Re: 8/11 Michael amps 217 +5 323
Sienne did a bunch of research on Somogyi a while back. It was a small study done on humans, i want to say in the 1930's, perhaps, that hasn't been replicated.
The idea is that a cat can be overdosed, which can cause high numbers.
We see this occasionally, but not exactly as described by dr. Somogyi. If a cat arrives here with a dose that hasn't been adjusted properly with enough time in between dose increases, that raises a red flag. For example, sometimes cats will be adjusted by 1u increments, or are started at 5u. A cat's body can compensate some for that by a continual bouncing - which can look like constant high numbers as the cat's body fights to compensate for the insulin overdose.
We also know that when a dose is increased, some cats react with higher numbers for a day. That's the New Dose Wonkiness that I mentioned to you this morning.
New Dose Wonkiness and Bouncing are both described
here.
I think some of it is a matter of semantics. Some people refer to Somogyi and what they mean is what we call a bounce. I've had vets say "somogyi" when i said punkin was in a bounce and wasn't usually having blood sugar that high.
The Protocol calls for an appropriate starting dose, based upon weight - usually somewhere between 1 and 2units, then adjustments in 0.25u or 0.5u increments, depending upon the blood sugar numbers. If a cat is basically following this plan, you don't have to worry about the rest of it.
I don't see anything in Michael's spreadsheet to worry about.