8/11 Mishka AMPS 72 +2 110 +5 86

Frogster

Member Since 2020
I'm doing everything wrong, and you all would probably beat me to death if you met me in the street. It wouldn't be right at all, violence is not a good thing, you know. And I do indeed feel like I'm riding a train on the roof without any protection. But at the same time I do what I feel is right at the moment. After all we had a very strange journey at the beginning when her overall BG levels kept rising with every dose increase. I have no idea what's waiting around the corner, but spose I'd have to figure it out as I go.

Previously - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-mishka-pmps-85.233435/
 
Last edited:
We won't beat you to death lol I'm not familiar with Mishka's story so forgive me if what I say has been said to you already.

I think you giving a reduced dose yesterday at PM was fine. Not ideal but fine. It's your first ever green PS shot that you're giving insulin and that is ALWAYS nerve wracking. You did what was comfortable and hopefully, as you see better and better numbers, you'll feel more comfortable shooting greens. In theory, with TR, you should be able to shoot any number over 50. I have on occasion shot full doses at numbers as low as 58 this year.

I'd also like to remind you that Levemir's onset is much later than Lantus. ECID but I found Ming's onset is anywhere from +3 to +5. Plus, the depot is still in effect. You may have shot a lower dose, but the depot is still at work and can influence following cycles.

Shooting different doses can also destabilize the depot. So the next couple of days might produce wonky numbers.

After all we had a very strange journey at the beginning when her overall BG levels kept rising with every dose increase.
I find this is normal for new diabetic cats. We don't know how long a cat has been diabetic and untreated for so their body is very used to these high numbers and can develop glucose toxicity. The only way to combat that is with more insulin (but of course, giving it in a controlled and safe way). It looks like you found a good dose to break that barrier.

We all made "mistakes" (I don't think it's a mistake what you made yesterday though) in the beginning and even as seasoned sugarcat caregivers. It's why this forum is here so we can all help each other out. But I'm sorry no one was able to get to your yesterday but you did well considering.

Depending on PMPS tonight, I'd post again at +11 if you can and see what others might recommend as a dose. Remember to put "?" in your title when you do.
 
Not sure why you'd say something about being beaten...but...those are some great numbers. However you're changing the dose too often.

Mishka hasn't earned a reduction on TR since he didn't drop below 50 on any of the tests....

So with that being what it is...please post a pic of Mishka for us all to enjoy! Looks like he's doing great as far as the numbers go :)
 
Something strange happened at 8/5. She hadn't earned a reduction then either. But I reduced from 2.5 to 2.25, and she miraculously stopped jumping up (mostly) and down.
I shot 1.75U for PMS today. And I'm scared that she'll return to those vicious swings. She is so much like herself now, that we stepped down from those doses, even though she hasn't earned it.
 
This is totally a safe number to shoot. Scary I know. But safe. Get a +1 and +2 and post. If the tests aren’t showing a food bump I would feed a little lc but keep her hungry in case she needs to be steered with food.
 
Back
Top