8/11 Monty: AMPS 95, +3 92, +5 85, PMPS 103, +3 63, +3.5 83

This hot weather is hard!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200811_084033.jpg
    IMG_20200811_084033.jpg
    50.5 KB · Views: 131
He's come lower down to 63@PM+3, he also didn't eat much this evening and just now vomited (bile, no hair or food).

Boiling chicken to get him to eat something and will monitor again soon
 
83@PM+3.5, either he's bouncing up or I had a defective strip for the previous test, that's a fast climb in 30 minutes.

Either way, he's eaten at least half a meal and he's come back up to numbers he's more used to so I'm going to give testing a rest until AMPS - does that seem reasonable?
 
He was exhibiting strange behaviour before the test at +3. Purring a lot and way louder than usual, sitting in a spot he doesn't normally sit in then he vomited. Could he have been hypo before I got a test at +3?
 
Hi Tom & Monty- It looks like things are going well? I am new here and trying to understand the dosing methods. Im wondering why you sometimes skip doses even when Monty's BG is above 50- I thought 50 was the cut off for dosing when using the TR method? Or how do you decide when to skip a dose? Thanks in advance for helping me understand this confusing disease!
 
The blood sugar is one data point to decide when to skip. Other considerations are:

1. Is he eating?
2. Will I be here to monitor?

If a cat is eating less or not at all, there's nothing to combat the drop from the insulin and you could end up dangerously low.

More commonly I'm just out for the evening and I don't feel comfortable injecting on lower numbers if I'm not here to monitor and intervene. This works for me because Monty is extremely tolerant of an occasional skip and it has little knock on effect for following tests.
 
The blood sugar is one data point to decide when to skip. Other considerations are:

1. Is he eating?
2. Will I be here to monitor?

If a cat is eating less or not at all, there's nothing to combat the drop from the insulin and you could end up dangerously low.

More commonly I'm just out for the evening and I don't feel comfortable injecting on lower numbers if I'm not here to monitor and intervene. This works for me because Monty is extremely tolerant of an occasional skip and it has little knock on effect for following tests.
Thanks for clarifying Tom. I have been reading the dosing methods and sort of interpreting them as hard and fast rules, but I guess this is more of a trial and error process that evolves as you learn more about your own cat? It looks like Monty is doing great! I don't think I could even see a 0.1 unit dose! I hope you are on your way to remission? Best of luck to you and Monty!
 
A 0.1 dose is rarely actually 0.1 since you approach the error margins for the syringe. In reality it's probably between 0 and 0.2.

The TR protocol should be strictly followed if everything else is normal, you should only deviate when there are other considerations like I pointed to above and I'm sure there are more things to consider.

I'm hoping for remission for Monty soon. My suspicion at the moment is that I'm missing some low numbers in the early PM cycles causing bounces so I'm trying to prove or disprove that.
 
He was exhibiting strange behaviour before the test at +3. Purring a lot and way louder than usual, sitting in a spot he doesn't normally sit in then he vomited. Could he have been hypo before I got a test at +3?
Sorry - I wasn't looking closely at your whole thread and I didn't mean to sideline your questions about going hypo before your +3 test. I don't know if vomiting is a sign of being hypo? Hopefully someone will answer you! Good luck!
 
A 0.1 dose is rarely actually 0.1 since you approach the error margins for the syringe. In reality it's probably between 0 and 0.2.

The TR protocol should be strictly followed if everything else is normal, you should only deviate when there are other considerations like I pointed to above and I'm sure there are more things to consider.

I'm hoping for remission for Monty soon. My suspicion at the moment is that I'm missing some low numbers in the early PM cycles causing bounces so I'm trying to prove or disprove that.[

How are you trying to prove/disprove? By taking some early PM readings?
 
How are you trying to prove/disprove? By taking some early PM readings?

Exactly, by taking earlier readings to see if I can something interesting. I thought +3 would be early enough but I don't know if he was lower than that before I tested him, I only suspect he was because of behaviour. Monty is often at his lowest (nadir) AM between AM+2.5 and AM+3.5. I don't know where his PM nadir is yet but I'm now thinking it's even earlier than that. Tomorrow I'll try for a PM+2.
 
Exactly, by taking earlier readings to see if I can something interesting. I thought +3 would be early enough but I don't know if he was lower than that before I tested him, I only suspect he was because of behaviour. Monty is often at his lowest (nadir) AM between AM+2.5 and AM+3.5. I don't know where his PM nadir is yet but I'm now thinking it's even earlier than that. Tomorrow I'll try for a PM+2.
Best of luck to you! That sounds like a lot of work. Those freestyle libre monitors sound kind of cool? It would be great if you could set one up with a data logger and just get continuous BG data? Anyway, I hope you can get to the bottom of it! Good luck!
 
He was exhibiting strange behaviour before the test at +3. Purring a lot and way louder than usual, sitting in a spot he doesn't normally sit in then he vomited. Could he have been hypo before I got a test at +3?
I don't think so. He probably exhibited the unusual behavior because he needed to vomit. My cats do some very strange things prior to vomiting. I even have one that will fall over during/after vomiting because he overstimulates his vagus nerve. If Monty would have gone low you should have seen a faster climb in #s. He probably wouldn't have dropped from +3 to +5(albeit small). He should have continued to climb, at a faster pace, throughout the cycle. He's been pretty flat all day. If possible get that +2. A lot of the time if a cat's going to have an active cycle, they'll tell you then. Just my 2 cents;)

Be sure to remove the question mark icon outta your condo when your question has been satisfied.:)
 
Back
Top