because she just keeps the glucose levels too high. I told her that I cannot expect Oscar to go into remission with non-diabetic numbers if he never sees those numbers on insulin. (seems logical, right? lol). She didn't want me to go into tighter regulation with him unless she could see him more often, which isn't a possibility because she is an hour and a half away. In the end, she recommended that I call around to local vets to see if I could find someone to "coach" us through tight regulation. I think we will just keep on keeping on. I'll call around to find who accepts hometesting if I need to bring Oscar in for anything diabetes related. Just thought that some might be interested in her take on the articles I sent. (BTW - she said nothing about the Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association ..... hmmmmm)
 
Sounds like your vet and mine have had the same training. My vet wants bg numbers to be in the 200s. I think she is crazy because of the great results I am seeing with the help of this site. Like yours, my vet has only seen one or two cats get off insulin in her entire career....interesting this site has seen hundreds in just a few years! Good luck finding a vet closer to you that is a bit more current on diabetes treatment!
 
I'm sorry your vet is not into hometesting. It is so important in taking care of your diabetic kitty. I don't think it stresses the kitty out at all. Half the time mochas conked out on the couch when I test her. Tell me thats stressing her out! Anyways, I hope you can get this all figured out.
 
From what you have said, I seriously doubt that vet will ever see many kitties go into remission.
It is good that you made an attempt to give her things to help her understand, but in the end, she is happy to remain where she is. I am hoping that you will find someone closer to you....and one who maybe will be joyful that you are home testing. if not, at least be accepting of that.
My own opinion is that once I learned how to home test, I could not, would not do anything else.
I wonder what the headcount is here for remission....I forget how many kitties have reached that stage through following the protocol...but she has not seen that herself. Hmmmm....
That's good that you had that talk anyway, right? You know where she stands....how do you feel about it?
 
My vet was of the mindset that anything under 200 was great. Well I'll agree, under 200 is 'okay', but not what I am aiming for! She has come around to the hometesting and such- but I still base 99% of what I do off the advice from this board! If I had gone on my vets treatment plan Kazi would be on vetsulin, not hometested and on dry DM food. :shock:
 
My own opinion is that once I learned how to home test, I could not, would not do anything else.
I wonder what the headcount is here for remission....I forget how many kitties have reached that stage through following the protocol...but she has not seen that herself. Hmmmm....
That's good that you had that talk anyway, right? You know where she stands....how do you feel about it?

This is exactly how I feel. I wanted to tell her of the kitties I have known that have been on insulin for years but went into remission with Lantus. I really feel that if she gave the protocol a good ole american try, she would see different results. At least I stood my ground with her openly finally and she knows where I stand. Its a good thing we talked anyway because turns out she is going on maternity leave here in a few months anyway!
 
Just think of how much more we know about this illness--The vets like 200, because it is a safe number, in their opinion, but to us, we have learned by hands on experience that 200 is not a good BG--It's not bad, if you are never shooting for remission or tight regulation.
And that is the protocol we use here..I usually go to the vets' with my SS, the Tilly protocol, & Dr. Rands article on lantus --
My vet, a woman was out since DEC-this Thursday!! On pregnancy leave--and her associates were so nice & marveled at whta we do here--She does too--But they were so hard to find!!
BTW-138 kitties OTJ since I came in 2008!! Vets think 200 is regulated, but the renal threshold is 240-250.
Just keep doing what you are doing, you know like we do that this is the way! :mrgreen:
You are doing a great job!
 
As of Trey, a few days ago, LL has had 138 kitties go into remission since February 2008. There are probably some we don't know about that were here for a minute, took the protocol, and left.

138 OTJ kitties since February 2008
:-D Pelusa :-D Raja :-D Bruce :-D Scruffy :-D Noisy :-D Cyrano :-D Chuck :-D Cosmo :-D Tobias :-D Flamie :-D Thomas :-D Brutus :-D Abby :-D Alex :-D Lexie :-D Tom :-D Smokie :-D Friday :-D Chloe :-D Calliope :-D Natasha :-D Gracie :-D Alex :-D Shadow :-D Grover :-D Fluffy :-D Mary :-D Rocket :-D Petie :-D Harley :-D Karre :-D Venice :-D Butcher :-D BigMac :-D Ti-Mi :-D Zoe :-D Devo :-D Tuxedo :-D Pumpkin :-D Oscar :-D Morrie :-D Olivia :-D Fuzzy :-D Riggs :-D Cobra :-D Chip :-D Rosco :-D Emo :-D Jake :-D Peepee :-D Nosey :-D Lucy :-D Kato :-D Tom :-D Rascal :-D Cream :-D Chico :-D Casper :-D Maui :-D Crash :-D Blackjack :-D Joey :-D Arlene :-D Tom :-D Kahuna :-D Big Boy :-D Mika :-D Buster :-D Grey Boy :-D Smokie :-D Spooky :-D Cruiser :-D Sparky :-D Miss Kitty :-D Raistlin :-D Boo :-D Seamus :-D Marco :-D Tizon :-D Scar :-D Alex* :-D Black Kitty :-D Guinness :-D Beethoven :-D Jesse :-D Moon :-D Barry :-D Beeker :-D Raja :-D Nefeli :-D Rocky :-D Tummy :-D Callie :-D Milo :-D Grace :-D Matty :-D Porky :-D Scruffy :-D Luna :-D Mel :-D Tommy :-D Indy :-D Jasper :-D Velcro :-D Max :-D Maximus :-D Mally :-D Dillan :-D Webber :-D Sami :-D Basil :-D Quincy :-D Tasha :-D Spot :-D Donovan :-D Smokey :-D Max :-D Hank :-D Jasmine :-D Boomer :-D Kitty :-D Max :-D Baby :-D Scrabble :-D Tugger :-D Jake :-D Pedro :-D Supermax :-D Jezebel :-D Nay :-D Tuffy :-D Vesta :-D Magnolia :-D Ducky :-D Maggie :-D Six :-D Heart :-D TREY
 
That should be enough proof for anyone right there that this protocol works! I even told her that there were tons of kitties that I know of that have gone into remission, but didn't seem to faze her since she hadn't experienced it. Oh well, can't change them all :roll:
 
Kelly, I'm glad you stood your ground with the vet, even though it didn't change her mind. I hated the thought of you not telling her what you were doing....because you are doing a super job! I know Oscar isn't responding the way you would like yet, but I truly think that he will with time and more insulin.

Keep on doing what you're doing. I'm waiting for the breakthrough so I can celebrate with you! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top